We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people watching; Good food”
Review of Cafe Festival

Cafe Festival
Ranked #93 of 373 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great people watching; Good food”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We ended up here several times during our excursions in the old city of Dubrovnik. The food was good and portions generous. Good spaghetti bolognese. Everything in this city is overpriced, so it is all relative, but I thought the prices here were ok. The cafe tables outside allow for great people-watching while you rest your feet form all the walking and climbing you'll do around town. Best of all, they had free wifi, just ask for the code. Several places we stopped at did not have free wifi, so this was a good find. Also, they didn't rush us out -- we could linger over drinks and enjoy a nice rest before hitting more of the sights.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    179
    59
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Having heard the piano when passing, tempted in for late afternoon coffee and cake. Cake ok but not special, prices excessive compared to other Dubrovnik cafes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing piano and good wine”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had an amazing night here with the best service, tasty wine, relaxed atmosphere and super pianist performing jazz, Norah Johnes and other pleasant chill out music. Thank you guys, excpecially, waiter Josip;)

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Gladyshewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“TOURIST TRAP!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stay far away from this place. We got in late our first night in Dubrovnik and were starved so we basically sat down to the first place we saw that looked half way decent. Ordered a glass of the house wine, it was "ok" but put me in a foul mood seeing as how they poured not even half a glass. I asked if that was a full glass of wine because i was so shocked and the waiter said yes that it was a full glass (literally 3 sips later it was gone).
For dinner I ordered the seared Tuna (omg awful) i sent it back and ordered the risotto which was bland and tasted like it was right out of a box. My fiance ordered the lasagna (it was burnt and had no flavor)
Prices were high and you the only people eating there were tourists. If you are looking for great food stay off the main drag and venture up some of the side streets. Look for the TripAdvisor signs, you usually can't go wrong with those!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rip-off Pricing”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stopped here for a glass of wine. The menu at the table gave only bottle prices. Walked inside and saw on a chalk board a price list for wine by the glass. The house red and white were 42 kuna. It wasn't until the wine came to the table, we realized it was only 0.1 litre/glass. Went back in and saw the small print on the board. That makes a normal glass of wine (0.2 litre) about $15 for a house wine. Shame on management.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Schaefers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Festival also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Cafe Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing