We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask For Tap Water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The best thing about the Lacroma was the food (buffet breakfast and dinner). The quality was excellent, with a very wide choice and all freshly prepared. Our room was a good size and, like the rest of the hotel, spotless. There were two large swimming pools, indoor and outdoor, with plenty of sun bed space, and the large restaurant had a pleasant outdoor terrace with a view over the sea.

But we never really felt comfortable. The hotel is big and modern, with wide areas of glass and polished stone, which give it a slightly clinical feel. It has large meeting facilities and seems to be ideal for the conference guest. As tourists though, we found a generally businesslike and impersonal atmosphere throughout the hotel and this reduced our enjoyment by quite a bit.

The front of house staff were polite, but had an unhelpful habit of answering only the direct question put to them. Just one example was when I asked where the main shops were. The lady said, correctly, that they were away off down the hill, but she didn‘t tell me that there was a mini-mall of small shops and bar/ restaurants tucked away behind the hotel. We had to find this and other things out for ourselves.

The impersonal atmosphere was the same in the restaurant ,where we were greeted nicely at the door and the service was efficient but the waiters and waitresses were, with one pleasant exception, brisk and unsmiling - communicating in the fewest possible words. Some might say that this was just natural Croatian reserve, but we have stayed elsewhere in Croatia and not had this experience.

Cards in our room asked us to think about not having our towels or bedding changed too often. We were happy to help. They told us about the hotel’s passionate interest in protecting the environment and conserving water, so they must know about the impact of the bottled water industry.

One card said “We are proud of meeting your requests and contributing to environmental protection at the same time.” So why did they repeatedly refuse to meet our request for tap water at dinner? We want to protect the environment too! If you don’t want to go thirsty, it’s about £3 (23 Kuna) for a 750ml bottle of chilled water.

They told us that the tap water was safe to drink, so it’s hard to avoid the conclusion that the management only care about the environment when they are saving on washing costs. When it comes to making money on bottled water, they can apparently look the other way.

The Lacroma has some good points, especially the food, and with a warmer/more helpful atmosphere and less of a double standard on the environment we would think about returning, but not as things are.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fickle-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guests,
We thank you for your very sincere review regarding the experience during your stay in Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik. As much as we are thrilled with your compliments we have also taken seriously your remarks regarding the friendliness of our staff and your comments regarding tap water. As you might appreciate the modern design of the hotel is something we cannot influence much at this stage although we do take care that the clean glass and stone feel of the place is complemented by plants and furniture to make it more comfortable and appealing.
I am positive we can successfully resolve a few negative issues you have pointed out for the benefit of our guests and are looking forward to the opportunity of greeting you again in Valamar Lacroma or some other Valamar hotel in future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was an amazing place to stay - large pool outside and indoor (did not get to use it only stayed one day), gym, great staff and lots of them, great rooms and the best breakfast in the world! I had seven different courses in one sitting!

Room Tip: Seaview would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable experience and that you rate our breakfast as the "Best in the World" :-) !
When you decide to come and visit us next time please let us know and we will make sure your next stay is just as pleasant as this one.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

A 5 star quality hotel. Room was perfect, big enough. First floor with a terrace. If you don't like the pillows, there is a menu card of pillows in the room from which you can choose your kind of pillow. Internet was free.The only missing thing was disposible slippers. Excellent breakfast. Dinner was also very good for me.Open buffet was rich. 4-5 different fish food every evening. Dinner was included in our package. If yo stay b&b, than you pay about 25 Euros for dinner. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Esspecially Franka at the reception was our favorite. We didn't use spa and the pool, but they looked very good. The beach was 10 min. walking away. The water was very clean but we were not very happy with the beach. There are many other beaches in and around Dubrovnik. Near Stari Grad, Lopud Island, Cavtat etc. We enjoyed our vacation in Dubrovnik very much, couldn't get enough in 7 days, will visit again and stay for sure in Valamar Lacroma.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guests,
It is reviews like yours that make our work and efforts worthwhile! Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for being our valued guests. When you come and stay with us next time, please let us know and we will make sure slippers will be waiting in your room.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

I rate this hotel a four out of five. It was almost a five out of five but they let us down a little bit. I will start with the bad part while I have your attention and then go on to list the many high-quality elements.

We booked a double sea view room with the hotel and when we arrived we were given a lovely room (4072) which had a gorgeous view and an absolutely huge double bed. We were delighted. However, that evening we were not so delighted when we could not get any sleep. The room we were placed in was directly above the hotel reception area, foyer and lobby bar and boy oh boy was it a noisy place to be. On our first night, there was a piano playing in the bar and eventually I had to ring reception at 10 past midnight to see when it would stop. The man on reception was very pleasant and he said it would stop immediately. We had been awake and travelling since 4am and were very much looking forward to a good sleep on our first night. Even after the piano stopped it was not to be. It has been said many times here before that the hotel is a business orientated hotel, catering for conferences. There is a lot of coming and going at all hours and because of where room 4072 is situated it soon became clear we were going to get disturbed continually. At 1.15am the noise in the hotel foyer with large groups of conference attendees chatting and laughing was just too much for us to bear and I had to get dressed and go to reception to complain. The man on reception was friendly and he said he could not move us that night but that they would see to it for us in the morning. We did end up getting a little bit of sleep that night, but we were awake for almost 24 hours before we go the chance to settle. It was not a good start to our trip.

The next morning after breakfast we went to reception to see if they had another room for us and they said they would have one in the afternoon. When we went back in the afternoon they had a room for us and we had to pack all of our things again and move rooms, with no offer of any help. When we did move room it was to room 2072. Unfortunately this was 2 floors down on the original and the view was not as good and the balcony was about half the size. I would have been happy enough with the view and balcony if I could get sleep but what I was most annoyed about was that it was a twin room. I went straight back to reception to say I had booked a double room but the particular fellow I was dealing with (Toni as far as I remember) said that it was a twin or nothing. He didn’t even offer to put us into a double when one would become available. I was really annoyed and somewhat upset about this. The twin beds were nowhere near as big as the double we had in 4072, and there was a 2 inch gap between the beds which could not have been pushed any closer together. Simply not good for a young married couple. The whole saga spoiled the first 2 days of our trip.

I have to say apart from the problems outlined above the hotel for us had no other faults and I really was most impressed by all of it. Our first impressions of the hotel were great. It is new, stylish, modern, contemporary and spotlessly clean everywhere. It is a sophisticated hotel and the clientele were quiet and respectful. I really think it could well be higher up the trip advisor list than number 12. We saw quite a few hotels in the area while we were out and about and none appeared to as impressive as this one.

The rooms were large and bright, with views across to the Elafiti Islands. The sunsets to be observed from the room were simply stunning. The rooms were very well equipped with lots of luxuries such as flat screen TV with plenty of channel choice, ironing board and iron, tea/coffee making, shower and bath, glasses to drink from and a fridge/mini-bar. The rooms were cosy and comfortable and I felt very much at home here. Room 2072 was also reasonably quiet and we did eventually sleep well in the somewhat comfortable twin beds. The room was very well serviced by 2 lovely maids who never disturbed us once throughout the trip.

We originally booked B&B but we upgraded to half board and we were just so glad that we did. I thought breakfast was good, with plenty of choice but dinner was even better. The quality of the food was spectacular, fresh fruit every day, beautiful salads, fresh vegetables and good quality meats and fish. It was delicious every single time we ate in it and it was amongst the best hotel food we have ever experienced. The staff in the restaurant were second to none. They made us feel so welcome and they were so friendly. They were also extremely efficient in their work and the place ticks along like clockwork. I was so impressed. The terrace for eating outdoors is beautiful, with beautiful sunsets over the ocean. It was a magical place to eat every evening and sometimes there was a traditional Croatian band playing live in the background. The wines on offer were good value and delicious too.

The outdoor pool at the hotel is a haven. The views from the sun loungers over the mountains and ocean are beautiful. It was quiet by the pool – there were no rowdy children or families. There were always plenty of sun beds no matter what time of the day. The sun loungers were really comfortable and they had a little panel above the head area so you could cover your head and read a book without the sun blinding you which was clever. There was also 1 umbrella on offer for every 2 beds, so no fighting for cover from the midday sun. The indoor pool was situated right beside the outdoor pool which was a great idea. If the sun is too hot you can slope indoors and take a break, on a lounger beside the indoor pool. There is a towel service here as well which is excellent so don’t worry about packing your own beach towel. The pool bar had a good choice of snacks and drinks and again the staff were excellent. The pool was spotless and it was a lovely depth for swimming. There were speakers by the pool and there was music played each day but it was decent music at a nice level for listening to in the background. There was no poolside entertainment which was a big positive for us. We were able to sunbathe all day long with no one to hassle us.

The beach is about 10 minutes away at the President hotel. Go straight through the President hotel foyer and take the lift from floor 7 down to the beach. The beach was very busy during our stay and although we are beach people on this particular occasion we preferred the atmosphere by the pool. The sea was quite choppy and not ideal for swimming in, but it was crystal clear. There is a beach bar by the beach offering lots of choice of food and drinks. The beach is shingle so make sure to take good beach shoes for getting in and out of the sea. There is also a towel service down there. The beach is kept really clean and the sun beds and brollies are free to use by hotel guests’. There are toilets in the beach bar. The scenery is stunning by the beach and there are plenty of ships going by.

There is not a huge amount to do in the immediate surrounding area which suited us beautifully but it might not suit everyone. The hotel is situated on the Babin Kuk Peninsula which is reasonably underdeveloped as yet. There are a smattering of Valamar Hotels all only a few hundred metres apart. They are all joined by a lovely stone pathway which gives a feel of a small village. The facilities of any of these other hotels can be utilized while staying at the Valamar Lacroma Resort. There is a restaurant directly behind the hotel called the Komin and a little mall area behind the hotel and to the right for a few hundred metres which has bars, shops and restaurants. There are lots of roads and paths to walk around the Peninsula if you fancy exploring. On the road to the Lapad beach resort, there is another restaurant which is situated right down by the sea and has fantastic views over the ocean. It takes about 20-30 minutes to walk from the hotel to the Lapad Beach Resort which is a lovely pedestrian promenade with bars and restaurants leading directly to Lapad beach. Gruz Harbour is also within walking distance coming directly out the front of the hotel, up the little hill and a 20-30 minute walk to the left, down the large hill will take you towards the harbour which is well worth a visit and has plenty to see and do. Trips to the Islands can be purchased at the harbour and at Lapad Beach resort for about half the price of those offered by the companies in the hotel.

There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and a bus stop behind the hotel. The buses run every 10-15 minutes and a journey to Pile Gate @ Old Town takes about 15 minutes and costs 12 Kuna per single journey per person on the bus. At Pile Gate a ticket for the return journey can be purchased for 10 Kuna per person from the Kiosk on the street. The buses can get a little crowded, but they are much cheaper than taxis.

Croatia is a stunning holiday destination, with mountains, lush greenery, turquoise waters and plenty to see and do. It is an unspoilt gem without concrete hotels everywhere and was a safe, relaxing place to holiday. Croatian people are warm and friendly and welcoming.

Had it not been for the problem with the noisy room and twin beds situation this would literally have been the perfect hotel break for us. Thanks so much Valamar Lacroma Resort, but you need to do just a little better next time.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4072 if you like to sleep well @ night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TAmember13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Madam,
Firstly, our sincere thanks on your kind words regarding services and facilities in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of them and that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable.
We are also sincerely sorry about your experience with noise below your room and having to change your accommodation during your stay with us.
Our Receptionist Toni is an experienced member of staff and he should have provided you with more accurate information regarding the accommodation situation in the hotel during your stay. I am sure that the lack of attentiveness on his behalf was more due to possible language barrier and the fact that at the time the hotel was so full and no double bedded rooms were available, rather than the lack of his willingness to assist you.
Should you decide to come and stay with us again, we would be thrilled to have an opportunity to greet you again and make sure your stay is 100% enjoyable.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Summary:
Very beautiful and modern hotel 10 minutes drive from old Dubrovnik walls. Excelent buffet and indoor/outdoor pools, but over-fluffy matresses and pillows didn't favour a good night sleep. I would try somewhere else, next time.

Detailed experience:
Site - very modern and beatiful, spacious grounds and an enjoyable garden. Large indoor and outdoor pools;
F&B - Excellent buffet (variety and quality) and the desserts were something unusually good (4 tables of dessert buffet, most of them very tasty);
Service - Nice and helpful staff;
Rooms - Spacious and stylish, but... For me, sleep quality is very important and this room didn't provide. Although very quiet and climatized, the negative points are related with the matress and the pillows (too soft - I woke up before my alarm due to back pain). In addition, the "duvet trend" is something that I oppose completely. No sheets, no blankets, only the duvet... Either you sweat with it, either you feel cold without it. I ended up taking the darned duvet out of its cover and using the cover as a sheet. Plus, the bathroom had no bidet. I am aware this is something which is regarded as obsolet for some people/cultures, but not for mine!

Thus, If I ever go back to Dubrovnik, I would be inclined to try other places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortugueseTurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guests,
Many thanks on your complements regarding our hotel facilities. We are very sorry your sleep experience was not as enjoyable particularly in the view that we offer pillow menu option to your guests free of charge in case they find our feather pillows too soft.
We hope that this inconvenience did not prevent you from enjoying your stay with us and we would be glad to greet you sometime again in future. Should you decide to put your trust in us again, we would make sure your bedding is prepared as per your requirements.
Yours sincerely
Ivan J. Karlić
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We visited Dubrovnik in May 2011 and chose to stay in Valamar Lacroma Resort because of a business conference. The accomodations were wonderful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The views of the ocean are spectacular! The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is an inexpensive public bus that makes frequent stops outside the hotel and provides quick transportation (10-15 minutes) to the old city. The beach is only a 10 minute walk from hotel. We recommend skipping the hotels near the old city and staying at the Valamar Lacroma Resort instead.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ_traveller_oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivankarlic, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time to write of your experience @ Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik. We are verly pleased and proud of your comlemets and are looking forward to having an opprotunity of greeting you on your next visit to Dubrovnik.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here 5 nights, and it was a great holiday and hotel. The hotel is fairly large, with a good sized pool indoors and out, there is also a gym, and a very nice relaxation/ spa area, with saunas, mist rooms, jacuzzis, massage rooms, and the 'Ice bucket' shower. ( I had a good a few times, most invigorating). The breakfast is very good, with plenty of selection, there was also an a la carte restaurant, which we didnt use, as we ate in the old town, which is about a 12-15minute bus ride away or in a great local restaurant. Buses run every 10 minutes or so, so its very handy and cheap. The room was very spacious with comfortable beds, and we found the hotel to be very quiet, we also had a nice private balcony area, with a sea view, which gave us some amazing sunsets. The staff at reception where very good and polite, as where the breakfast staff, the staff in the bars by the pool, where a little slow in taking orders and bringing the orders out, but other than that the hotel is a good place to stay, and very reasonalby priced. The beach is again around 12-15 minutes walk away, if you want a change of scenery, and there are some shops close by in a little mall/arcade in the Babin Kuk area and in here is a great little little Croatian restaurant called Konoba Pivnica Dubrava, if you sit out the back there is a massive grill/ oven where they cook meats and seafood on, it really is worth a visit and do try and sit out the back, I can recommend the local sausages and there was a chicken dish which was very good also, but my memory fails me for its name.. The hotel is good I believe we did go for a room upgrade to have the sea view and maybe reading some other reviews about noisy confrences this maybe a good bet, but we never had any problems with noise ourselves. Overall it was a very good hotel.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamo_The_Tank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.2 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#21 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $110 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dubrovnik's flagship business and leisure hotel Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel, the proud recipient of the prestigious 2013, 2015 and 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Hotel" and the 2014, 2015 and the 2016 World Travel Award as "Croatia's Leading Business Hotel", is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing