We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could only gasp at the view!”
Review of Lady Pi-Pi

Lady Pi-Pi
Ranked #47 of 402 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: No reservations. No groups. Open from May 1st through October 1st.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could only gasp at the view!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We hadn't read any reviews and had no idea the place existed, but passed it while wandering earlier in the day with our children (aged 4 and 7). The quiet street with local children playing football outside and simple menu drew us back for dinner, away from the mayhem after 2 days in the Old Town. This was by far the nicest place we ate. Simple food cooked over the BBQ, generous portions, the most amazing view, and the loveliest staff. Nothing bad I can say, the were great with the kids too, and so they behaved beautifully as a result :o)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    428
    127
    33
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite meal in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Heard about this place from a friend. Not easy to find but worth the trouble. Excellent food, pleasant terrace with lovely view. Good value. Much better than stuffier places recommended in guide book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbc789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Croatian BBQ off the Main Street”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Top notch family owned restaurant at the top of one of those 100 step streets in the old town. Was recommended to us by a Croatian before I read all the glimmering reviews of TA. It did not disappoint. We arrived early in order not to miss out on a table after finding out earlier in the day that they did not take reservations. Had the best seat in the house but had to move due to the glaring hot sun (can't complain though) and my wife and I enjoyed the sensational mixed meat platter for two. No need for sides with the inclusive homemade fries & grilled veggies. Huge portion, great value for money along with a gorgeous setting and view. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Croatian BBQ with a stunning view”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to Lady Pi Pi on the recommendation of a Croatian friend, and it did not disappoint. We were promised delicious BBQ grilled in an open oven and served in a rooftop trellis-covered garden overlooking Dubrovnik... it was authentic and truly one of our favorite meals of our trip. Once we saw it (and smelled it) from our walk on the city walls, my husband was done touring and ready for dinner. It's off the beaten path... which made it that much more of a treasure. A hidden gem!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank melinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Honest food in a lovely location”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This feels like a hidden gem in a town that otherwise consists of pizzerias wall-to-wall (literally!). You'll develop an appetite hiking up to it and waiting for a table, but the food and the views are worth it. This is simple, honest cooking - fresh fish and meat grilled outdoors and washed down with a frosty beer - in a relaxed environment.

My husband and I went for dinner and only had to wait about 10 minutes before scoring a shared corner table with an amazing view of the rooftops (the whole vine-covered terrace is cozy, though, so even the tables without views are pleasant). We had marinated anchovies, an octopus salad with lots of fresh peppers and onions, a plate of grilled shrimp with green vegetables, a mixed meat platter with homemade fries, and a salad with feta and olives. Everything was very tasty and the whole experience was an extremely enjoyable affair. One of our best experiences in Dubrovnik.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wordridden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Pi-Pi also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Lady Pi-Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing