We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful lunch in the old town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota

Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota
Ranked #5 of 366 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dubrovnik's new gem where diners enjoy a beautiful fusion of Dalmatian and Japanese cuisine. A unique place in the Old City to taste fresh oysters grown at the oyster farm in nearby Mali Ston Bay. This bay is the last place where the "Queen of oysters" (Ostrea edulis) still grows. The Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota is located in the charming, small alley by the Cathedral.
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch in the old town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

After a morning of walking and exploring, and having seen this place in guides and on TA and walked past it during our explorations, we returned for some lunch. We sat outside at the bar style tables and really checked out the menu as well as what others were having! There was a Bota platter but we decided to have exactly what we wanted and the very patient waiter returned for the third time to take our order. We had tuna maki (6 rolls), spicy tuna roll (4 pieces), tiger roll (an exciting concoction - 4 pieces), 2 pieces each of tuna and salmon sashimi and tempura king prawns. We also asked for 2 glasses of Posip wine (from Korcula) which is only served by the bottle but which the waiter was happy to serve by the glass and charge accordingly. He was also very careful to mark the order to exclude cucumber as Mr just cannot eat it. The prawns (with sweet chilli sauce) were some of the plumpest I have ever seen and tasted great and the sushi and sashimi was lovely and all was beautifully served. We enjoyed it so much that we ordered more tiger roll - you really should try it. It was not a cheap lunch but sushi never is and we walked away more than satisfied on all counts - food quality, service, price and overall experience. We have now seen three of the four previous reviews but we all know that all restaurant experiences are subjective and different people can have different experiences in the same night. My advice: don't be put off and give Bota a try as I don't think you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank condenastbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    234
    56
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went to this place, because it had received good rewievs in tripadvisor. However, we were very disappointed and will not go back to this place. The food was very average sushi, nothing special. The prices were quite high. It was definitely not a value for money. Also, it seemed that the waiter was only interested about our money. He did not give us the housewine that we orderer "becouse they did not have it", so we needed to buy a more expensive bottle. In addition, the cook when having a cigarette outside the restaurant, was shimmering and almost seemed as if intoxicated, which we weren't after turned down on our wine orders. The waiter tried to please us by throwing in a large bottle of water for free. Overall, the experience was less than average as its best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We came to place. Man came and says we can have no wine my friend wants. My friend are wine expertise in home and wants to have his wine but the man says still NO. We take next wine wich is no qualitite but we have to and next we take food. The man comes many times into us and says we force to eat tuna and my friend and me hate the tuna so much we angry. Now comes awful awful music says the man smoothie jazz. We can take no more and we scream the man go away but he gives us tuna only. In the tuna we have is like heavy spring from auto car my friend chokes and caughs often. We can no say good for this ristorant the service awful awful and no listening to customer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Smi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brightened up our day in Dubrovnik, Croatia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

It's located inside Old Town by Cathedral-Treasury. Need to walk up the stairs to find it! The restaurant is very small but with lots of character & old charms. 3 tables inside but more seating outside. We sat inside as it was a stormy day. Friendly staff & atmosphere. Raw oysters were very fresh; fried oysters & shrimps were crispy & juicy; teriyaki steak was beautifully grilled; rainbow & salmon skin rolls were very well presented & delicious. Highly recommend to go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I actually can not believe the amount of great reviews of this restaurant here on tripadvisor. The service was really low level, the waiter insisted us to take the more expensive wines than we would have wanted and after some kind of argument about the wines he just told that they don't have the house wine at the moment. It also took a really long while to get the food to the table although it really wasn't that crowded in the restaurant that night. When the food finally came, it was totally average, not at all worth all the praising. Total bummer and really hard to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Juho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing