We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of the Old Town.”
Review of Pavisa Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavisa Apartments
Ranked #79 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of the Old Town.”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. The apartment we had was right in the heart of the Old Town with the window facing Stradun (the 'main strip'). The apartment was small but very clean, had air conditioning and free wifi. The kitchenette was convenient for making breakfast and having cold beverages. The bathroom was very small and the shower was a little tricky to navigate for someone tall. The owners were lovely and kind. We arranged via email to be picked up from the ferry when we arrived and the same gentleman took us to the airport when we were leaving (both for a reasonable fee). The Old Town is very busy in the height of summer with many tourists and buskers on the Stradun. Despite the chaos, the windows blocked out a lot of the sounds from the street. I slept with earplugs (as I'm a very light sleeper), my husband had no problems. Great place to stay for a few days in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoe_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I had some expectations for the apartment, considering that the price was more than 100 Euros per night. I understand that real estate in the old town of Dubrovnik comes at a premium, especially in the summer. However, I was still shocked when I saw the size of the room I had been assigned (it was a room and not an apartment!). It barely fitted two single beds put together, a miniscule desk and a tiny television set mounted on the wall. There was an air conditioner above the door, but otherwise there was no ventilation in the room besides two small windows. The apartment faced Stradun (the main street of the old town), so due to noise the windows had to remain closed at night. The drainage in the shower cabinet was poor, so after a few minutes of showering it became like a small bathtub. On the positive side I would mention the location (stepping out of the building you're right in the middle of the old town), it was clean, and wireless internet was included. However, none of these factors outweighed the fact that the apartment was grosely overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Janki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in the Viktorija apartments for 8 nights over the July/August 2011 period. Frankly, if you want to self cater, then I can't imagine a better spot. The view from the apt was absolutely breathtaking. Why eat out when you can enjoy views like that!?
It's a picturesque walk to the Old Town with great views along the way and when you don't feel up to that, it's good to know there's bus stop right outside the apt. In fact, we took 3 tours with Adriatic Explorer who picked us up and dropped us off at that bus stop. So over all, the location is very convenient as well as offering stunning views.
As mentioned by another reviewer, the apt was simply but comfortably furnished with sat. TV, WIFI, air con, fridge and two hot plates. For washing clothes, there's a laundrette at the entrance to the Old Town. For groceries, there are 3 mini-markets nearby where you can get all the essential things.
The hosts were charming and thoroughly reliable. I have no hesitation in recommending this apt to any TA readers. I sincerely hope I have the chance to return to these apts at some time in future. I expected Dubrovnik to be good, but my experience of the place was much better than I imagined. It is simply magic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Dubrovnik is a MUST SEE while in Croatia. It's hard to believe that less than 20 years ago they were under siege when they declared their independence from Yugoslavia.
Pero and Davorka Pavisa have several Sobes in Dubrovnik. We stayed in one uphill from Old Town. About 20 minutes downhill to old town, 30 min coming back. The apartment was quite comfortable and had a nice little balcony that overlooked the harbor. The Pavisas are delightful people and very helpful. If you do not want to walk to or from town, you can catch a bus rig t outside the Sobe.
Old town is fascinating and well worth the price to walk the wall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryPatandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in Villa Victoria which is about a ten minute walk outside of Dubrovnik's Old Town, the apartment was big enough for three adults to share without getting in each others way and had great views from the balcony.

Although it is not in the Old Town itself, it is not hard to get to all of the attractions: the walk into town isn't too strenuous (though there is a fairly big hill) and the bus stop is literally at the front-door. There are there good beaches nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanLeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Two Words: Bed Bugs. Though the reviews of this apartment were promising, things did not turn out as we had hoped. We booked two nights at Apartments Pavisa during our June holiday, expecting one of the rooms shown online. However, we were given a room managed by one of the neighboring apartment owners. Apparently, Apartment Pavisa works with various other owners so you may not receive the room you expect. We were met at the gates of Old Town by a nice gentleman who was kind and willing to show us around. Though the hospitality was great, it still does not erase the fact that there were bed bugs. We were bitten in the middle of the night and forced to vacate immediately. Unfortunately, the only vacancy in Old Town was a five star hotel. Needless to say, this turned our mid-range holiday into a very expensive one. Though were given a full refund and many apologies, the inconvenience and paranoia nearly ruined our vacation. We have debated for weeks on whether or not to write a negative review but at the end of the day, we wanted to warn travelers who decide to book apartments to be careful. Also, we were asked specifically not to write a review...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed for 23 days! If you are visiting the lovely city of Dubrovnik for 3 days or 30, arrange to stay at the Pavisa Apartments where your warm and friendly hosts, Pero, Dvorka and Antun Pavisa will welcome you, provide you with tips on everything from car rentals to restaurants to not-to-be-missed sites or tun you to the bus depot or the airport. The two apartments available in this restored historic building have a balcony where you can sip your morning coffee or afternoon drink, overlook the Adriatic and the island of Lokrum as well as offer magnificent views of the old city (a 10-15 min. walk) and dramatic sunsets. Each apartment is very comfortable and is finished simply but attractively with a kitchenette, separate bedroom (with king bed) and tiled bathroom. Excellent value at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne60Kaslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Ragusa
Villa Ragusa
#15 of 490 in Dubrovnik
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Placa Dubrovnik
Apartments Placa Dubrovnik
#61 of 490 in Dubrovnik
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartment PLAZA
Apartment PLAZA
#55 of 490 in Dubrovnik
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 176 in Dubrovnik
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
SUNce Palace Apartments
SUNce Palace Apartments
#5 of 490 in Dubrovnik
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartment Lucic
Apartment Lucic
#76 of 490 in Dubrovnik
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavisa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavisa Apartments

Property: Pavisa Apartments
Address: Zhudioska 19, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavisa Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pavisa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing