We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with excellent food and unpleasant staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Karlovac, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent food and unpleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

In a few sentences-beautiful hotel on a beautiful location, great ,spacious rooms, and definitely the best food I have ever eaten in hotels (and I have been here 3 times so far). Variety and quality is really the top! Now every hotel I go to, I measure their food after this hotel. But, the staff in the lunge bar, and on the hotel terrace could learn they manners. They are very often unpleasant and rude to the guests, nervous, I experienced more than once that guests waited a long time for ordering, and when they come, and guest says- Well, I am sitting here for 15-20 minutes now waiting to order, and they say something back like So what ? , I am busy, you are not the only one and so on. I saw once a lady asking the waiter if he could bring the chair on the terrace, so she can sit (it was 2 m from him), he said No, so she had to bring it herself. Unbeliveable. Really, you got impression like you are on their way and all they want is give me your money and stay out of my sight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much on your review and for sharing your experience of Lacroma on line. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for pointing the quality of food and out facilities. We have also noted your comments regarding the service at the bar and were trying to work out why would such unusual lack of service occur and which one of our employees would behave in such unacceptable manner. We tried to link the time of your stay with the team members at the Lobby Bar, but could not establish with certainty if your stay was in 2012 or 2013.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any possible unacceptable behaviour on behalf of any member of our team. It would have been beneficial to all if we were able to discuss this problem at the time and take action immediately.
We are more than certain that similar situation cannot occur at this time since our team have been picked and trained to provide best service possible to all out valued guests and we would like to be able to greet you in Lacroma again on another occasion so that you can see the improvements. Let us know if we can be of any assistance if you decide to some and stay with us in future.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    552
    119
    18
    14
See reviews for
302
742
67
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at Valamar Lacroma. This place deserves a 5* rating. Everything from the first minute to the last was perfect. The room was clean and lovely (one of the widest beds I have ever seen!) The pool was excellent, although could do with a heater to take he chill away! The breakfast buffet was excellent with a good wide range of different foods. The cocktail bar and band on an evening were really good also. Special mentions must go out to certain members of staff, these are Zalfija (the lady making the omelettes) for her excellent service and cheery demeanor, Maja for keeping our room spotless and Jelena for organizing our breakfast box when we had an early start for a day trip into Montenegro.

I would definitely like to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests
“A truly top class review! Thank you sincerely. We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us in Lacroma! Thank you on your kind words and we have relayed your thanks and greetings to our colleagues you have mentioned in your review. We hope to be able to greet you again in Dubrovnik and Lacroma so when the time comes please feel free to contact us, we would be glad to be of any assistance.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We travelled as a family of 5 adults and enjoyed our stay at the hotel- it is an expansive property with all the amenities which you might need such as large swimming pools, spa areas, restaurants and even a couple of shops, and the hotel surroundings were so peaceful and relaxing. It's only a short walk to the beach and as well as a bus stop from which you can catch a direct bus to the city. The reception staff was obliging and I found the hotel especially family friendly. We took breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was of good quality with a nice selection. Considering what we paid for the quality of accommodation, we found this hotel to be of good value and would recommend this to other travelers to Dubrovnik!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank koalaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your great review and thank you for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you on your kind complements regarding our services.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here recently with a friend and I have to say that the hotel surpassed my expectations. Away from the bustle of Dubrovnik you can hop on one of the buses which pick up from hotel every ten minutes and be where it is all happening!
We had a reasonably sized room which had all the usual amenities and was invariably quiet despite the fact that the hotel is used by lots of tour operators with people checking in and out regularly.
The hotel is situated such that you really do have the most amazing views of the coastline, mountains and islands opposite. The gardens are beautifully tended with water features and whilst we were there they were making improvements to the surroundings.
Staff are really helpful ( thank you Marco for arranging for us to keep our room after checkout) and also to the concierge for really useful tips including times to avoid in the Old Town due to cruise ships calling in.
Breakfasts are very good with omelettes and eggs cooked to order. The evening buffet is not so adventurous and could maybe be spiced up but the food was plentiful and we were always greeted with a smile. There is an a la carte restaurant which once we had checked prices we wish we had tried. However, there is a myriad of restaurants to experience in Dubrovnik.
Pleased to say that we did not suffer any sun bed nonsense and the clientele was truly mixed which was great.
My only criticism would be that the indoor pool should be reserved at certain times as adult only. The layout is definitely for relaxation but invariably it was being used by young teenagers- I don't object to that- but not all the time.
We had a fabulous time and I would certainly consider a return to the hotel and this wonderful area.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank your sincerely for your most fabulous review. We are thrilled at your experience of Lacroma and the whole team finds it immensely motivating We have noted a few details we should improve upon as regards to the swimming pool. . Thank you for choosing Lacroma and thank you on your kind words. Maybe you will come and visit us again? Please let us know if we can be of any help when the time comes.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Comfortable beds, immaculate rooms. Friendly staff. Amazing sunset views from the bar in the evening. Great breakfast. Plenty of sun beds available around pool area. Did not use the bus to the old town, got taxi instead, €10 euro. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
Greeting from Lacroma to Ireland! Great review and great to hear of you positive experience of Lacroma. We are sure the readers will find your review very helpful and the whole Lacroma team finds it as a great motivation to continue doing their best in providing our dear guests a memorable experience.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel enhances the experience of traveling in Croatia - well appointed, good views, nice rooms. All the amenities a traveler wants are there - terrace with amazing views, swimming pool, good food both in the cafe and in the restaurant, gracious service. The best way to wind up a busy day is to watch the sunset on the terrace, while listening to the live band playing covers. This hotel is preferred by tour groups -it can be somewhat crowded at breakfast, so plan accordingly.
The only drawback of Lacroma is that it is far away ( not within walking distance) from the Old Town. There is a bus service, but at times the buses can be very crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europeanbabeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much on a most encouraging and motivating review. It “enhances” our day to read of such positive experience from our guests. We discuss our guests’ reviews daily with our management and staff and it means a great deal to all of us to have our guests’ appreciation. Yes, as you kindly point out we are a large hotel and even in the high season have a few groups in house so to avoid busy times for breakfast it is best to come a little later when most of the groups have left for the day on tours. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to greet you in Lacroma on another occasion for some more unwinding on the terrace with sunsets and music playing in the background.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum, Mugla, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rooms restaurant and facilities more than 4 * hotel ..I stayed 4 nights with my wife..Hotel is not in centre of Dubrovnik..You have to catch bus or taxi to go new city or old city..But the food service and rooms are good..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umut U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you very much on a great review. We are so happy to read of your positive experience of Lacroma and thank you for sharing it on line.
Yours sincerely

Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing