We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome sushi rolls and oysters!!”

Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota
Ranked #7 of 403 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dubrovnik's new gem where diners enjoy a beautiful fusion of Dalmatian and Japanese cuisine. A unique place in the Old City to taste fresh oysters grown at the oyster farm in nearby Mali Ston Bay. This bay is the last place where the "Queen of oysters" (Ostrea edulis) still grows. The Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota is located in the charming, small alley by the Cathedral.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great place just off the first exit of the city walls. Make sure to have the Special Bota Roll with the quail egg on top delicious! And if you get Tony as your server he is awesome too! Also order the Tiger Roll we went back twice to this place!!

Thank Kdeasymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
There are newer reviews for Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

869 - 873 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Peculiar, you might think, that we ate at ai sushi on our first night in Dubrovnik, but when on the sea, eat seafood. This highly recommended restaurant did not disappoint.
Bota uses seafood from the Adriatic for the delicious dishes you will enjoy here. According to our helpful waiter, Branimir, only the salmon is not local! We strongly suggest the Mali Ston oysters, shrimp rolls and amberjack carpaccio, washed down with a bottle of Posip, a local white wine.
A word about the location: it can be difficult to find and we saw no signage. In the old town, walk to the clock tower end of the main street, turn right and go past the cathedral and up the nearby stone steps. At the top, look left and you'll see the few wicker tables and chairs that identify Bota's outdoor seating. On a Wednesday evening in October, we had no reservations and were seated immediately. Thanks, Branimir, for your patient explanations and for introducing us to medica!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RavenLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

While vacationing in Croatia, my husband and I really missed Japanese food. We had dinner here on October 16 and must say that, overall, the restaurant lived up to our expectations. The dishes were tasty and the location - very convenient. In particular, I really enjoyed the salmon carpaccio served over arugula leaves and tuna tartar topped with capers. Some reviewers mentioned a view... Well, that is something that is not there. The restaurant is located on a tiny street off of the main square, where there isn't any view at all, but we didn't come for the view, so that was totally fine. The one drawback was a stray cat that kept wondering in and even jumping on empty seats next to us while we were eating and the waiter grabbing it to take it outside and then serving our food with the same hands, most likely, without washing them. That part wasn't very appetizing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank irisha1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This place was perfect for a casual lunch. The oysters were delicious and all of the sushi was extremely well prepared. The service was also very kind and attentive.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Since this restaurant received rave reviews on Trip Advisor and in Lonely Planet, we sought it out, and were very disappointed. They ran out of rice, so it took us an hour to get our sushi. We are used to good sushi from the US, so we weren't impressed with the quality either. Our oyster appetizer was forgotten. The waiter had his young daughter over for a visit, and she screamed in the alley, which drowned out our children's hunger pangs. At least they realized that we received bad service, so they came out with some free deserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gayle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster and Sush... B, Owner at Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for being our guests and for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. We feel very sorry you did not have the opportunity to experience our “Oyster & Sushi bar Bota” at its best. We wish to use this opportunity to once again sincerely apologize for that.

On that particular day our supplier was late and we informed all out guests, as soon as they came to the restaurant, about one hour delay with dishes containing rice. All our guests stated they are willing to wait and in the meanwhile enjoy some of your delicacies which do not feature rice.

Due to this situation we provided all our guests with free drinks and desserts.

We regret your review is more negative than positive as we truly did our best in the given situation.

We hope to welcome you back in our restaurant when everything will be perfect, as it normally is.

Best regards,
Pero Šare – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County

Been to Oyster & Sushi Bar Bota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing