We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the tour in Croatia I'm still talking about”

Elite Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.06*
and up
Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Ranked #34 of 148 Tours in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elite Travel was established in 2001. with a mission of providing superior travel service to all our clients and business partners.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“This is the tour in Croatia I'm still talking about”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent a month exploring Croatia and this is the day I'm still talking about. We arrived at the dock to board the ship Tirena for our all day island hopping excursion. We were in a group of 12 - only 12 people on this ship that holds 200! Talk about feeling spoiled.

We used the boat to dock at two of the three islands in the Elafiti Island chain (a series of 13 islands off the coast of Dubrovnik, Croatia). There is no better way to see Dubrovnik County than by seeing it by boat, and this replica Galleon Ship makes an impressive entrance to any port. With the crew of only 5 people, this handsome ship makes quite an entrance. The crews customer service was top notch as well.

We then sailed to the islands of Lopud and Sipan (where we had lunch). We made brief stops on each island but on Sipan they have two docking ports and it was the second port where we stopped to have lunch.

Service on board the boat was very good. We had unlimited coffee, tea and other beverages. Around 10:00am or so the cook had prepared apple strudel for us and it was served warm.

They hold weddings and other events on the Tirena. The bathroom was large and clean which when you are on a ship all day is very important.

This is the way to see the coast line of Dubrovnik County. Make sure to have a good guide along (as we did, thank you Vicki!) who will tell you some of the enchanting stories of the smaller islands that you will be passing.

They will also arrange a pirate show for you and your guests on the Tirena if they have advanced notice.

Sadly this is not wheelchair accessible since you will use gangways to get onto and off the ship.

Great excursion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    16
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Several good trips”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We took 3 excursions with elite whilst holidaying in Cavtat.
The best one was the full day trip to Korcula which is a beautiful place and well worth a visit (even if you're not 100% sold on the tenuous link with Marco Polo who may.....or may not....have had any connection whatsoever with the area). Whatever, if you're in the region, don't miss this trip.
We also took a full day trip to Ancient Montenegro and a half day to Konavle.
The Ancient Montenegro trip is, by all accounts, much better than the general Montenegro option since that one spends much of the day winding through mountains. The Ancient Montenegro option, as the name suggests, concentrates on some lovely antiquities and the UNESCO walled town of Kotor. Recommended.
Particular thanks for the excellent Antje, who arranged everything brilliantly, gave great advice and even sorted things out smoothly when we messed up the times of one trip. Thanks, Antje!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CNHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“mostar trip”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

interesting day, tour guide daniella spoke perfect french and english was very good, nice relaxed trip with plenty of time in mostar

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FORELAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We did two trips with Elite Day Tours while on holiday recently in Croatia. The first one was the three island cruise on the replica Galleon 'Tirena'.
The islands are Sipan, Lopud and Kolocep and they are without doubt very lovely places to visit.
You need to be among the first lot of tourists who are unloaded to get on the boat to get a seat where you might wish to be and even then the seats are hard wooden benches with a table in front, practical but not comfortable at all. You share the tables and benches with whoever happens to get on the boat with you and stay with them for the entire time you are on the boat.

You get a shot of local liqueur when you are setting off. You shortly arrive at the first island and get off but have only a very short time there, 15 - 20 minutes I think, we just walked a very short distance uphill and then walked back to the boat.

The second island had a church that we visited but you had to walk there in the heat of the midday sun and although it was a nice church (now only used for funerals) it was not really worth the walk. We spend a relatively short time there also, just enough to see the church and take a few photos and get back on the boat.
Our guide told us about the buildings on the island and the church and she was very nice and informative which was a real plus for Elite Travel.

The third island, Lopud was the most enjoyable and we spend longer there. When we got off the Galleon we were given a talk on what was on the island and where you could go.
We went for a walk along the promenade and took a few photos. It was extremely hot and so we needed to get into the shade and we stopped at a cafe and had some drinks and some lunch.
We also visited a small park as it had lots of trees and shade and was a means of getting out of the sun.
We had a little browse in a few tourist shops along the front.
There is a small beach near where the boat was moored but it was very busy, there is another beach on the other side of the island but it was really too hot to try to get there.
We hadn't brought swimming things as we had expected the trip to be more sight seeing than relaxing or swimming but that wasn't the case really.

The trip was 'lunch included' but I have to say that really the lunch was dismal. It consisted of a little shredded cabbage, a portion of sliced cucumber and a teeny slice of tomato, just garnish really and a small whole fish.
I don't really like fish and don't eat cucumber and that was our lot so not so good for me.
It was served while the boat was moored and we sat at the benches in the upstairs section in the blazing sun with no shade. Even if the food was nice I couldn't have enjoyed it under those circumstances and I was starting to feel dizzy and ill from the sun by the time we had finished.
There was a bottle of local wine for each table but again not at all appealing in the blazing heat.
There was also water available.

By the end of lunch I was very uncomfortable, hot and hungry and couldn't wait to get off the boat. Desert was a banana which you took from a box on the way off the boat.
Luckily we were able to get some lunch on Lopud island and that is how we spend most of our time.
There were some local musicians playing on the boat also, going around the boat and they did quite a nice job.

Our second trip with Elite Travel was to Mljet island on a motor boat. We arrived there on the boat with no problems and then transferred to a minibus to drive for 45 minutes or so, we then took a small ferry to a tiny island on a lake, had a look at a small church, quickly grabbed a coffee, got back on the little ferry back across the lake (very short ride).
There are two lakes on the island which are very pretty and we then had about 40 minutes to walk around the lake or take a swim.
We just walked around part of one lake but it was really too hot in the middle of the day to enjoy it.
We then got into the minibuses back to the boat driving almost the full length of the island, I think this was so that we could see a lot of the island but by then I was really in need of a snack of some sort and it was about 3pm before we got something to eat on the boat.
Lunch was bread and salad and I think some cold meat or fish and water melon.
Then it was swimming time again from the boat for 15 minutes or so. About half of those on the boat took a dip with the rest remaining on board.
Then we went back to Dubrovnik, that was probably the nicest part of the day as it was much cooler and more comfortable while the boat was travelling at a faster pace over the water and it was also nice to get some lovely views of Dubrovnik and the old city and port from the sea.

We would possibly have been better doing things at our own pace by taking the ferry to some of the islands and following our own agenda but you don't realise until later.
I think the trips are ok but I found the Galleon a bit claustrophobic and uncomfortable and the food not great.
On the Mljet trip we spent too long in the minibuses and waited too long to have the light lunch on the boat. It was a long wait from breakfast at 7 am. We didn't really know what to do while at the lakes as we hadn't taken any reading material or swimming things and it was too hot to walk.
I think it would be a good idea to say that swimming things and maybe some food and drinks are necessary on the trip.

The whole area is very lovely indeed and I would have liked to spend much longer exploring and enjoying the scenery. Everyone involved with the trips was kind was welcoming and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richhill
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great tours”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked 2 tours on our holiday, Mostar & Montenegro. Both were great, the guide were very knowlagable and the coaches were very comfortable. The views on both tours were fantastic. Thanks for a good trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoArmaghontour27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Elite Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing