We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, average surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip, therefore I cannot say anything about the price. But this hotel from the Croation Valamar chain seems quite new and was really very clean. They even received some gold award from British ABTA during my stay! My room was facing the main entrance and parking lot, but there are also other views. The room itself and the bathroom was very spacious with a really king size bed.
Breakfast is included in the price and they also offer dinner buffet for 190 Kuna. There's also a more expensive smaller speciality restaurant where e.g. lobster is being served.
There is one small lobby bar with outdoor seating with a beautiful view over the sea and one night bar in the cellar.
They have a Spa with ok pricing and an indoor and outdoor pool. Please note that the outdoor pool is not heated.
The hotel is 10-15min by bus from Dubrovnik's old town. The stop is the second last if you take bus no. 6. Even if you miss the stop and drive until the final station it's only a 3min walk through a park back to the hotel.
Unfortunately there is nothing besides a few hotels on Babin Kuk peninsula, so you definitely should go into old town. The water front is only 400m through the park but be aware it's a rocky coast and no sandy beach. Additionally there's a small "mall" with souvenir shops, bars and restaurants. Again, this is only a 5min walk through the park (turn right in front of hotel Argosy). Good local food is e.g. being served in restaurant Pivnica Dubrava.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view and balcony. For sure they are nice, but also more expensive. Depends on ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affrofant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guests
Greetings from Lacroma team and thank you for your most informative review. Lacroma was newly refurbished and re-opened end of May 2009 but it was originally built as the other hotels in the vicinity in 1976 as a Babin kuk complex. We are happy to hear that the facilities of the hotel were to your satisfaction as for the surroundings they as natural as they can be since the planning laws for this area impose constraints in the landscaping which should be kept to the natural look with predominantly olive trees and other local type of vegetation.
Thank you for staying in Lacroma and we hope to be able to greet again another occasion.
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is overall a good hotel, with friendly and efficient staff. Its location on the side of a "mountain" meant that it was on several levels, which meant that stairs were a common necessity. The room we had was of good size and had most of the facilities that one would expect from a hotel of that standard. A recent upgrade had introduced contactless keycards which worked well - although, as the old keyholes had been left in the doors, the setup was initially confusing.

There were some rather cheapskate omissions that simply did not belong in a 4 star hotel. Firstly, although our room (and many other rooms) faced across to the rooms in another wing there were no net curtains. Thus, to preserve one's decency, even in daylight, it was necessary to draw the main curtains and turn on the lights. Secondly, although the room was a double, there was only one chair, even though there was plenty of room for another.

The restaurants, both the waiter-service and the self-service were fine and the food choice good rather than excellent. On a couple of occasions the breakfast grapefruit juice was incorrectly labelled as pineapple juice which is more than a petty item. Grapefruit juice is highly dangerous to those on certain blood-pressure medications and it would be all too easy for an unsuspecting person to take a large gulp of the juice before realising that it was not the advertised pineapple juice. I did report this the first time I noticed it - but the error was made again before our stay finished.

The swimming pool was large, albeit unheated, and there was a large sunbathing area with ample sunbeds - although parasols were only available on "special request" - because it was "out of season". The pool bar was closed for most of the time we were there, the excuse again being that it was "out of season". Which no doubt it was - but the temperature was in the high 70s and on occasion there were fifty or more sunbathers around the pool, most of whom would probably have enjoyed a drink. But to get a drink you had to climb two long flights of concrete steps, innocent of a handrail, to get a drink at the hotel bar and then descend the same steps to get back to the pool. Very inconvenient and actually dangerous.

The final, and rather ironic, omission was that of any guest feedback forms in the room, on the reception counter or on the large and prominent letterbox that invited guests (in several languages) to deposit their feedback forms therein.

So, in summary, good but could (and should) be better.

Room Tip: Be aware that the basic rooms have no view other than that of the rooms in the other wing. Since one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guests
Sincere thank you on your most informative and overall positive review. We have noted a few omissions we agree we have to and will improve on. Regarding the net curtains you are absolutely right and we have already planned to install them in the rooms this winter. The name tag on juices is really a detail our restaurant staff need to take more care with and we have alerted them to this issue, consequently training was provided and more care will be taken to make sure juices are correctly named.
You are absolutely right we should have provided some service at the pool bar even though it out of season. It is most inconvenient for our guests to come all the way to the lobby bar for a drink. We will look into possibilities of offering dink service at the pool side even when the full service bar is closed.
As regards to the questionnaire, they are personalised and placed in the room a day before our guests’ departure. We are surprised that you did not receive the questionnaire in your room since we deliver one to each of our guests the day before their departure from the hotel. Apologies if this was somehow missing in your room.
Despite the “omissions” you have kindly mentioned in your review we are pleased you have overall enjoyed your stay with us in Lacroma.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

There are now lots of hotels in Dubrovnik but this must rank as one of the best. The rooms are a good size and have pleasant balconies. The food is good with a superb choice. The house wines in the restaurant are good value and we found not inferior to many of the more expensive ones on the list.
It's a big hotel but there certainly seemed plenty of staff and the thing that marked it out for me was the pool service. Even at the very best hotels you often find that during the day the area around the pool becomes untidy and its hard to see which beds are occupied and which have just had towels left on them. The staff here are constantly checking, straightening the beds and removing used towels.
Although it is out of town there is a good bus service which stops at the city gate. At certain times the bus can be very crowded so if you want to be sure of a seat don't go to the nearest stop to the hotel but to the terminus which is a few minutes further walk going out at the back of the hotel towards the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HARGATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guests
Wow! Thank you whole heartily on your most kind and motivating words. We are all absolutely thrilled we were able to make your visit to Dubrovnik and Lacorma so enjoyable. We look forward to maybe seeing you again, the pleasure will be all ours and please let us know if and when the time comes if we can be of any assistance.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel with lovely rooms, excellent breakfast buffet and great massages. Spectacular pool and spa area but it was too cold for we Californians. Walked through the lovely park to the sea. Just down a few stairs is a restaurant area with maybe 6 well-priced restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: We had to crane our necks to get a sea view but if you can get one, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking time to share your experience of Lacroma on line and sincere thank you for choosing Lacroma and for your kind words about the hotel. It is greatly appreciated by the whole Lacroma team.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a great hotel. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean (especially for somewhere in Europe). The hotel was huge, but pretty and the scenery surrounding the area is breathtaking. There is an indoor and outdoor pool and the food was delicious. One small downside is that this pool isn't right at the ocean. You do need to walk 10-15 minutes to the beach. Fortunately, the hotel right at the beach, the President, is a sister hotel and we can use their elevator to easily get down to the beach. But all in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jtrek72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guests
“Sweet review” and many thanks for staying with us. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay and have taken home some lasting memories. Who knows, we might see you again for some more breath-taking views?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Room, OK, good gym and a good massage in the spa. Worst steak sandwich I've ever had....

I'm here for the ABTA convention so you would think they might get it right...

Worst part is the wifi...not reliable at all...everyone complaining

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guests
Greetings from Lacroma team and thank you for your kind complements on the Spa and massage facilities. We have noted your dissatisfaction with the steak sandwich and our chef has already taken action to improve on this menu item. As regards to the Wi-Fi we apologise for the inconvenience of the speed at certain peak times. We have detected that due to a large volume of streaming and other downloading activities the facility was overstretched and have arranged for the capacity of the system to be improved.
We hope that the steak sandwich and problems with Wi-Fi did not prevent you for enjoying the ABTA event for which we believe was a success, and we look forward to greeting you in Lacroma on some other occasion for a perfect streak sandwich and flawless Wi-Fi
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel nicely situated on the bank of Adriatic sea but not far from the town. Hotel has it's own Valamar President Beach. Rooms are well furnished with perfect bed & bathroom. A swimming pool, gymnasium, spa centre is available. Free internet. Friendly house keeping. Tea maker in the room. Variety of food items in breakfast.

Room Tip: Better to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Tapas_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guests
Great review! Many thanks and most of all thank you for highlighting all Lacroma amenities, most of all thank you on your kind words for staff and our Housekeeping.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $110 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing