We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a beutiful setting”

Dubrovnik Restaurant at Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #163 of 403 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: $33 - $168
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia are not only served at Kazbek they are proudly presented in their full and glorious light. Croatian cuisine is heterogeneous, and is therefore known as "the cuisine of regions". The cuisine reflects the influence of various cultures, having distinctive regional qualities.Along the Dalmatian coast the cuisine tends to be Mediterranean. Northern and eastern Croatian cuisine tends to be heartier, showing the influences of Hungary and Austria. The different areas of Croatia offer an amazing array of delectable produce, grown on the small farmsteads, fished from the deep blue waters or lovingly made from recipes passed down through centuries.Our menu reflects a pride in Croatian cuisine and produce. Our ingredients are the finest and freshest available, and of course are all locally produced.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had the stuffed squid which was quite tasty . But the highlight is the unique setting on a courtyard looking out onto the port and the attentive service. Our waiter Marijo was so friendly and recommended some excellent Croatian wines. The restaurant is never busy so its perfect if you're looking for a quiet romantic dinner. We were saying at the hotel which is also excellent! Two thumbs up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Priforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Dubrovnik Restaurant at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Priforbes,

Thank you so much for your wonderful description of both - our Kazbek restaurant and the hotel! Your feedback really made me feel like we are creating a great experience for our guests and that is what it's all about!
Thank you again and hope to see you back soon.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Dubrovnik Restaurant at Hotel Kazbek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 72 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Outside the European metropoles, one has to expect that restaurants are closed in the afternoon, or have a reduced selection - I made good experience in the past to stick with restaurants being part of an upper class hotel for late business lunchs! - So today we did a "stress test" on the main restaurant of Dubrovnik's Kazbek Hotel... I ordered a risotto, and to make sure it was prepared fresh, not with the lobster but with vegetables... / It took less than 10min to get the food (which I appreciate in general for a business lunch), which made me wonder if the risotto was perhaps wormed up, as at home, it takes a good 20-30min to cook.
Nevertheless, food was ok, and the athmosphere is deffinitely cozy! - Nice wine selection...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CenturionMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Dubrovnik Restaurant at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear CenturionMember,

Thank you indeed for your very positive review.
Nevertheless I am truly sorry to read that you got an impression that our food was warmed up. We assure you that our food is never warmed up, but always freshly prepared.
As you probably noticed, our restaurant wasn't busy at all when you were there at 3 pm so our kitchen started to prepare your dish as soon as you ordered it. And also we have at our disposal a professional hotel kitchen with all the professional equipment, facilities and 2 cooks who were both working on your order so all these allowed us to finish your order quite quickly.
Thank you very much again for being our guests and we hope to serve you again soon.

Pave Miloglav,
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had stopped at Kazbek Hotel for breakfast one morning and were so impressed by the venue and the staff that we were determined to come back for dinner. What a find! This is a boutique Hotel with 12 rooms and it is absolutely lovely. The restaurant is located in a large courtyard in front of the hotel and surrounded by hand built walls - totally private from the busy tourist area out front. There is also a lovely venue inside, but this is summer and everyone is enjoying being out under the stars.

We often share our orders and it is always interesting to see how a restaurant handles this. Often they are not happy that we want to share and just bring a platter for us to divide. Or the restaurant staff will divide the menu and charge a fee for this service. We have noticed this year in Europe that most of the good restaurants are very happy to divide up orders and present them beautifully.

We each ordered a main course, but wanted to split a pasta course. I am so sorry we split as it was the best pasta we tasted on our travels (even after our month in Tuscany). The pasta was obviously hand made: a perfect texture and cooked to perfection. The sauce was truffle, mushroom, pancetta, asparagus, shaved Parmesan. Absolutely outstanding. (I might have missed a couple of ingredients. (Perhaps the restaurant will fill in the missing ingredients!)

The mains were beautifully presented but not particularly to my taste. My lamb was a bit strong although the savory mint sauce was outstanding (none of that sugary mint sauce that is so common). The potato goulette was a bit tasteless but the tomato coulis was very tasty.

My partner had a squid stuffed with shrimp and bread crumbs and served with the traditional Swiss chard (or is it spinach or silver beet?) and potato.

We had a great bottle of Plavic Mali (Zinfandel) from our favorite Croatian/California winemaker Mike Grgic. It was properly decanted by our server with no residual sedimant in the decanter. We were served a complimantry appetizer to start (sole, celaric and mayo on a bed of rocket/arugula). We wanted to order dessert but were too full and when they brought our espresso they also brought a complimentary local brandy for Joe and the traditional walnut digestive for me.

It was a lovely experience and if we were staying longer, I would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear SaucySister,

A big THANK YOU for your lovely review of the Restaurant at the Kazbek hotel.
We are all, especially our our chef delighted with your comments.
As for the pasta, we believe that the ingredient which makes it so tasty and special is the Istrian truffle which is one of the most appreciated in the world.

Hope to serve you again soon!

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Over priced, and food ok just didn't quite make the mark

Thank cherryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Dear cherryUk,

We are indeed very disappointed to read that your experience at our Kazbek restaurant did not meet with your expectations.
Nevertheless we appreciate your opinion and we thank you for being our guests.

Best regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a dinner for two (two starters, 2 mains and - yes! 2 desserts) recently. We didn't know whether we would be able to get into the Kazbek, as we didn't know how many non-residents they could accomodate, being a boutique hotel. We were delighted that they found space for us. The courtyard is beautiful and very romantic at night. The service is lovely, not hurried, or intrusive, allowing time for you to soak up the atmosphere. The food was excellent and many dishes had a real local flavour which was nice, as many Dubrovnik restaurants are broadly 'mediterranean'. The desserts were particularly thoughtful and interesting. We enjoyed the experience very much - it was special! Thankyou Kazbek!

6  Thank creteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear creteboy,

Thank YOU so much for your lovely review of the Restaurant at the Kazbek hotel. I must say our chef was delighted with your comments and so we all are knowing that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you again for your visit and we hope we will have a chance to welcome you again at our Kazbek restaurant and maybe even at our Kazbek hotel.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubrovnik Restaurant at Hotel Kazbek also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Lopud, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Dubrovnik Restaurant at Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing