We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal accomodation in Dubrovnik” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Libertas

Guesthouse Libertas
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Libertas
Ranked #125 of 174 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal accomodation in Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked this just a couple of days before we arrived in Dubrovnik on the strength of the tripadvisor ratings and I was not disappointed. My husband and I were looking for somewhere for 2 nights as close to the old city as possible but with private secure parking included and guesthouse libertas was ideal. We stayed in room 1 on the ground floor and the room was spotlessly clean and well proportioned. It also had easy access straight on to the terrace where we had breakfast both mornings looking out over to the old town.
There is a bakery and small supermarket very close by and the room had a good sized fridge and a kettle. Anka, the landlady was very helpful and made us feel very welcome, giving us a good recommendation for dinner on our first night.
We would highly recommend staying here, particularly if you have a car as you will be hard pressed to find anything closer to the old city where parking is included - this was a real find!

Room Tip: Room 1 on the ground floor has access straight on to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were three girls around 30 years old from Canada and Bulgaria. We stayed a hole week in Dubrovnik. We did not have any reservation as we were out of high touristic season (may 2013). Location is PERFECT as it is really close to the old city (1 minute walking). It is easy to get there driving and a safe parking place is included with the room. We had the apartment no 3 on the last floor. Really nice and spacy room with private bathroom. Super clean et quiet. A magnificent garden with a huge terrace is accessible for guests. We called it our little paradise. We liked to have our breakfast there. The house itself is pretty a lot. You feel totally free to walk around the house. For exemple, you have access yourself to the towel wardrobe and you change them whenever you want without asking. The hosts made us feel welcome. They booked some excursion for us and were always open for a chat. Wifi is included. One of the best apartement we had in all Croatia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-AndreeChabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here just one night on our way back through Dubrovnik. We chose it because of its proximity to the old city, while still offering good value.

Wi-fi is included (as seems standard in Croatia) and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, I found an old cigarette butt on the carpet when I walked in the door, but that was really the only disappointment. Be prepared for several flights of steps to get there, but that's more or less standard in Dubrovnik. Good air-con too.

We had no time to enjoy the terrace garden, but it featured wonderful views of St John's Fort and the Pille Gate.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 where the wi-fi router lives. Strong signal, but there's an eerie blue glow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimples09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Guesthouse Libertas for two nights this summer (2012) and we couldn't have been more lucky of our choice!! The owners were such nice people and we felt as if we had known them for a long time at once we met them. Being spoken to as "Darlin' the minute you meet the landlady, really makes a difference!! And what a BEAUTIFUL garden to sit in viewing the old town of Dubrovnik with a cold glass of whitewine in your hand!!
And remember; the landlord is also a taxidriver, so he takes you from the door out to the airport for a reasenable price!! We really loved this Guesthouse!! And we know where to stay the next time we come to Dubrovnik. THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor!! A quick step out of bed and you're in a lovely garden with a fantastic view down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pereine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My mother and I spent three nights here, and would love to have stayed longer. We were made to feel so welcome. The bedroom was spacious with a huge double and a single bed, with air conditioning and a fantastic view of the old town, the sea and Lokrum Island. The room was very quiet and had great shutters to block the very bright light, great for a comfortable lie in! The room was exceptionally clean and the sheets and towels smelled really fresh. We had access to our own bathroom and a fridge. The building is very old with beautiful original 17th century steps. It is maintained to high standard and has beautiful art work adorning the walls.

There are a few steps to climb from the old town to get here, but it's not really that bad, keeps you fit and is well worth the views and the breeze you get from being higher up. My mother managed and she is 71! You can always stop for a breather and admire the fragrant jasmine and bougainvillea spilling over the old stone walls as you go. When it was really hot we loved coming back to chill out and cool down in the courtyard garden under the ancient lime tree in the shade. The resident cat and tortoises were also a delight.
The owners were always happy to help with advice and detailed knowledge of the area. The owners also provide a convenient, modern and efficient taxi service for journeys further afield and for airport transfers. We could also leave our luggage there after we checked out, before our evening flight, which saved the hassle of lugging it about town!! Highly recommended, a sheer delight. We did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colo.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Guesthouse Libertas is a wonderful place to stay in Dubrovnik. The owners truly treat you like guests and are so helpful with the details that make traveling more pleasent.

The view from the patio at the house is stunning. There is a picturesque view of the Old City and the Adriatic Sea. And it's just outside of the Old City so you are 'right there' but can escape the daily cruise ship crowds that pile into the city.

And I have to say - the smell of the sheets is a pure delight. Simple pleasures. Truly lovely.

Room Tip: There is a room on the second floor with a view of the Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DD-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We spend two nights in guesthouse Libertas. As we came we called to staff and the receptionist came by bike, wich was rather convenient, bcs he showed us a way to parking. It's not easy to find accomodation in center wich cheap paking or even with parking. Libertas provided us a parking place for 10 euro a day. We had room for 3 persons. It was two separate sleeping areas with common bath, wich was great. We had fantastic view: cosy streets and Dubrovnik Old Town. The entrance to Dubrovnik old town was about 5 min walk. We also liked the terrace and the privet garden with nice sculptures and freindly cats!
We really reccomend Guesthouse Libertas! Great location and great value for money!0

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana_and_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.9 mi away
Apartments Zore Glavinic
Apartments Zore Glavinic
#161 of 482 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Libertas

Property: Guesthouse Libertas
Address: Pera Budmanija 19, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Libertas 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing