We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We made the right choice right with this one, the hotel is great. Normally we are put off by staying in a big hotel but although the hotel was full when we were there you couldn't tell at all. There was a real feel of tranquility and peace and quiet. Great for chilling out. Rooms were fantastic, we were upgraded to a 2-floor suite which was incredible. We paid extra for a sea view room which was well well worth it - great to sit on the balcony and watch the sun go down. The service and staff are great - very happy to advise and give recommendations for different restaurants and things to do. The spa was a great addition, we enjoyed a couples massage which was fantastic. I didnt think the food was great, bed and breakfast is sufficient, there are nicer places to explore to to have dinner. Location is fine, beaches in Croatia are stones anyway so we preferred to stay by the pool or catch the bus into town to look at the sights. Dubrovnik is a beautiful city and there is lots to see and do (boat trip recommended and city walls recommended too) - the bus runs extremely regularly and on time too so nothing to complain about there. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much on a great review. We are so pleased you have found Lacroma as a place for “chilling out” and our staff “great”. Great to read of your fantastic experience of our Spa and treatments there and all other great compliments in your review. Thank you for recommending us. Recommendations by our dear guests are not only valuable to us as a hotel but they also give extra motivation to our dedicated staff. Looking forward to greeting you again on some other occasion we remain,

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Only started this review with that title, because so often I wished I had taken my own.

It is difficult to say anything negative about the hotel. I enjoyed everything about it, from the spacious rooms and public spaces, the food and the swimming pool and spa facilities. The room was large and well equipped and the beds and yes the pillows were very comfortable.

The dining room was very large and because of the time of year sometimes very empty, but the buffet style food was still plentiful and varied. There was something to suit everyone.

The staff were helpful,friendly and unobtrusive.

Although quite a way from the old city the buses are frequent and the stop very near the hotel. The hotel sits in a vast complex, which contains shops and cafes, some of which were open, but we did not discover them until the day we were leaving.

Dubrovnik is a beautiful city at any time of the year and in some ways, although we had some rain the lack of crowds compensated for the damp.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma. It is great to read of your experience of staying with us. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay in Lacroma and Dubrovnik. Thank you for your recommendations and compliments and we look forward to seeing you again?! Until such opportunity, we remain,

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stayed in room number 2034
we have only just came back after spending three night at this hotel.
This is truly a 4 star hotel with 5 star service . As i said we spend three nights here,when we arrive the reception staff were very helpful and polite. Their english might not be 5 star but their mannerism was exceptionally high.Always smiling and willing to help. We were only promised one day bus pass to the city center but when we arrive the hotel did not had any one day pass available so they decided to give us three day bus pass instead at no extra charge.
we wanted to go and eat outside as some of the reviews were not very appealing, but i can only say one thing and that in this hotel food is exceptionally superb and reasonably priced . You are actually spoiled for choices so much to pick from. we also found room rooms were comfortable and beds were huge and comfortable. internet facilities in the rooms and in the lobby is very good.Try hotels own brand of hotel house red it is really value for money.
Well what can i say people who have rated this hotel as average are either trying to discourage people from staying at this hotel or someone has paid them to comment only negative reviews. people who have rated this hotel as average needs to have their head examine.
Someone here has commented about some brewery just outside hotel about 50 meter away that the food there was really good well please do not waste your money it is crap apart from the building there is nothing to look for.
Finally our thanks to all the staff in dining area MR Luka at the bar at night and the lady and gentleman manager at reception that we found very friendly and helpful. Keep the good work.

Room Tip: try and pick room with sea view really nice but other rooms were just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anilHarrowMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks and warm greetings from all of us in Lacroma. We have read your great comments on line and have passed on your compliments to our staff. Thank you for your kind words they mean a great deal to all of us. We are absolutely thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities Lacroma has to offer. It will be our pleasure to greet you again. If you ever plan to come and visit Dubrovnik again, please feel free to contact us. We will be only too glad to be able to assist you in any way.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My first impression of this hotel wasn't the best. Unfortunately I arrived just after a large coach party so it took ages to check in. Then I found I had been allocated a room at the back of the hotel facing the car park, when I had requested and paid for a sea view. So the first 24 hours were spend going back and forwards to reception to remind them I wanted to be moved. This was worth it in the end because I was moved to a room on the ground floor with it's own patio and a spectacular sea view..

The hotel is a modern contemporary design with high quality materials used throughout the interior and in the hotel grounds. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very spacious with nice furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Although I didn't eat any main meals in the hotel, the buffet breakfast was very nice with a huge range to choose from. Althought the hotel was full, I never felt that it was overcrowded.

The hotel is about 10 minutes by bus from Dubrovnik old town and the buses operate a regular schedule into the early hours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guests,
We apologise for misunderstanding at your arrival to Lacroma. Since we do not have your full name we could not check our system for details to be able to inform you in more detail of the circumstances under which the misundestanding with your room type has occurred under. We are pleased you were allocated a better room the next day of your stay and are happy you have enjoyed the view from the balcony.
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay in Lacroma on line and we hope to be able to greet you again on some other occasion without hindrance.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Reasonable priced hotel located a bit further from the historical part of Dubrovnik. The distance however is not an issue (10 min with a car).
The staff was very kind and helpful, rooms were quite spacious, very comfortable and some of them with a beautiful sea view. The breakfast was in form of buffet with a wide selection of food and beverages.
Unfortunately there wasn't enough time to try all hotel's facilities but let's leave this for future visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Srdačan pozdrav iz Lacrome! Many thanks on your most kind review. We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and most of all thank you for complementing our staff, our facilities and yes, the views from Lacroma are breath taking! We hope to be able to greet you again in Lacroma soon. It will be our pleasure to assist you in your accommodation arrangements.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My first impression of the hotel was excellent. Check-in was fast and accurate, but after that everything started to ruin my first impression. After check in i was escorted to the elevator by the bell boy which was a 55 year old guy by my estimation. Nothing against his age but his body language was like"i hate this and i don't wanna do this but my boss is here so i'm doing it". After that i came to my floor and had some problem of finding the room. When i found it i was pleased with the room. It was big and clean with all necessary things. Bed was excellent one of the best i slept on, but pillows were horrible. I put 4 of them under my head but they were so soft that i had a feeling i have none.
Service in the bar and restaurant is bad. In lobby bar i drank around 10 whiskeys and every time i ordered with one ice cube and i get glass full of ice. Than i asked what wine they have but the waiter didn't know so i asked for wine list but she brought her colleague instead. Well he knew only two wines on the list so i took one of those two cuz i was pissed already. Also they were very slow and looked uninterested for their job with the body language of i hate this.

Breakfast is very nive with wide choice. But again the enthusiasm goes down when a waiter comes to u with a look of a zombie and i hate this stance and ask u: u want some coffee sounding like he is on death row.

All of these ppl are 45+. Maybe this is a thing of seasonality but if not then this hotel have big problems with this. Nothing against their age but i would like to see a smile or some ethusiasm in what are they doing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grgaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay in Lacroma on line. We are sincerely sorry you did not altogether enjoy your stay with us. Yes, indeed in the winter months our permanent employees some of whom are working during the summer in our other four properties on Babin kuk come and work in Lacroma. Apologies if they did not show appropriate enthusiasm and left an impression that they were not interested in the guests or their needs and we have already taken actions to relay the message and emphasise to all our employees how important it is to always maintain the level of service we expect for our valued guests.
We are sorry you did not like the pillows and we hope that you took advantage of choice of one of the three alternative pillows which we have on our pillow menu in all the rooms. Our apologies once again for any lack of service offered to you during your recent stay in Lacroma. We hope to be able to improve on all of the aspects you have mentioned on your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I came in beggining of November. In my room was so cold that I almost wanted to cry. Last day I slept in socks.
Room was ok, pretty large bedroom but with no view. Later someone told me that just 30% of rooms have sea view.
Stuff are too slow, we had to wait for waiter for 20 minutes and the receptionist was the winner! I wanted to pay my bill about 11:30 pm, because my plane was really early in the morning. And he said I cannot pay my bill, because his computer is closed. Hm, I asked what should I do? And he answered, I don't know, it is not my problem!
Breakfast was good, despite poor choice of juices, not natural, too sweet. Also in the restaurant, my friend asked for a fork and knife, and waiter told her to sit somewhere where are fork and knife, despite she wanted to sit with her friends.
Maybe stuff is different in the summer, but now I am not satisfied with almost noone.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank snegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guests,
We are sincerely sorry you have not enjoyed your stay in Lacroma to the full. We apologise for any inappropriate services provided to you and we thank you for your kind words regarding the food. As for the room structure in Lacroma we have several options our guests can choose from. Some prefer to book standard rooms, some rooms with balcony, some with sea view and some our suites. All the rooms are furnished in the same way the difference is only in location, view and size. At the time you were staying in Lacroma the weather in Dubrovnik was exceptionally warm. Daily temperatures were running up to 24 degrees and most of the guests were requesting air conditioning in their rooms. As you can appreciate, it is impossible to heat and cool the rooms at the same time, but the AC control panel in the room enables our guests to switch the AC off if the temperature runs too low. We are sincerely sorry we were not able to discuss these matters with you during your stay since we believe we could have resolved most of them to your satisfaction.
Once again, our sincere apologies and we hope that we will have a chance of greeting you again in Lacroma when you will enjoy your stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $100 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing