We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Segway adventure not a guided tour of the city.”

Segway City Tour Dubrovnik
Ranked #33 of 149 Tours in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway City Tour Dubrovnik is the first official Segway tour of Dubrovnik, the Pearl of the Adriatic.Riding a SEGWAY – the first self-balancing personal transporter in the world, the amazing and useful vehicle that is easy to ride, there is new experience that thrills and fills you with excitement. Unrestrained, you will enjoy Dubrovnik's natural beauty, natural treasures and the coastal views, historical monuments, details and colours. Join us in the adventure!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“This is a Segway adventure not a guided tour of the city.”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We have done a Segway before in Barcelona, that was fantastic.
It had a lot to live up to and it wasn't a patch on our last adventure. We did the the old city trip but please read below .
Be assured you will ride a Segway. Up and down steps, pavements, tracks, on the road with buses.... It is not a health and safety trip for sure.
Leon arrived a few minutes late, irritating as they tell you to arrive 10-15 mins early ! No apology and barely an introduction. Paperwork and payment done we were introduced to the machines which differed from before as steering is not a thumb control but part of the main handle bars. Anyway that mastered we shot off following our guide. It quickly becomes clear that this is not a tour with information of Dubrovnik , it is a run around on every conceivable surface on a Segway. This was exciting but not what was expected. We started our hols with this hoping for info on the city especially the walled part . Big mistake, it is a trip to the city walls but you can't ride inside. Fortunately Leon played a joker card here and offered to walk us inside and give us a feel of the place plus point out some places to eat. Well done Leon, for a 19/20 year old he is a nice intelligent guy but his English and knowledge of Dubrovnik were not to the standards of Edgar with Barcelona Segway.
We went up and down hills and saw some good sights. We ride in the narrow roads with the buses aaagh and it seemed quite scary at times. We did have photo opportunities which was good, unfortunately it rained for a while, very heavily and we got soaked but it all added up to a reasonable trip that lasted at least 1/2 hr extra due to the generosity of Leon with the trip into the walled city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    14
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best fun!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This really is a must-do if you like something different. The tour starts from Dubvronik Palace Hotel, which was nice to nose around before the start of the tour.
We were the only ones booked on so it felt like our own personal tour! At times it was a little scary going on main roads but it meant that we got to ride the segways faster, which was great fun!

The guide was good too, he didn't seem to have a whole lot of knowledge about the hitsory/buildings, but we're more about adventure anyway so it didn't make a difference to our experience! And he was very friendly/funny, and even gave us an extra long tour as he had time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing guide”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I don't like to leave reviews that are negative, usually preferring to focus on the positives. But in this case, I was a bit disappointed. I had been on a Segway tour before, in San Francisco, and at the end of the tour did not want to give the thing back - it was so much fun. Having read the reviews of Segway City Tour Dubrovnik, it seemed like a safe bet to have another go, and I was really looking forward to it. I came away feeling a little short changed.

The other reviews seem to be full of praise about their segway guides, but I did not feel the same about Leon, who was in charge of our tour. It started well - the training part was fine, and I felt he made sure everyone had a reasonable level of confidence in what they were doing before we left on the Hidden Bays tour. The Segways were in good condition. But that's where the plus points ended. Our guide did very little "guiding" after that, speeding away at the head of the group, taking us into very busy pedestrian areas with no effort to make sure people got through the crowds safely. Several times we were left to find our own way across roads, and I felt unsafe several times. We were only a small group of five, so I don't think it was due to an unmanageable number of people.

We were given no information about the areas we visited, no tips or advice on where to go during our trip, and it felt like the whole thing was a chore for our guide. Wish I could say something more encouraging, but this tour just didn't live up to expectations. Hopefully this was just an off day, and others won't have the same experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cherrybombno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Different. Original. Perfect with teens”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Really well organized. Ivan the tour guide was excellent. Came and found us at the meeting point. Explained everything in perfect English. Quick intro. Fun tour. Our teenagers (16 & 13) loved it.

Helpful?
Thank oransome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Positive Experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We took a tour with Ivan a couple of years ago and had a wonderful tour. We were on a one day shore excursion from a cruise ship and wanted to get a feeling for Dubrovnik. Ivan was a man that was proud of his country who wanted to share that pride and knew just about everyone around. Because of our positive one day experience in Dubrovnik, we have booked our summer vacation back to Croatia for 2 weeks with another family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jokrnoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway City Tour Dubrovnik also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Srebreno, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Segway City Tour Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing