We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truffle galore”
Review of Cafe Royal

Cafe Royal
Ranked #255 of 373 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Truffle galore”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Location is perfect, food very good, and service quite good. The umbrellas provide for some privacy on this bustling square. Order the pasta with seafood and truffles... And enjoy (good pairing : Istrian (not Dubrovnik) Malvasia wine

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank misha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    63
    42
    23
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a really nice tuna dish here.The food was good and the service excellent.I would recommend this restaurant highly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

First night in Dubrovnik, decided to treat ourselves. Great location in old town but food was extremely poor! Mussel dish with wine and garlic . Could not taste any flavour apart from what tasted like instant stock, the mussels were hard and dry. The portion was extremely small for a main meal also. Shocking!
I had heard that some of the restaurants rely on their location rather than a high culinary standard , this was certainly the case with Cafe Royal Dubrovnik.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refused service because we were not looking for full dinner.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I were refused service at this restaurant because we were looking to have only desert and drinks outside. It was 20:30 on June 2nd and the restaurant was busy but they had extra tables that they were willing to set up for us before they found out that we were not looking for full dinner. While the man outside started setting up the table for us the young lady told us that we can have the desert inside but not outside at which point we walked away...
My suggestion to the management of this restaurant is to train their employees in customer service. A paying customer is a paying customer and any time you have a chance to provide service to a customer that is what you should do. Positive experience results in positive reviews and returning business. We however, will not be returning customers nor a positive review...
Oh, and by the way, do not assume a foreigner does not speak your language, while I lived in the US most of my life I am a Croatian and I speak the language fluently.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rip off - tiny tiny portions”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I ordered a main pasta dish. It arrived and was the size of a normal started dish. For the equivalent of £12 this was a huge rip off. Don't eat here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcclurestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Royal also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing