We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More misses than hits; room to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More misses than hits; room to improve”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Im not a complainer with ridiculous expectations. I am happy to overlook most things. HOWEVER

1. pillow menu for show only and does not deliver - called for pillows at midday, received at midnight

2. Housekeeping substandard - glasses not replaced, taken away only

3. We used the fridge for our own drinks but housekeeping removed them, left them outside so they were warm when we wanted them, then placed a stapled paper security seal as if to stop us from using it

4. Am pregnant so bought a mojito mocktail but they refused to charge me for a non alcoholic mocktail which they have on the menu

5. Reception always busy with big groups therefore unable to answer calls from the room efficiently. I found it was easier to just go to reception myself to get things addressed

6. lunch menu - what you order is not what you get, crumbed chicken had no cheese and came with no salad

Positives: the pool was clean, the room was modern and nice, amenities nice, free wifi in the rooms, nice views of the bay from our room, pebbled beach is beautiful as well and you can lie on the lounges for free from the presidents hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chianti21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your recent experience of Lacroma. We have picked up on all of your points raised and will do our best to improve on all of them. We hope that the negative issues you have mentioned in your review did not prevent you from enjoying your stay in Dubrovnik and the facilities in Lacroma.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    583
    124
    21
    14
See reviews for
314
782
71
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we have stayed twice this year and have found staff very friendly it was nice to be welcomed back again
staff in reception were great and petra was lovely
dinning room staff and managers were lovely and waiting staff were exellent
monica and girls in spa were super and we will be going back next year
weather could have been better but we cant help that

Room Tip: the view on to the sea was lovely rooms 4056
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma and thank you very much for coming back! It was great to be able to greet you again and many thanks on your kind words and compliments. We are looking forward to greeting you again in Lacroma. If you need any assistance with your travel plans let us know if we can be of any help. Greetings from Petra all Reception staff, our Spa therapists, Monika, restaurant staff and the rest of the team. We will try and fix the weather next time!

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

There is something missing with this hotel. Sure the facilities are great & the hotel is modern. I should have realized something wasn't right when I called reception a number of times throughout the day & often dialled out without a reply. When I finally get through & ask for anything, they would then make me call again on another number for room service or housekeeping even though the in room information said to call the central phone line no #100. They boast 2 large pools but I would suggest making the outdoor pool heated so that people can actually use it. The location is a bit out of town but there is a local bus #6 that runs regularly. The only problem is that they have not built a pedestrian walkway to get to the main
road do you do risk getting run over to commute.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yoda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not altogether enjoy your recent stay in Lacroma. We will look into the problem with our switchboard since we believe there has been some problem with the signal the telephone exchange is giving to the incoming calls. When the line is busy it still gives a ringing sound and hence the caller is under impression there is no response. We apologise for any inconvenience this technical glitch has caused. We are also concerned and surprised regarding your comment on the pedestrian walkway since there is both one on the left and the right side of the road leading to the main road above the hotel and towards the local bus station. Probably we have misunderstood which main road you are referring to.
Thank you for your kind comments on hotel facilities and thank you for choosing Lacroma.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed as a tour manager with a group. we arrived very late - almost morning, everything was ready for us, the recepcionist was very helpful, very polite. Breakfast was very good, big choice of food, again, very good service. rooms are big, clean. The hotel is very big, and sometimes you have to walk in order to get to the place you need - the dinning room is alittle far away from the rooms.
the hotel is not close to the historical center, so the best if you come alone, is to take a car.
airconditioned,there is pool if you have time...and all the comlex is realy beautiful!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liebe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks on your great review. We are very happy you have found Lacroma a great place to stay! Your professional opinion is particularly valuable since in your work you have an opportunity to stay in many properties. Thank you again and we look forward to greeting you in Lacroma on some other occasion.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

stayed for 4 days for conference. hotel is about 5-10 minutes from old town by taxi (100-150kuna/$15) or bus 15 minutes (bus #6 leaves behind hotel, easy - 15 kuna, $3AU/USD). new feel to hotel in nice conditions and gardens. very friendly service staff. our room was the furtherest down corridor which was a small trek if you are an older person. rooms nice, and have free wireless internet. hotel is isolated so now issues with noise. breakfast buffet as extensive as i have ever had. several shops on grounds include newsagent/snacks in lobby, as well as bar and so forth. if visiting as tourist, this is a small distance (but not complicated) from stari grad or old town. would happily stay again if myself or wife, but would consider a bit closer to old town if had kids and bothered by taking bus/taxi regularly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieHrvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for a great review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we do hope to greet you again in Lacroma on some other occasion.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I decided to spend a few extra Kuna and try out the smart Langusto restaurant.

My package was half board and the main restaurant is a very large and somewhat noisy series of self service buffets with a huge variety of choices and one really can have as much as you can eat. The quality is pretty good too for mass produced food which might be feeding a several hundred people in an evening, but I wanted to see what the hotel’s a la carte service might manage.

The Langusto is on a separate floor above the main dining room. The indoor part of the restaurant with it’s lobster tanks was empty and there were just a few tables occupied outside on the moonlight terrace. The tables were well spaced and there was a very tranquil atmosphere outside with tasteful background music offering privacy for most conversations.

Service very languid, perfect for a date or long evening of conversations with friends, Less appropriate for single diners and I did feel a bit abandoned at times, despite there being two staff on duty but generally the terrace was entirely unattended except for when they were delivering or collecting dishes. It made it hard to just catch someone’s eye, but I guess none of us could have felt intruded upon or hurried!

After choosing from a suprisingly limited menu, I chose the set four course menu at 150 HRK I was brought a basket of home made breads: an olive bread and walnut bread served with a lemon butter. The were both very nice and the butter complemented each style well.

My appetizer was a trio of dishes: finely sliced fennel and anchovies, a single prawn on a bed of lettuce and something else I wasn’t too clear about. Lighting wasn’t great (candle light) and it wasn’t particularly distinctive.

The next course was described as a "Delicate Fish consommé" which I thought was perhaps a euphemism for under seasoned fish stock with julienne of fresh vegetables which had been cut far too long to comfortably eat and I didn’t feel inclined to try and take a knife and fork to my soup! This might be something the chef would like to consider in future.

The main course was a nice crispy sea bass fillet on a bed of spinach and squid (a bit tough). This dish was both rich and flavoursome but I could find no sign of the advertised accompanying capers.

Dessert: ricotta cheesecake had everything thrown artfully at it, a toffee sauce with highly acid blackberries, a fresh fig, a scattering of sultanas, a few blueberries in creme anglaise, the baked cheesecake was garnished with a mint leaf. Visually it looked impressive, but lacked cohesion and left one feeling a bit gaudy, and unimpressed. The flavours didn’t quite come together for me.

I thought the meal represented value for money and provided an interesting alternative to the main dining room, but one visit there was probably enough for me to go alon e.

My overall impression of the staff at the hotel is generally very high. Whilst it’s true some of the male waiters might have smiled a bit more, this is the Balkans after all and smiling isn’t central to the culture here as it is in other parts of the world. But leaving that aside “Your welcome" was the most commonly used English phrase, I heard virtually all the time. I got the distinct impression that the staff appreciated that we were on holiday and wanted you to have a good time, enjoy yourself and rate the hotel well on TripAdvisor! The Lacroma is currently 7th in the league of hotels on Tripadvisor, which for a place this size, is I think damn good and well deserved.

My major criticism is that the Wifi coverage is very poor and erratic. Even 3G was poor.
As somewhere which sets itself as a major international convention centre this is something that needs attention as in this day and age, fast, efficient an reliable Wifi is necessary. It was good to find it was free though! Thanks for that!

Room Tip: Try and avoid the 5th floor as apparently the aircon isn't so good up there, I had the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guests,
It was a pleasure to read you in depth report on Langusto restaurant. Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of dining in Lacgusto, thank you for your complements and thank you for pointing out to us certain areas where we can do better. We are also pleased that our staff were helpful and professional in performing their duties with some exceptions we will most certainly look into. As much as we value all our guests’ comments on Trip advisor and other numerous on line facilities we strive to make our guests’ stay enjoyable and provide them with the best possible service because we value their custom and respect their choice. From a wide variety of establishments our guests could choose from, their choice is Valamar and Lacroma and we take this trust they put into us most seriously. As our core business is hospitality this is our priority as you have kindly pointed out in your review “…staff appreciated that we were on holiday and wanted you to have a good time….”.
Thank you again for a delightful, informative, sincere and most objective review and we hope to be able to greet you again on some other occasion in Lacroma or some other Valamar property. It will be our honour and pleasure. We promise to fix the WiFi promptly!

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 7 nights on a Newmarket Holiday. Room was excellent ( 4th floor with balcony and side seaview) and very quiet.
The room had tea/coffee making, iron & ironing board, good airconditioning, mini bar, free safe, & comfortable bed.
Staff were on the whole very good, although some of the waiters were a little off-hand.
Pool area was good, with plenty of sunbeds, umberellas & towels. Pools were not heated.
Didn't use the Spa but looked good and quite reasonably priced for standard of hotel.
We were half-board, with a good selection of food, although the carvery meat ran out quite early and the food in general could have been hotter. We ate outside most evenings as the weather was so good, waiter there very friendly & efficient. The hotel had very acceptable wine for 65kona a bottle (£7).
Had drinks on the terrace where there was usually live music. (The last evening was a very good tenor)
Watched the sunset from the terrace of the President Hotel.
Used the local bus into Dubrovnik (12kona each way, buy your tickets at the tobacconist in the hotel)
We also discovered on the last day a lovely walk to Lapad Bay (turn right at the main road, follow road to left and down steps to paved walkway to Bay) which takes about 30 minutes.
All in all an excellent holiday. Loved the old town, where we walked the walls, took a boat trip around harbour and island, bought a museum pass (70Kona each which covered 4 museums and lasted for 7 days) Also went on organised trip with our tour operator to Mostar, Montengro (both excellent value) and tour of Dubrovnik (poor value)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cullercoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you sincerely! Very complementary, informative and objective review with lots of valuable information for any guests planning to visit Dubrovnik. We are very proud you have chosen Lacroma for you stay and are delighted your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for complementing our facilities.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#18 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 67 in Dubrovnik
756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Property: Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing