We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but could use some basic maintenance.”
Review of Antica Ragusa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Ragusa
Ranked #49 of 176 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, but could use some basic maintenance.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Dubrovnik.

I will say that most of the reviews here are accurate. You just need to decide how much you want to spend, and what you're willing to live with. Some complaints are just due to a lack of research on the reviewers part. This hotel IS in the walled city. So NO, you can't take a taxi to the front door. That's the charm of staying withing the walled city of Dubrovnik. There are no cars. You will have to walk your bags from the city gates to this hotel.

Also, this hotel (like hundreds other in Europe) is 300-400 years old. That means there are no elevators. You WILL have to carry your bags up several flights of stairs. Get over it. You are in a walled city that has thousands of stairs. If you can't climb 2 or 3 flights of stairs to get to your room, you really aren't going to be able to see much of the city anyways.

The BAD:
The Bathrooms are the only thing I'd complain about. The bathrooms do smell like mold. The shower glass/doors leak and water gets on the floor, and this probably is why they smell. The only solution seems to be to keep the bathroom door shut with the fan on. Also, like I read in another review, the toilet seat is loose. When I mentioned this to the staff, they taped the seat to the toilet base with duct tape, hmmmm. The shower head didn't want to stay in the holder on the wall, so we had to hold the handle the whole time while showering, and even when it did stay in place, it was so high it went over my head (I'm 6'1").

The GOOD:
Lot's of good things about this place! The location is perfect. You are on a side street just steps away from the Stradun. It can get noisy at night, but with the windows shut, it wasn't bad at all.

The rooms have a lot of character, as does the building. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Wifi reception is good. The price is fair considering you are staying in the walled city. Breakfast is good.


Some people complained that breakfast is offsite. This is true. Breakfast is served at the family's restaurant, which is a 3 minute casual walk away. The food is good, fresh breads, cheeses, meat, etc. The service is attentive, and I was even offered eggs cooked to my liking each morning. I didn't mind walking a couple of short blocks each morning to eat there at all.

Overall, If you want a 4 or 5 star hotel, this isn't quite the place. But it could be if the owners just took a little time to fix the bathroom issues. But you have to realize that you aren't paying as much as the nicer hotels within the walled city either. You have to decide whether you want to live with a few shortcomings, or spend the extra money to stay somewhere with better reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler9076127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
37
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It is in the old town so I would not expect to have elevator, although my room was on the 4th floor, and I would not complain of course about the noise as it is not hotel's fault, on the contrary location is great. Most important is that they need to do something with the bathroom! There was a problem with the toilet so the whole room has a smell of sewer. It was very hard to control the temperature of the shower, and the plugs not only in bathroom but in the rest of the room were problematic, or broken. Actually this is very dangerous. The breakfast was average in a restaurant nearby the hotel. It is a pity they didn't take care of these details because the owners and staff were really kind and helpful but their hotel definitely needs some renew and reconstruction.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the 4th floor, the worst rooms by far and there is an incline (ramp) ceiling whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is definitely not 4 stars!
The location could not be better, so if that is all that is important to you, it is a great choice.
The hotel has no lift, so you have to carry your suitcase up all the stairs, the hotel has a very horrid smell throughout, some rooms worse than others, it smells like cat urine and mold.
The breakfast wasn't edible, the bathrooms were horrible and the hotel was overall just creepy, dark and cramped.

But on the plus side you are in the middle of the old town, in the heart of it all, so you can forgive maybe just a little bit. It is in a historical building after all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you expect a 4 stars hotel service then you will be disappointed. Location is great but the hotel doesn't deserve to be a 4 stars hotel. The shower did not work properly, we had always water in the bathroom floor, we had to walk to accross the street to get to the restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaad_Andary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I just stayed at Antica Ragusa in a historical part of Dubrovnik. The room number was 8 on a 4th floor in mansarda. Quite spacious and nicely designed. No elevator but that is not unusual in historical buildings. The staff is polite and were happy to answer to all of our questions. We also needed some help with our flight tickets and the receptionist offered quite good assistance. The location is superb. Breakfast is served in nearby restaurant - quite good. All together - I would recommend the place, no doubt!

Room Tip: 3,4,5,6 probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarTib418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at Antica Ragusa in August 2012 for 1 night.

The location is perfect, a few steps from the Stradun.

Our room was on the 4th floor, the ceiling is so low that I whacked my head a couple of times. The shower was a real disaster, an alternate of cold and warm water which made it very unpleasent, plus every time we had a shower the entire bathroom flooded. The toilet seat was dislodged, the bed side table lamps and the two above the bed were not working, we had to manage with only a small light fixed above the door. We did mention all these issues to the guy at the reception who took note of these problems. The Breakfast was also disappointing with a poor selection and at the time of our visit the chocolate and vanilla mousses were expired. I would reccommend Antica Ragusa only to travellers who will stay there no more than 2 nights or as a stop over. We might have been unfortunate with the room, but the place really lacks attention to details, I.E. cabling exposed.

The building is marvellous along with the location but with some adjustments could really be the 4 star establishment that they exhibit at the main front door.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We did feel like locals walking up many stairs to top floor (put us in training for the walking the walls and getting to the car park-more later). The lighting on the stairs was also poor- not great at night. Once we got there we found the room was not of great standard. The exposed wiring for lamps and light switches was very dodgy, the shower leaked and flooded the floor, and despite being on the top floor the water did not drain from the semi-exposed pipe in the floor and emitted some rather awful smells ( only partly removed by running the fan). The floor didn't look as if recently cleaned. The safe in the wardrobe was not attached to anything and was small enough that it could be easily removed. We also had to share the control for the AC with the neighbouring room- not great for adjustments in the middle of the night.
The breakfast was very basic- very few choices and not of great quality, particularly fruit. The meat and cheese were left out for a long time and were warm. only coffee was supplied and no tea. It was pleasant to sit out on the warm mornings we were there but not sure where we could have breakfast if cold or raining.
As newcomers to Dubrovnik we had no warning that there is no vehicle access to the old city. Arriving on a very busy Sunday afternoon we struggled to find a park (and paid a hefty price) close to gate to unload bags. After checking in we got not clear instructions to public car park. Decided to walk to make sure space available before we moved our car- another few 1000 stairs . Good thing we had water with us to revive us. Lastly our fellow travellers also had problems paying with credit card- luckily we could cover them. Also their room was not cleaned in the 2 days.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the top room especially if you are tall- sloping roof a real hazard. Also smell in bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnley_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#20 of 67 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lumin Guest house
Lumin Guest house
#37 of 176 in Dubrovnik
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments and Rooms Lejletul
Apartments and Rooms Lejletul
#22 of 176 in Dubrovnik
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Flores
Villa Flores
#13 of 176 in Dubrovnik
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rooms Vicelic
Rooms Vicelic
#14 of 176 in Dubrovnik
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Andio
B&B Andio
#10 of 176 in Dubrovnik
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Ragusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Ragusa

Property: Antica Ragusa
Address: Palmoticeva 3, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antica Ragusa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANTICA RAGUSA is a bed&breakfast hotel that is different from other accomodation facilities in Dubrovnik. Its excellent location, high-level service, rich baroque interiors, high-tech equipment and warm, welcoming personnel puts this boutique hotel-type facility in a leading place in south Croatia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Ragusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing