We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value apartment close to old town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Apartments
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value apartment close to old town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at Stella apartment. On the first day, the bus driver stoped at pile gate, and I had to climb up the famous stairs of Dubrovnik. It was fine with me, but not easy for me to find the apartment. I suggest anyone who booked at Stella, I strongly recommend you to make sure that you know the way before your departure because it is not located on the main road or you can see from the main road. In Dubrovnik, I found no clear sign of the name of the road.
However, after check-in, everything was convenient. The owner of the apartment was very nice and helpful to give some tips on restaurants and short cut to old town and other facilities. once you know the way, everything is so close and easy to find. The quality of room was, for me, just average. It was very quiet unless someone using the other room is not talking at the outdoor table which is set just next to the window of my room. On the last night of my stay, I had difficulty to sleep because guys staying next door was chatting even after mid-night.
There is small kitchenette. But note that you may not have many choice for your cooking at the "called" supermarket near-by.
Overall, it was comfortable and enjoyable stay at Stella. It was definitely good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HS0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the large room for 3 nights. The room itself was a little dated but it was on on the retro side which made up for any shortcomings. The apartments are centrally located, only 5 mins from the Old Town and Pile Gate. You have to climb alot of steps to get from the Pile Gate to the apartment but this didn't put us off, it was a good daily workout. The owner was hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

NOTE: Be careful not to confuse this with another "Stella Apartments" which is much further uphill from the Old Town! This accommodation is just a couple of minutes from Dubrovnik Old Town.
We booked the "Large Apartment" for a week in September. Planning a busy week in which we didn't intend to spend long sitting about in our accommodation; we spent time scouring review sites for a lower-cost "hidden gem" location; and Jadre's Stella apartment really fit the bill.
The apartment is roughly equivalent to; but superior to; standard package holiday apartments - and I think my girlfriend hit the nail on the head when she described the apartment as feeling like we were staying at the holiday home of a good friend. It does not have modern furnishing; but the essentials (bathroom; kitchen surfaces; floors; beds) are all nice and clean.
The host (Jadre) is very friendly; and is always close at hand and will help with any request you might have. Contact Jadre directly ( adranka.barac AT du.t-com.hr ) to book. She will send you some travel information; and will meet you on arrival.

Positives:
* Great location - 5 minutes (albeit steep steps) walk from Pile Gate which is a hub for tourist services. A slightly longer walk avoids the steps and takes you to either of the other 2 Old Town gates. You are also a couple of minutes walk from the cable car station, which is a handy location for day tour or airport pick-ups. The location feels nice and secure for leaving your luggage.
* Bathroom is recently decorated and well fitted. Shower has strong water pressure; which is lovely :) I agree with another review that the hot water runs out quickly; but in warm weather we didn't care. The high pressure was a real treat.
* The kitchen is a bit basic but is definitely more homely than basic holiday apartment accommodation. We absolutely enjoyed a night-in with pasta and wine from the local shop; saving us money on eating out.
* The apartment was fitted with really good air conditioning - it had a remote control; and felt like it could drag the temperature down 10 degrees Celsius inside a minute. On a hot night, this is amazing.
* The apartment had a new (or very new) TV with FreeSat and DVD player; and a set of movies are provided. We did not use the TV even once; but it's a nice addition.

Negatives:
* The 2 downstairs apartments have partial visibility through both front and back doors; and share outside seating and clothes drying; so are not 100% private. For us; this was not a problem; but I think is a consideration... if you want a romantic or lazy visit to Dubrovnik with 100% privacy, this might be a concern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GobBluthComeOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Very decent room. All you would ever need was there (fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with washing machine). Interior design was like from previous century but believe me - it made this stay truly atmospheric. Character of the place is unbeatable. If you add owners who are amazingly kind and helpful it's place I fully recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank xroorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stopped here for 3 nights and we were both blown away by Jadres hospitality! She bought us a bottle of pop and biscuits and showed us around where all the short cuts were. The room was everything we needed (and had air con which was a godsend!) and the outdoor patio is a lovely spot to have breakfast (there is a great bakery just up the road which Jadre directed us to). You really couldn't be in a better location for the price (plus it's very quiet!). The stairs up from Old Town really aren't a pick of bother, except when your belly is full of Ozjusko. Do be careful that you get to the right address! We went to the wrong place first, entirely my fault. I typed Stella Apartments into google maps and got directed to somewhere just up the road, that wasn't half as good. It took us about 20 minutes to realise we were in the wrong place and the other owners won't tell you that there is another Stella Apartments (even though they know Jadre).

Room Tip: I didn't see the large apartment, but the small apartment was perfect for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, basic rooms with everything you need and Jadre was very helpful and gave us great advice and information about Dubrovnik. One point, the shower ran out of hot water quite quickly. Apart from that, the apartment had everything we needed and was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved Stella Apartments so much so we've booked again for later this year! The apartments are big and very, very clean for a very good price. We had a great view overlooking the sea from our balcony. The owners (husband and wife) are the sweetest couple and are so helpful with everything to start your stay in beautiful Dubrovnik. We were welcomed with special chocolate biscuits and fresh fruit juice. They also gave us a map and explained how we get to the Old Town, nearby cafe and supermarket along with a few restaurant suggestions. You will get a great peaceful sleep at Stella (the Old Town can get noisy) and the owners offer great airport/port transfers which we organised with them.

It's a simple 5 minute downhill stroll (steps) to the Old Town. Take your time walking back up but it is good exercise after all the yummy food and ice-cream you will be eating in the Old Town. Dubrovnik is a beautiful city (Old & New) we spent 3 days in total there and can't wait to revisit in September. Make sure you visit Lokrum Island opposite. It's £10 return on the ferry that goes every hour from the Old Town port and only takes 10 minutes to get there. Lokrum is a nature reserve and simply stunning. We spent the whole day there, swimming, walking and admiring the wild Peacocks, Birds and Rabbits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gl0betr0tter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne Rooms
Dubrovnik Old Town Anne Rooms
#59 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartment Peppino
Apartment Peppino
#52 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
APARTMANI LEPUR
APARTMANI LEPUR
#48 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#34 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#20 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Apartments

Property: Stella Apartments
Address: Za Kapelicom 16 | Behind the chapel no. 16, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 min. From the Old City, in the cool shade of the mesmerizing 10 th. Century walls, our apartments promise you unforgetable holidays. It's possess charm unlike any others, a charm of an antiqeuness, and moderness of the both world. The majority of the steps are either on the northern and southern parts even in the Old Town town; the location is superb if you like to book the apartment inside the walls! But it can be noise and crowded. The market sets up 5am/5.30 A.M. And bells ring in the church a 6 a.M., So if you are a light sleeper this will cause you some problems including late at night the music from coffee shops. Once you're up I shall show you a shortcut to avoiding the steps, neighborhood is quiet and you need only 5 minutes walking down the road, and you are in the Old Town; very close to the apartment is a bakery, mini and super market, public garage!This private accommodation features modern kitchens, spacious living rooms and bathrooms with showers-bath. Both apartments have private entrances with an atmosphere of the safety and security as your own home.By choosing Apartments Stella you avoid the cost of busy city transportations and crowded streets.And in the same time, you have the advantage to be among the green foliage of needed peace.We offer you 2 apartments for rent. All are fully equipped and tastefully decorated. The two studio - apartments can be also rented for family or group up to five people.Facilities:Public Airport-Shuttle, Video/DVD Player, wi-fi for free, Satellite TV in each room; but - car parking is available (100 meters ) in the Public garage,( do not have private parking place). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing