We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in this hamlet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasar

Kasar
Ranked #121 of 367 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cuisine is Dalmatian. Dalmatian cuisine, Great restaurant on the waters edge. Open from Easter to October, Exceptional, fresh food, friendly, family-owned restaurant
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in this hamlet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This does sit along the waterside, friendly service and good food, one of the better places we ate in the area. Homemade desserts of creme caramel or chocolate cake also great, Recommend for visit,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wren012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    24
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch spot by the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a beautiful lunch here on our last day of holiday, and we finished on a high. The service was prompt and polite but relaxed. The seafood was so fresh and cooked to perfection. Whilst not cheap, you get what you pay for. The view was pretty, and the atmosphere was chilled. We had a whole fish barbecued, grilled calamari, side dishes too including gorgeous tomato salad. Really glad we got a reservation, some people were turned away as it was full outside. If you love seafood, come! We were staying in the bay and walked there. It is well out of Dubrovnik itself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Waterfront Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I booked a waterfront table through our hotel (Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik). It's about a 20 minute taxi ride north of the old city. Once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by the picturesque setting. It's a small restaurant, located along an inlet that reminded us of a small lake. For the first part of our evening the water was calm and the mountains were scenic.

About 30 minutes into our experience heavy winds picked up and we were invited inside. We complied and discovered that the small restaurant was as pleasant inside as out. Within minutes of moving inside heavy rain began to fall.

We enjoyed a meal of sea bass and vegetables, a good bottle of Croatian wine and scrumptious desserts!

The staff are fantastic. Friendly, willing to make recommendations and interested in making sure their customers are happy. This is an expensive restaurant but the experience is definitely worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgfintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Penwortham, UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

In our villa the owners recommended this little place to eat. As we had just visited Cavat we drove on to Zaton Veliliki and found this little place. At first we saw all the outdoor tables had reservation signs on but it was on luck when my husband asked if there was any place for us to eat and we were shown to a table right next to the water. The main man who came to take our order seemed so surly and unfriendly but we came to realize when we asked if he could take a photo of the 3 of us that he actually had a very very dry sense of humour. There is not a big choice of food on the menu but my mom and I tried the Octopus Salad, very very tasty, we all had the beef with oil and garlic sauce and chips, cooked to perfection. The caramel cake was so soft. A lovely evening was had there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momPenwortham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location but dreadful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went to Kasar on the basis of the good reviews on Trip, but it fell way short of expectation. When we arrived, the welcome we received was virtually non existent. We waited for 30 minutes for our bottle of wine (if it wasn't in the middle of nowhere we definitely would've left). There was a family seated on a nearby table and they were watching movies on their ipads with volume on high, which was extremely irritating to us and other diners, yet the staff were oblivious & did nothing to intervene. The food is ok, but nothing special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasar also viewed

Zaton, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Zaton, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Zaton, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Zaton, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Kasar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing