We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naive Canadians get screwed in Dubrovnik”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Konoba Penatur

Konoba Penatur
Ranked #306 of 367 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Naive Canadians get screwed in Dubrovnik”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

On a trip to the old town, the 4 of us were inticed into this restaurant by a little old guy. It was rather quaint, a nice street side patio and the day was lovely. Our waitress Anita gave us menus which were in English but the prices were in Croation dollars. She recommended a bottle of white wine for us. 3 of us had tortelini and my husband had fish. Imagine my horror when checking my VISA bill (they don't take Euros or U.S.) that that little lunch cost us $177.00 Cdn! The bottle of wine was $85.00 Cdn. and the fish dinner was $35.00 Cdn. The tortelini was reasonable at $15.00 each and a large bottle of water was $3.60. The food was okay but I feel we were taken advantage of. We had to ask Anita twice to bring us our bill. I think she was wondering if we'd "catch on" to being screwed, but not having done our homework regarding the value of the Croation dollar, I guess it was our own fault.....but I'm still ticked off!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanna1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    31
    37
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rolle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh sea bass and guitar player Nem Bogunovic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The fresh sea bass main course was a real treat. The starter of cold calamari salad and desert of ice cream were nothing special and expensive for what they were.
The fact that on the steps in front of the restaurant we had a continuous recital of modern and classical pieces played by an ex university professor of classical guitar really made the evening something special. Indeed we sat outside with heating as the evening was cool but listened with great interest to Nem who played a variety of tunes that we purchased on 3 CD's.
The service was good but the meL was expensive as usual in Dubrovnik.
We would return for the fresh fish and the great guitar playing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rizoto is FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped here for lunch with no expectations - and were truly amazed at the food! I had Rizoto od Skampa (shrimps) and it was cooked and seasoned to perfection. My husband had Rizoto od Morskih Plodova (seafood) and it, too was perfect with a large assortment of seafood in a bed of rizoto. Our waiter spoke English and was very attentive, as was the owner. We spent about 30 euros for great food, wine and soft drinks - all in all, a great lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebarngodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“In case of no choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived in Dubrovnik on 9 th of march around 14.00 pm. We were hungry,had made a list of some interesting restaurants for us. But we learned at hotel reception that all of them were closed due to season. So what we did was enter the first rest we saw open.This was it.
Octopus salad had lots of onions( which were stale) and was poor in octopus.Ham was fine.Wine was good.Mussels were not bad.Because it was raining we ate inside in a small room on our own.
Service was poor.When it came to paying with credit card i was informed that the post machine was out of order.! Yes,people want to get cash but in this case they should not put labels on their doors for cards. After a brief discussion machine was working and we paid by card.Dubrovnik is a small town.Many restaurants are easily reachable within max.15 minutes in the old town.This one is definitely not recommended.Go to parallel streets of Stradun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayhan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a meal 3 March 2013 and considered the meal average and expensive. The bread was stale and the house red was a poor rosé style that was not worth drinking. Staff were pleasant . I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Penatur also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Konoba Penatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing