We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Svilokos - fantastic location, super...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Family apartment

Private wooden pier with the beach in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private wooden pier with the beach in front of the house
House viewed from the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Private wooden pier with the beach in front of the house
House viewed from the sea
View from the terrace
Entrance to the villa
The terrace
Room with two single beds
View from the room
Master bedroom
View from the room
The interior of the apartment
Dining room
Bathroom
The view from the terrace on the bay
Entrance to the villa
Garden surrounded by walls
Barbecue
Private wooden pier with the beach in front of the house
Deck chairs
Deck chairs
Entrance to the villa
Sandy beach 3 minutes walk from the house
Kayaks for rent on the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
longingto...
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Villa Svilokos - fantastic location, super hospitable hosts!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed three weeks on the Island of Kolocep at Villa Svilokos; for the first week as a couple and then as a family when our fifteen year old son joined us after an action packed week of kayaking in Montenegro with Watermark Experiences.
The accommodation was ideal for our needs with comfortable beds and the most amazing views over the bay from the windows and the large shared terrace. It was amazing being lulled to sleep at night with the sound of the sea just outside our windows. Our hosts were most helpful and kind
We loved the ease of getting around on the local ferry between Dubrovnik and the other Elaphiti Islands and there is great kayaking around the island with sit on top kayaks to be hired from the local hotel.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed July 11, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning view to the bay from windows
Liked least: there is only one small market on the island, so we needed to go to Dubrovnik every time we wanted to buy some food
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nathquinn
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing stay on Kolocep Island: wonderful views, hospitality and location.”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved it here. We needed a break where we did not do our usual sightseeing, museums and activities. This was perfect. Kolocep is a small, car free island outside Dubrovnik and it is quiet apart from the ferries (small ones!) to and from Dubrovnik and the other islands, and some boat tours. The apartment is perfectly adequate for a couple, and the room that is another bedroom can be used as a lounge as it now has a sofa/daybed and TV set up as so. (It is 2 single beds otherwise).
The rooms have OUTSTANDING views - wide open windows showed the crystal clear water and you could listen to the water lapping at night, or use the shutters or double glazed windows if you prefer total peace. It is a quiet place to stay so there is no real noise to disturb you. The family live below the apartment and they were not intrusive, or too discreet. They are very accomodating and friendly and they gave us cooked fish for lunch one day and the courgettes they picked from their allotment another.
They also picked us up from the airport and took us to the supermarket in Dubrovnik which was a great help! Then took us by boat to the apartment, same on departure, for a small fee. It was a highlight for us to go from rainy Britain to hot sun and sea, getting in their boat with our cases! We had perfect weather all week - first week of June 2012 - and it was not at all busy even though there is a hotel on the island and was half term. The people that come by off the boat trips actually were quite nice to people watch - it never felt busy or crowded, and the island itself felt a little like 1950's Italy. Charming.
The internet was on and off but not really a problem. I would recommend they get a tin opener, a frying slice, spatula, a sharp knife and a couple of mugs instead of small teacups but this is just feedback, we didn't mind this overall.
I recommend the restaurant on the corner, past the apartment for a special splurge type meal if you are eating at the apartment most of the time as we did. I think it is called Villa Ruza or Cruza. It has the most fantastic views and wonderful service - fresh fish caught that day and you can have carpaccio of tuna or salmon mousse and wine while you wait, watching the sunset before you. We had a cocktail one night too and you can just use as a bar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the apartment bedrooms, short walk to beaches.
Liked least: Cant think of anything!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitable hosts / beautiful location
Liked least: Could possibly benefit from a microwave, toaster and kettle.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Timisoara
Reviewed July 24, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
drifterz4
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed June 30, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is located on Kolocep Island and we took a 25 min. ferry from Dubrovnik. We left our car safely parked at the car park at the Dubrovnik port. The owner's daughter met us at the dock on Kolocep Island, and she walked us to the apartment. The apartment was located above the owner's house and it was not what we expected.

On the positive side, the apartment was less than 20 feet from the shore, so we could hear the waves lapping against the rocks in the room.

It was listed as a two-bedroom apartment, but we assumed that it would have a living room, or sitting area. But, it was two small rooms, with a kitchen separating the rooms. The kitchen had a small table with three chairs. The kitchen had a small range and stove top, mini-fridge, and it also had dishes, utensils and glassware. They did not include dish soap, so we had to go down to the local store to purchase it. It mentioned a microwave, but there wasn't one.

There was a small bathroom, with a broken toilet seat, and older towels on the towel rack. Definitely bring your own cleaning supplies, because there isn't maid service and there aren't any cleaning supplies which come with the apartment. Also, bring enough clothes for your entire trip, as there is no place to do laundry.
We were very disappointed with the apartment, we really expected to have a living room to relax and hang out in, but there wasn't one. There wasn't really any place to sit in the apartment at all. There was one double bed in one room and two single beds in the other room.

On the positive side, the owners left us fresh bread and local hams and cheeses, which was a very nice touch.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Families with young children
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing