We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth visiting with a Dubrovnik Card” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Modern Art

Museum of Modern Art
Put Frana Supila 23, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
+385 20 426 590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 147 things to do in Dubrovnik
Attraction details
Herts
Level Contributor
295 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Worth visiting with a Dubrovnik Card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was certainly worth the walk out of the old town centre to the museum. It is an interesting building just past the city beach. As with all modern art museums, the art won't be to everyone's tastes, but it was certainly interesting. I probably would not have gone if it hadn't been for the Dubrovnik card and, if you have one of these, I would definitely go. If you don't, it's probably worth going if you are interested in modern art.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    17
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mark Curry photography”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was really impressed by the exhibition, portraits from around the world. The museum is on the hill out of Dubrovnik about a 10 minute walk max.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Akumal_turtle_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Interesting but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Unlike most of the museums we visited, the modern art museum did not allow photos inside. The collection was interesting but not memorable. As part of the collection there were war related photos and some additional Mestovic sculptures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A collection that makes you think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited this beautiful art collection as the sun was setting, the outside terraces have a superb view of the old city. The art is very mixed, to us the most moving were the photographs of the bombardment of the city, the last frame being when the young photographer was killed by the shelling.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Retepetat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Main collection not on show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wanted to visit on our last morning in Dubrovnik but when we turned up we found that only a special exhibition was on and the main collection wasn't on show. Glad we were told before parting with our 30 kuna. We were able to climb the steps to the sculpture terrace which was lovely with great views to the old town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Modern Art also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Museum of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing