We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal with great service”
Review of Otto Taverna

Otto Taverna
Ranked #17 of 396 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Comfortable and casual atmosphere of a small street side taverna, simple handwritten menu by our experienced chef, combination of traditional Mediterranean cuisine and contemporary preparation techniques, affordable prices and high quality wines served by glass...Welcome to Taverna Otto in Gruz bay! Please make note we are not able to accept email, Tripadvisor or online bookings requested for the same day. For same day requests please contact us by telephone. Thank you!
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with great service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this restaurant on the bay overlooking the new harbour at Gruz thanks to Tripadvisor. Depending on where you are staying you may need a bus to get here as it is outside the old town area.
We had no reservation but the waiter was very pleasant and asked us to wait by the bar and after about 10 minutes of waiting we got a table in a pleasant terrace area.
The menu while short has a mix of very interesting dishes. For starters, i enjoyed the mushroom/porcini risotto which was delicious followed by chicken on hummus and celery sticks...it sounds strange but was really tasty. We thought it very good value for the area and with very pleasant service we had a very enjoyable meal.
Best to reserve a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    359
    97
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good, as expected”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

On the second day in Dubrovnik we realized that we needed to base our choice of restaurants on previous visitors reviews. Otto Tavern had a long list of positive reviews and was close to our hotel. Lucky for us they opened at 12:00 and the lunch was very delicious - not only were the ingredients of good quality but the service and the composition was as well. We did not order anything complicated, but it was just a good meal with obvious effort and skill put into it.

Helpful?
Thank Emanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb! Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Given recent reviews we knew we would be lucky to grab a Saturday night table having not reserved, however we gave it a go at 7pm and were extremely lucky in all respects! The attentive service was charming and added significantly to making for a very enjoyable eating experience. The menu is limited but varied enough to cater for most tastes, the atmosphere is friendly relaxed and conducive to a great night out. And that was what we had, superb food and wine, including the best chocolate fondant my wife has ever tasted all added up to a memorable occasion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
“Great Food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A very well run restaurant with extremely well cooked local food. Great staff who create a relaxed atmosphere and provide a high quality service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shipponer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy eating”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This very nice tavern is down at the Gruz bay (harbour) the staff were very friendly and helpful. A great menu at very affordable prices. We had not booked but did not wait for a table, we sat outside which is nicely lit and the atmosphere is relaxed. I had the ribs and they were fab but I have never had choc fondant like that in my life!!!! wow. My husband was laughing at all the ohhhh and
agggg that was going on because it was so good. Do yourself a favour and go. They also do a nice hamburger at lunch time, and the local wine is the best Iv had for a while.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghNorma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto Taverna also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Otto Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing