We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but be careful of the size of the BED !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Sesame Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Sesame Inn
Ranked #31 of 174 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Saigon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location but be careful of the size of the BED !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights at the beginning of July. Location is perfect. Our experience was very good there because of the location and because of the magic of Dubrovnik.
But I just want future customers to be careful with the room # 2.
When the owner says by email the double bed of room #2 is QUEEN SIZE bed, that's not right at all. What they call a queen bed in that room is just 140cm large. Which is obviously not enough to make 2 normal people sleep together in confortable position. We had pretty bad nights there my husband and me...
So just ask the precise size of the bed before booking not to be disappointed.

Room Tip: don't choose the room #2 unless you 're a single person !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well located only about 500m from the Pile gate to the Old Town. It was excellent to be able to wander into the old town, on a whim. This allowed us to avoid the crowds, heading home when too busy, but returning when the crowds died down.

Owner and staff, though polite, were unhelpful, without any offer of help for my pregnant wife - a 1st throughout the Balkans. Disappointing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's true that the inn is located close to one of the gates of the old town, the rooms are decent and quiet, and the price is good for Dubrovnik hotel standards. However, my experience was that this place severely lacks customer service. I was there twice for several days at a time and consistently I found the staff to be untrained. Examples include a complete disinterest in offering to help carry my bags to the back building where the rooms are; no recommendations about what to see and do; breakfast never available at the designated time; the cleaning maid unlocking my door and barging into my room without knocking nor apologizing while I was sleeping in the morning; and the host maintaining an opinionated and argumentative stance with me, the customer, over trivial matters. If customer service is important to you, I don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonbathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a total of 4 nights in two different rooms. Each room was clean, fairly large with decent views. The real great thing about this place is the location. You couldn't ask for better. Just a three minute walk to the Old Town (and just a three minute walk away from the crowds of Old Town.) The coffee was excellent. The food great. The owner very friendly, informative and accommodating. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms modern and spotless. A great value for the money. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of The Sesame Inn couldn't be better, being only a few minutes away from the Pile Gate. It was wonderful to be able to wander in to the old city at any time of day. This meant that we could choose the best restaurants and venues to explore and we could thus make the best use of our stay. It was very unfortunate that the host was ill in hospital as we missed being able to get advice on trips etc. However, he did organise for us to be picked up by Toni, who was a wonderful taxi driver and who was able to give us all the information we needed and plenty more. We ended up hiring him for the day to make a memorable trip to Korcula, exploring the vineyards and Mali Ston on the way back. His expertise really made our trip as he had an excellent insight into many cultural, political and other aspects of Dubrovnik. He was a great guide and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Room Tip: Not every room was en-suite so make sure you choose one that is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YGatKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Sesame Inn - ideal location just outside Pile Gate so we were back and forth easily and frequently each day. Our room was clean and comfortable. The highlight, in addition to the location, was the food. Breakfasts were good, coffee excellent, and dinner was the best we experienced in Dubrovnik. Simple fresh food expertly prepared. Our waiter, Dejan, was superb and had a great knowledge of local wines. He has a natural aptitude for customer service and was helpful throughout our stay.
All the staff were very friendly. The sidewalk cafe is a great spot to start the day, where you can mingle with students and faculty from the university next door,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMR1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Sesame Inn is superbly located just outside the old city walls not far from the tourist information center. It is just outside a university campus and park with excellent views of the coast and nearby fortress. The room was well furnished, quiet and comfortable. The innkeeper's manners were a little gruff, but he consistently asked if everything was OK. The oddest thing about the place was the number of doors I needed to lock and unlock to get to and from my room. This was especially difficult at night as it was hard to find the light switches. I stayed three nights and would encourage that bath towels be changed daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HWID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartment & Room Lukre
Apartment & Room Lukre
#8 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guest House Maria Di
Guest House Maria Di
#21 of 174 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Andio
B&B Andio
#10 of 174 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Flores
Villa Flores
#16 of 174 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Benussi
Apartments Benussi
#64 of 483 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
House "Boninovo"
House "Boninovo"
#8 of 483 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sesame Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sesame Inn

Property: B&B Sesame Inn
Address: Don Frana Bulica 5, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Sesame Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing