We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arka

Arka
Ranked #189 of 366 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We found this place recommended on the Internet for also serving local food. Arka is located in the old city at a convenient location and has only a few tables inside, and more on the street.
The food we had, risotto with shrimps was mediocre, the moussaka not encouraging to eat moussaka once again in Croatia but to stick to Greece.
We had some cheese, ham and vegetable platter which was good, but unfortunately all the food was served together. Actually you would like to have the starter first, afterwards the main course. We were also disappointed that there was not a bigger selection of local dishes.
Thou the service was not too well arranged the staff was very friendly. I think the whole was overpriced for what we got.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 69ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    65
    51
    35
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Unfortunately the food and service here did not meet any desired standards that are expected from restaurants in Dubrovnik. The only aspect positive about our experience was the convenience of the location. It was the first restaurant we ate at after a day travelling and thankfully was not a sign of things to come in Dubrovnik and Croatia. If you are looking for somewhere in the very local area, head to Kopun (up the steps and on the left) which is superb, you may need to book mind.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sebhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best squid I have tasted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Food was quite basic but very tasty. The restaurant seemed to have a resident cat, which also enjoyed the squid! Service was good, and we enjoyed being in a buzzy square

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jemcat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I gave it a chance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have recently returned from a city break in Dubrovnik old town, and after a busy day decided to book a table when passing the reasonably attractive Arka Restaurant around the corner from our townhouse. We did read the reviews but thought they might have been a bit harsh, so we gave them a chance. Big Mistake! On arrival the meet and greet was polite although not really friendly but that seems to be in general at most restaurants As we were a little tired we stuck to ordering steak, one medium rare, one well done and a Greek salad with a bottle of local red wine,yum. The first steak and greek salad arrived and after some minutes we enquired after the second steak. two waitresses ,two stories, sorry its on its way and sorry we forgot. When it did appear it was more rare than the first rare steak which by now was cold. only one of us was able to get a steak knife which was essential The meal finished with no further problems ,but on the arrival of the bill we offered our credit card and were told to go to the cashline and get some Kunas. We did have the cash but we like to use that for small payments, tips coffees and the like. We handed over our cash and left no tip. An unpleasant experience. If they do not take credit cards it should be made clear from the start ,perhaps on the menu..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleydoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not go here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Many other restaurants were busy and had queues (wonder why!) and this one had a lady outside ushering us in. Hungry and feeling slightly awkward to say no, we went in. Service awful and rude. Seafood risotto was cold and when I complained they simply reheated the same dish! Friend's pasta wasn't cooked enough. Asked several times for the bill, but they clearly wanted us to stay there to make it look busy. Awful, basically. I hope they take note and try to make changes. Until then, don't waste your time and money-you'll be left unsatisfied and disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Portsmouth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arka also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Arka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing