We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty awful Dubrovnik tour...”

Elite Travel - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.50*
and up
Montenegro Day Trip from Dubrovnik
Ranked #35 of 147 Tours in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Elite Travel was established in 2001. with a mission of providing superior travel service to all our clients and business partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Pretty awful Dubrovnik tour...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We took a walking tour of Dubrovnik's Old City with Elite Travel as they came recommended by the host on our yacht.

We were given a tour of the city by Lidia. She was a friendly guide and had an excellent command of English. However, the quality of the tour left much to be desired.

We started some way outside the Pile Gate, overlooking two fortresses. I can say no more as Lidia did not feel the need to elaborate on them. We stood in the baking heat for over 20 minutes while she talked about Croatian record-keeping (this would be a theme of our tour) and other seemingly irrelevant topics.

When we finally made it into the Old City the tour became truly rambling. Lidia would often lose sight of her subject and forget what she was talking about. Outside a shop on the main thoroughfare through the city, Lidia spent nearly 15 minutes talking about traditional Croatian food in the three areas of the country: hardly a necessity when touring an historic city.

All in all the tour was sparse on relevant and interesting information. It was, by far, too reliant on rambling thought and opinions about Croatia. Lidia was very keen to tell us what Croatia invented before anyone else, but less keen to talk about Dubrovnik's rich history. The tour of fifteen people left feeling very disappointed: several complained to our host, who I believe passed our comments on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    49
    18
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
404 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Montenegro day trip from Dubrovnik”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First this rating is at no fault of the driver or the guide. The driver was great, very skilled in the narrow windy mountain roads. This tour sucked for me because it was mainly sitting on the bus, bored out of my mind! Almost 9 hours on the bus sitting total! I could certainly live without that. We were picked up right on time at 730am, and then had to pick up 12 more people which seemed like it took forever, then had to get to the border and get the passport paperwork situated-also took forever, then we stopped for a potty break, also took forever (long lines for the toilet). Then we drove forever and got to Kotor, pretty views but not worth the less than 5 min photo opp vs 3 hours of windy road driving to get there. Then walked around the old city, it was OK. Kind of boring, people not so friendly, homeless sad dogs running around. Then another hour drive to a stop in the middle of nowhere with a bunch of ham-hocks curing (grossed me out) for people to potty again & eat ham sandwiches, then another couple hour drive to the last town which was the nicest (can't remember the name) had time for lunch at this place Perla (pop up lounge) and it was very good, while the rest of the tour people went to look at the one old city building for 90 min. Then an excruciating several more hour drive back to the ferry, then the border crossing again, then dropping people off. We didn't learn much about the history, the culture, or really anything. The guide seemed bored too-not her fault, she was great but the whole tour was SOOOOO long! SAVE your $ and do the best of Dubrovnik tour-MUCH better. This was painfully long and I really did not enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliteTravelDubrovnik, Manager at Elite Travel - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Mr.Chris T.,
thank you for your review, we are wery sorry that your experience in Montenegro did not succed your expectations. Itinerary and descriptions of all our excursions are described in detail so that the customers can get a good idea what to expect.
Our other excursion called Ancient Montenegro probably would be more suitable for you because it includes more time in coastal towns of Montenegro and less time in the bus.
When you come to Dubrovnik next time do not hesitate to contact us, we will be happy to help you with anything you may need.
We are glad that you had such a good time on our excursion Best Of Dubrovnik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Old Town”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We took a bus no 6 from the Posta Lapad. This gets very crowded indeed. We saw the Old Town by doing a half day walking tour with Elite Agency. This tour was purchased with British Airways. Inside, we visited the Jewish Museum and the Rector's Palace. We also visited a couple of churches. Dubrovnik was formerly the Republic of Ragusa. HUndreds of years ago, it was already a pretty disciplined sort of place. The architecture was designed to minimize social conflict; one island was set aside as a quarantine to prevent disease from spreading.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“3 Island trip”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We paid €250 for a visit to sipan, lopud and Karlocep and with wine and a seafood lunch we got very good value. The trip over with the other passengers was good fun too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElderlemonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great tours”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I did two full day tours with this company. I particularly recommend the trip to Mostar although the tour to Montenegro was also very good. The tour guide we had (Daniella) was charming and gave us a lot of information both practical and also historical facts about our destinations and our route etc. as this is winter we went by minibus and there were only a handful of us.

For the Mostar old city part of the tour a local Bosnian tour guide was arranged who was also Very good. We saw a lot of interesting things. Our driver was also excellent and very safe. This is a excellent company which delivered a great day out, together with a personal touch,at a reasonable price. Apparently you can book online with them which may be a little cheaper.

Helpful?
2 Thank globaltourist064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Elite Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing