We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference good staff make!”

Huck Finn Adventure Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
$696.32*
and up
Adventure Sailing 3-Night Trip from Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Huck Finn is the leading Croatian adventure travel outfitter and operator. We pioneered rafting, canoeing, sea kayaking, biking and adventure sailing tours and excursions in the country in the past two decades and have reached the highest level of quality and professionalism in service. Huck Finn operates 20 different one-day excursions and cooperates with other tour operators by providing all-inclusive custom made trips or just gear, logistics, guides etc. Nobody knows Croatia better or cares more about the environment, sustainable operations and benefit to local residents. Therefore Huck Finn will provide excellent service and value for your travel in Croatia. The photos will show you some of those wonderful but hidden places in Croatia, as well as illustrate the passion and commitment to outdoors.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just come back from a week on the Isle of Kolocep just off the Croatian coast near Dubrovnik. The trip was organised by Huck Finn Travel or Croatia and I would like to say what a good time we all had.
We did have a small issue one day but their senior organiser, Vanja has sorted out the issue to the satisfaction of the whole group, and that is how to deal with issues.
We stayed in a ‘Guest House’ hosted by Ivan. Our selected itinerary gave us the option of eating out (extra cost) or eating Ivan’s food and once we had eaten on the first night we did not look anywhere else. He is a superb and remarkably un-flusted cook.
The accommodation was very comfortable with air conditioning and the knowledge that on such a small island and protected by 189 steps we were safe and secure.
Huck Finn offer different itineraries and we chose the Sea Kayaking around Kolocep option (Sea Kayaking Multi Activity). This gave us 3 days in Kayaks with a guide (very helpful chap) and a trip to Dubrovnik with a couple of free days and some sailing (which did not come to pass, not to worry).
The island was quiet, provided very peaceful coastal bays and rocks, great walking and running (albeit on quite a small island) had a great bar, shop and ferry service. What more could you want.
We were placed in a group and I could not have chosen nicer people if I tried. I will put some photos up and I do recommend Huck Finn and Croatia if you like this sort of thing.

2  Thank AroundMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn Adventure Travel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Mike,

thank you for your review - we are very glad that you had such a great time despite the problem with the day of sailing. Once again, we are very sorry about the inconvenience that caused and are happy that everything was sorted out to mutual satisfaction in the end. Good luck with your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was looking forward to this trip with a degree of trepidation; Im not too keen on boats and I cant swim!
My kids, however, love the water. My wife arranged the trip and as she has a good record of succesful holiday arranging I went along with the idea.
So what was the result? In a word, fantastic.
Let's be clear from the start, the catamaran is a nearly new £400,000 vessel; it is not some over-used, under-serviced tour boat.
The boat was captained by Jake, who is a very experienced seaman and knew the islands like the back of his hand. He also knew some damn good places to eat seafood!
We swam, sailed, kayaked, rode bikes, ate very well, and I began to realise that I'm a much better sailor than I gave myself credit for.
The boat was very well equipped; the cabins were small (it's a boat...) but beautifully designed.
There was absolutely no lack of prefessionalism or hygiene, as mentioned by another couple on here; quite the opposite.
The whole family thoroughly enjoyed the experienceand, frankly, for the money, I thought it exceptional.
Definitely recommended.

1  Thank RadlettGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn Adventure Travel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you! It's really great to see that people recognize everything we aim for when designing our trips - beautiful, yet uncrowded places, good food and a well balanced mix of activities. Don't stop sailing! :) Hope to see you all again on one of our trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I booked the 8-day sailing trip with Huck Finn as a part of our honeymoon vacation to Croatia through responsibletravel.com. I cannot say enough good things about this company and trip. It was just the right combination of activities and relaxing time and the captain was very flexible to do whatever the group felt like doing. We got a taste of everything from sailing, kayaking, biking, hiking, swimming, sightseeing, and, of course, eating great food and drinking great wine.

The schedule was a little different than described based on weather conditions, which was fine because we eventually saw everything on the list. After a driver graciously picked us up from our hotel in Cavtat, we hopped on the catamaran in Zaton Bay after it had been cleaned and set off for for the first island of Kolocep for some lunch and hiking around the two villages. Lunch was great and the scenery on the island was beautiful. Then we left for some sailing and a short visit to Lopud to swim before heading to Sipan for the night. Each morning, the captain would make us a great breakfast and explain the day's activities. In Sipan, we biked across the island to another village with great scenery in between. After Sipan we sailing to Ston on the Peljesac Peninsula for a great dinner in a quaint town. The next day we spend the afternoon at Miljet biking through the large park. After one more night on the boat, we were driving back to Zaton Bay for a few more nights to kayak around the bay and Kolocep island as well as a day spent in Dubrovnik on our own. The hotel they rented for us had a great location right on the water with easy access to walking or day excursions. Each night, we were served a delicious traditional 3-course dinner on the patio as a part of the package. And the last day, they even dropped us off at the bus station and helped us buy tickets.

Overall, an amazing experience that you COULD NOT get on your own without the help from this knowledgeable staff. We also had a great time with the other people on our trip which was an added bonus. It's such a great deal, especially including all the tour guides, transfers, meals, and accommodations. It is very apparent that each of the staff members truly care about their customers. We hope to come back to Croatia some day and we would definitely do another trip with Huck Finn. Thanks so much!

Some tips on things to bring: good water shoes that double as walking shoes, cash money (kuna) for meals and snacks, snorkel gear (also available in the local grocery stores), good water bottles, swimming accessories like floaties or balls

3  Thank rhiannaw1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn Adventure Travel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Rhianna,

we're glad we could make your honeymoon special. All the things you listed here - perfect mix of activities, good food, local knowledge and great spots to visit - that's our goal. Thank you for providing the tips for our future guests on what to bring, I'm sure that will come in useful.

We hope to see you both again on one of our trips soon - perhaps in a different part of Croatia - check out Land of Waterfalls!

Best,

Vanja Kelemen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a great time on the 5 day adventure sailing trip.

We researched quite a few companies before booking and this one was the best value for sure.

Pros:
Excellent breakfast!
Great group of other guests with us--3 friendly couples all English speakers ad well
Got to see places off the beaten path. No crowds of tourists for us!
Taken to beautiful locales
Was very well accomodated as a vegetarian
Great mix of relaxing and activity
Captain was flexible to needs and preferences of the group
Cabin was spotless
Loved the biking
Boat was beautiful and cozy
Friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
Some of our co guests were on different length trips than us and at times it seemed like staff was confused as to who was doing what. But it always got sorted.

Poor weather cancelled our morning of kayaking on the last day--but they specially arranged for us to do a little later in lieu.

Word of wise:
Do note that due to it being a boat and not of the cruise ship size, showers etc are small-- felt a little like "glamping" or cottaging which we didn't mind at all.

3  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn Adventure Travel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Hi Amanda,

thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed it so much and thanks for the tips and feedback - both we and other travelers appreciate them. Best wishes from us at Huck Finn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We booked the sea kayaking to Kolocep before we went away - it was very easy to do. We met at the agreed place in Zaton Mali after receiving very clear directions to get there. We met up with our guide immediately & were very lucking in having him completely to ourselves. Kayaking was much easier than we had imagined & we had a lovely trip over to the island - our guide was very entertaining & informative. Unfortunately as we tried to go around the island the wind got up & we had to abandon our trip as it got too dangerous! Kayaking in waves was much less easy but we managed to get back to the resaurant with a few hairly moments!! The restaurant they took us to was really nice & we had a lovely meal of seabass recommended by the guide. He then took us on a nice walk around the island as we didnt get to see it all from the sea! It was too rough to kayak back to the mainland but we travelled in style on the catamaran instead!! Day didn't go entirely to plan but we still had a great time - our guide was brilliant & kayaking (on calm water!) was a lot of fun!

Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn Adventure Travel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Hi Danielle,

glad to hear you had a good time with us! Winds can be somewhat tricky so it's better not to risk going out when it gets rough. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huck Finn Adventure Travel also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Huck Finn Adventure Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing