We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #12 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Dubrovnik - incredble walled city a must to go and see.
This hotel is obvioulsy very new, modern and spacious. Rooms were new and spacious, we paid extra for a sea view which was defianltey worth the money as not all the rooms have views or balconys. Ample good quality sun loungers round the pools, never had to rush for a sunbed. Food at the snack bars were good quality.

The restaurant food was usual hotel food. Plenty of choice, great for 1 week, not necessarily for 2. Only downside was the restaurant staff were often rude and service with drinks was slow.

Live music in the bar overlooking the sea was lovely each night.

Great location on the Penisula, with a short, very cheap bus ride into Dubrovnik town centre.

If you want to spend a day at the beach, its a rocky beach at the sister hotel, this is the downside, their beach is also open to the public and is very small, so here you can end up fighting for space, and when the kids come out of school its very noisey and the locals don't seem to understand about personal space. This hotel should keep their small beach area for guests only, expecially when their toilets cant cope with the influx of people either.

Overall great location, new modern hotel, with lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Basic rooms don't have views or balcony. Definaltey worth paying for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you on your great review and most of all thank you for choosing Lacroma for your stay in Dubrovnik. We have picked up on a few points we can improve on and will do our best to see that all our services are maintained at the same desired standard in all outlets. Please accept our sincere apologies for any unacceptable level of service which you have encountered in our Restaurant.
Regarding the beach, we hope to be able to change the control of access in peak months, however this is entirely a matter of law and regulations which do not permit closing any of the sea access to the general public or restricting the use of any costal area.
As you have rightly observed Lacroma went refurbishment works in 2009. Like other hotels in the Resort was built way back in 1976. We are proud to also point out that Lacroma was voted best 4* property in Croatia in 2013 and we take great pride in receiving this award as well as the Best Hotels of the World international award in 2013.
We hope to be able to great you in Lacroma on another occasion and we are sure you will find the beach service much improved since we are completely refurbishing our sister hotel President , raising it to the 5* level and will also introduce better access control of the beach all in line with Croatian laws.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    477
    101
    15
    11
See reviews for
261
653
60
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel....believe all of the reviews...location is OUT on a peninsula overlooking the sea....room is very nice....try to get a room away from lobby driveway...very noisy early in morning.....tour bus loading and unloading.....breakfast was the BEST....so many choices...the pools are lovely and clean...you can be in old town in 15 minutes by bus..very easy....take bus 6 in front of hotel...you will not be disappointed with this choice

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket-Listers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guests
“Wow” review! We are over the moon! It is gratifying and motivating to read a review like yours for all of us in Lacroma. Sincere thanks and greetings. We hope to see you again soon?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You will need a one day, 4 day or 7 day Dubrovnik card for your bus trips to and from the walled city but the buses are frequent. It takes about 15 mins. Generous choice of breakfast and dinner buffets. A few minutes walk to a small shopping centre.

Room Tip: We had a balcony. I think all rooms have sea views and maybe all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guests
Sincere greetings from Lacroma and thank you on a delightful review. We are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your recent stay with us in Lacroma and look forward to maybe having an opportunity of greeting you again on some other occasion in not so distant future. Please let us know if you are planning to come back we would be grateful to be able to assist you in any way
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were there the second week in October. It rained every day and we had a room with no view. As a result, our experience was not like the pictures I am seeing on TripAdvisor.
Since we were with a tour group, I think we got the less desirable rooms. If I were not with a group, I think I would have wanted a hotel closer to the historic area.
We went to the high end seafood restaurant (Langusto). The food and wine were good, but the room was small and the bright lights made it feel more like a nursing home dining room than a romantic restaurant. Apparently they have a nice view, but it was dark out when we ate. We also ate some small meals in the bar and they were ok. The buffet breakfasts were good.
As was stated before, there was no wi-fi in the room so I had to go sit in the lobby to check emails. Our room was comfortable but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of your recent stay in Lacroma on line. We are sorry that during your stay in Dubrovnik the weather conditions prevented you from enjoying your stay to the full since Lacroma is situated in the most picturesque locations in the Dubrovnik overlooking the islands surrounded in olive groves.
It would have been our pleasure to offer you an upgrade to the sea view room had we have been given an opportunity to discuss the matter and we are sure you would have enjoyed your stay with us more. Maybe on another occasion?

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here on a Riviera trip and loved it.
The staff were all helpful and friendly, the meal buffets were exceptional (my tip is to limit yourself to one area each night as the choices are fairly constant and it is easy to overdo it). Breakfast superb - apricot croissants to die for!
It is a short bus ride from the old town and the bus can be very busy but runs frequently until 1 am (in season). It is well worth a trip down in the evening .
There are lovely pools although the outside pool proved too cold for some but has beautiful views. The beach is a short walk away.
The sunset views from the terrace bar are wonderful. A perfect place for the pre (and post) dinner drinks.
The only downside is the extra charge for fresh orange juice at breakfast. The evening water allocation was easily enough to give water for the night if needed and to take some out next day

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a sea view although it depends how much time you will actually spend in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anon551746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests
“Wonderful” review, many thanks. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will be back for some more sunsets and apricot croissants!
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Lacroma has large clean rooms but sparsely furnished. Not any storage for clothes if you're on an extended stay. My room had a balcony with a view of the Adriatic. I watched two cruise ships departing one day. The breakfast selection was very good, buffet style. Easy to overeat with their selection. I looked forward to breakfast on the second day. Very clean, modern bathroom. They even provide a face cloth which many European hotels haven't seemed to have discovered yet. The location is a little remote but there is a bus line that takes you to the Old Town across from the castle. Several restaurants are a short walk from the hotel. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much on a great review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry you will have to maybe go on a short diet after Lacroma breakfast temptations! Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience on line and thank you for choosing Lacroma. We look forward to greeting you again.
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the beginning of October and had an excellent time. Really easy to get a bus into the old city which was well worth visiting. The food was fresh and fairly varied. A good choice each meal and plenty to choose from. I just wish we could have had Internet in more than the lobby. I asked and was told it worked all over the hotel, why then were people in the lobby / bar all checking emails and Facebook. I would recommend this hotel, it has a lovely swimming pool area and also a beach area at sister hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fine-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests
Sincere greetings from Lacroma and thank you on a great review. We should have the Internet working in all areas however with different types of appliances there are sometimes information flow issues. Hence we have in the Info maps in the rooms instructions on how to use the Wi Fi and if all fails we have a cable in the bed side drawer for a more stable connection. We hope that this inconvenience with the Internet did not prevent you from enjoying your stay with us and that you will maybe return to Dubrovnik and Lacroma on another occasion. We look forward to it!
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
#11 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing