We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed-not like the pictures!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Roko House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roko House
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very disappointed-not like the pictures!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My friend and I did our usual check of Trip Advisor before booking our acommodation in Dubrovnik months in advance. We saw Roko House with it's fantastic reviews, amazing photos and ideal location and looked no further.. However when we arrived at the accommodation we were bitterly disappointed. The landlady seemed nice enough, however, when we presented her with our hostelworld.com documentation she said that the price was an extra €12 per night and I had not paid my £15 deposit eventhough it clearly stated in the letter that I had. For a prime location in the centre of town I thought fine, an extra £20 or so wasn't going to break the bank.
However, we were then shown to our room... Rather than the clean, elegant rooms that are shown in these pictures we were presented with an attic room with old furniture and junk cluttered all over the place, random towels and bed sheets stacked across the room and a cracked skylight. Plus 2 washing machines and a full array of cleaning products in the bathroom!! It was nothing like the "beautifully decorated modern rooms" with their "delicate designs" that was sold to us by hostelworld.
We found the landlady in one of the rooms downstairs which looked like the pictures and asked whether we could stay in one of the proper rooms and she said these would be double the price. I said I would pay and she said no I was being ridiculous and to go out and just have fun. I said no I wanted to sort this out but she refused. We later moved to a proper accommodation at Karmen Appartments.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharonGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    38
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
87
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked into Roko House for 2 nights and although it took a little finding it was in a fantastic location. There are no signs but in case you are looking for it, it is above a pizza restaurant which smelt good when arriving but couldn't be smelt in the rooms. We arrived a little later than expected but had a warm welcome on our arrival. The room was clean, tidy and modern and the pictures were a reasonable reflection of this. The ensuite had a good shower and although compact it didn't prove to be an issue. The room had air con and so although it was noisy with the windows open, with the air con you didn't need them open whilst sleeping! Everything you needed was on hand including main attractions, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had originally booked for two weeks in the roko House considering the good reviews to finally being told That we were in full booking and that we couldn't have our room for the first week!!!
After several call phone a lady told us That somebody would take us to another appartment...
Happily the guy was really nice and seemed sorry for the lack of organisation of the roko house. He took us to an appartment not so far which was more old fashionned but finally more quiet and with more facilities in it (kitchen washing machine...). The towels were also changed each two days.
The next week we had our room in roko which seemed quite clean at the begining but there is absolutely no cleaning and no towels changing during the whole week!!! We even had to ask to get some toilet paper!!
This and the fact that the street is really noisy as it is above pizzerias!!! Not saying that internet doesn't work...
To conclude: the location is certainly good but the absence of cleaning and the noise let think that it dosent worth the price...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fradams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Old Town and quite easy to find (look it up at Google Maps before your trip). I have to admit that it was really hard to find a convenietly located room in Dubrovnik Old Town, because of its being built amphitheatrically and having millions of stairs! It was the second time I was visiting the city, so I knew that the further you got from the main street Stradun, the more stairs you would have to climb to reach your destination. Last time we had a really hard time carrying our luggage up hundreds of narrow stairs, so this time I knew that we had to find a place at the flat part of the town. So, we chose the Roko House first of all for its perfect location.
As I mentioned, we didn't have much trouble finding the hotel, since its located just above a pizzeria. To be more accurate, the hotel shares the same entrance with a pizza restaurant(!!!), which at first seemed a bit weird, but it was actually alright! The waiters were very friendly and helped us with our luggage, since there was no elevator, plus we had a great pizza, since we were starving after our 3-hour flight!
The building was fully renovated and the room was absolutely gorgeous!!! It seemed brand new, it was amazingly decorated in a romantic yet very stylish way that matched the city style. Every item of furniture was carefully chosen and of great quality. The room was to the small side, but very clean. There was some street noise during the night, but if you closed the windows it was ok. It had air-conditioning, hot water, clean towels and a small kitchen with a refrigerator. There was also free wifi internet, provided by the landlady, who was extremely friendly and adorable!
All in all, an excellent value for money! We had a great stay and by all means reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rita212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

we had a loverly 4 days in dubrovnic old town, our accomadation was very central, down points very noisy till 1pm then they clean the streets from around 2pm, our apartment was tiny the pictures are very deceiving and not once in four days did any towels bedding get changed or loo roll replaced or a tidy up ! had a look in another room which was a lot bigger than ours with a small kitchen area we never got offered this? our room had a bed a chair then the smallest shower and toilet room ever. good points out all time site seeing lots to see and do and a boat trip and a day on the beach .

Room Tip: ask to see all rooms and remember its so expensive in dubronic the accomadation is going to be small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivenrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We loved Roko House! It has been renovated to an extremely high standard with lots of charm and really clean. Great location off the main street and the roof terrace was just the icing on the cake!
We got a shuttle bus from the airport which was a direct transfer and just 35 kuna each (around £5) which dropped us off at Pile Gate, right outside the city walls which is perfect. We did struggle to find the apartments a little as there was no sign to say it was Roko house and we weren't sure what pizzeria was it above - Dominica! But once we found it we got a beer and it was only a couple of minutes before the owner was there to check us in. We had booked for a week but had to spend 2 nights in one room then move to another - but this didn't bother us as it meant we got to see 2 different rooms!!
Talking of the rooms they were great, air con was brilliant, comfy beds, big wardrobe and nice powerful shower (which did run cold for whoever was 2nd in! Quite refreshing after the heat of the day though!) the only real problem was that it was a bit noisy in the mornings when the restaurant were moving all the chairs and tables, it seemed to go on for about an hour!! And if being slightly picky they could benefit from a small fridge in the ones without a kitchen area.
Overall it was the perfect base for our stay and we would thoroughly recommend and I would love to give it 5* if the few points I have mentioned were changed - having said that we'd go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeMcAulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, england
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The apartment is 1 minute from the entrance to the city walls but we found it a bit difficult to find as there is no sign. However it is above Pizzeria Domenica on the corner of Za Rokom and Od Domina so you need to go up the stairs in the pizzeria. The apartment consists of 2 rooms i.e. 1 compact bathroom and 1 bedroom/small kitchenette with a table and 2 chairs. The street Za Rokom has several pizzerias so can be noisy and smell of cheese but with the windows shut and air con on it's not a problem. The bed was comfortable, the shower reasonably powerful and the apartment clean. There was a TV. We didn't really use the kitchen facilities but enjoyed getting fresh orange juice and croissants from a bakery around the corner and fresh fruit from the market square for breakfast.

The owner arranged for a taxi to collect us from the airport for 30 Euros, however the taxi failed to turn up so we ended up catching the bus for 10 Euros which drops you off outside the city walls which was absolutely fine and much cheaper.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pooCheshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Stari Grad
#20 of 66 in Dubrovnik
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sigurata
Villa Sigurata
#3 of 175 in Dubrovnik
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pucic Palace
The Pucic Palace
#18 of 66 in Dubrovnik
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Celenga Apartments
Celenga Apartments
#2 of 488 in Dubrovnik
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 175 in Dubrovnik
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roko House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roko House

Property: Roko House
Address: Za Rokom 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roko House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely new reconstructed house situated right in the heart of Dubrovnik Old Town. There are three studio apartment and three rooms in this beautifull property dating from 17th century.Behind the façade of an ordinary-looking stone house lies this collection of extraordinary accommodations. Each of the three studios and three rooms has been completely renovated and lovingly decorated in a delightful blend of traditional elegance and modern sophistication. Delicate chandeliers and antique-style furniture contrast nicely with LCD TVs and Inox bathroom fixtures. Charming decorative accents abound: entering each room is like being presented with a beautifully-wrapped gift – one cannot wait to see what treasures are inside.The house itself is situated in the flat part of Old Town with convenient access to restaurants, cafes, shops, and markets. It even has a small communal terrace where guests may relax and take in the views of the colorful tiled rooftops below. When rented as a whole, Roko house can accommodate 12 guests under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roko House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roko House Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing