We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible end to our holiday cos of the owner”
Review of Villa Katarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Katarina
Ranked #238 of 516 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my family booked 6 rooms out. I was travelling with my husband and our two young child. Our childen are 2 and 3. We loved the apartments and were great us however after wheb we checked out and went back for our bags the ower become aggressive at me. Told me that I had destoryed his leather sofa bed. When I ask him to show me. He showed me the sofa with a few wee marks off the kids having sun cream. When I explained how to clean it of . He started to stay we destoryed it and must pay him 1200 euro for a replacement. I explain that it was the kids and this would just clean off. He would not accept this a told that I must pay. I say you can not stop to young child making a few marks and he shouldn't have let us stay knowing how young my child were. As everyone knows child make mark. Which can always be clean. He tried to make me paid . Which I didn't and just say you should have let children stay then.I WOULD ADVISE PEOPLE WITH SMALL CHILD NOT TO STAY HEAR. I FEEL HE WAS JUST TRYING TO CON US OUT OF MONEY. ALL BECAUSE WE LEFT THE CLEANING LADY A TIP .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jilldarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in "Dry Carob" on the 1st floor. The apartment looked the same as in the photos on the Villa Katerina website so we were pleasantly surprised. The owner, Petar, organised the taxi transfer from the airport and was at the apartment to meet us on arrival. We got there a good few hours before official check-in time but left our luggage with Petar and went off for a walk into the village of Lapad. Petar did say though that the apartment was being cleaned and it would be ready in an hour. Petar was very friendly and helpful and I didn't find his manner brusque as some reviewers have said. He showed us around the apartment and showed us how to operate the TV and air con. He also tuned in the English channels on the TV for us - although they are limited and news channels.

The quality of our apartment was excellent and although it only had a kitchenette, it was more than adequate for our purposes. The only minor point is that the Wi-Fi signal was not strong and kept dropping out. The best reception was by the TV in the lounge! The view from the balcony was stunning. Having a dip pool with a few sun loungers was handy too after a hot day walking around.

The number 5 bus stop was opposite Villa Katerina but only came every 45-55 minutes so we got the No. 6 from the village. Word of warning, this is a very busy bus so you need to have sharp elbows! Tickets into Dubronvik can be purchased from the small bus kiosk where the bus departs for Dubronvik old town. Pre-purchase from the kiosk and the ticket is 12 kunas one way instead of 15 kunas which you can pay on the bus. You can buy return tickets at the kiosk too.

The tree lined promenade leading down to the beach is very cosmopolitan and there is a wide variety of restaurants and bars. Word of warning if you fancy attempting to walk up the steps by the Hotel Kompas, don't do it when you are carrying several bags of food shopping!

I must say though that my favourite bar was the cave bar at the Hotel More (come out of Villa Katerina, turn right and it is a stone's throw on the left hand side after the bus stop). You can also walk from the promenade to the cave bar terrace which is right at the water's edge. Drinks are a little bit pricey but probably no more than London prices (the Hotel More is 5 star) but the view is stunning. Inside the cave bar is very nice too,

Another recommendation is the Atlantic Kitchen which is a short walk from Villa Katerina on the road into the village (left hand side). Do try it out if you have a chance. The food is mediterrean and cooked very well.

Also a must see is Dubronik old town. We only managed to skim the surface in a day so two days is really advisable.

All in all it was an excellent trip and we would definitely return to Villa Katerina.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlook the dip pool and do not have a sea view but I believe these are studio a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Goldengirl039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The apartment was lovely overlooking the water. The rate was also pretty low in the off season. I understand how the landlord could come off a bit abrupt but when it came down to it he was very good and kind to me. When I arrived it was just two of us young girls traveling alone and we were very lost but after ending up in a local hardware store where the owner called the landlord. The landlord personally came and picked us up and brought us to the hotel. I was so grateful and was pleasantly surprised to see how large and roomie the room was. Also they went through trouble to set up another bed in the room just for us so we could each have our own. Overall very good experience.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank BostonBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When planning our October week in Dubrovnik we decided to opt for the flexibility of an apartment. We were very pleased with our choice.
The owner, Petar, responded promptly and helpfully to all our e-mailed questions in the run-up to our holiday. He arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport and made us feel very welcome when we arrived at the Villa. The small apartment block [we were in 'Dry Carob'] was built in 2006 and is well appointed, comfortable and stylish. The free WiFi comes in handy. A nice bonus was to be brought fresh towels mid-week, which we had not expected.
The view from the south-facing balcony over Lapad Bay and beyond is gorgeous and the location is quiet. A ten minute walk brings you to a reasonable supermarket - unfortunately the return walk is uphill, but taxis are easy to find and not too expensive.
Adjacent to the supermarket is the bus stop - the number 6 runs every 10 mins and takes about 15 mins to the old city.
Within a 5 minute [flat] walk of the Villa are 3 restaurants [Eden; Atlantic and Hotel More]. Several other restaurants can be found down in Lapad.

Room Tip: All rooms face south and have similar views. Avoid the ground floor if you don't want people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliadarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here a long time so but was reading previous review and felt the need to comment! The landlord was quite abrupt with us during our stay in October 2010, however this does not take away from a lovely apartment and a wonderful place to visit. The room we booked was for three and was probably at best suited to two people as very small, however was clean and tidy when we arrived. We did get shouted at for apparently attracting a cat, which the landlord then hit with a mat! But he was always helpful with booking taxis into Dubrovnik when needed at night. It's only a short walk to the bus stop and is a good location to explore. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is located up a steep hill.
Pool was very small and out of order.
Upon arriving at the apartment there seemed to be some confusion and we discovered the owner had let another couple into the apartment, as he had not checked their details. He did sort it out quickly but we feel feel it shouldn't have happened in the first place and there were a few heart stopping moments with no apology.
Within 10 minutes of settling into the room the owner was back demanding cash payment " any day but the last day". Unfortunately when in town we realised we did not have our cards so were unable to withdraw the cash that day. The next day the owner knocked on our door at 10:45 (15 mins before checkout) and was rather rude and abrupt. He reminded us of checkout time and reminded us we had not paid him and also question our respect for him! We thought this was completely out of order, as we had the cash, we were packed and ready to go, had tidied the apartment and left it in a respectful state.
This bad attitude completely ruined our stay. He wasn't particularly warm or friendly anyway, but this really left a bad taste in our mouths.
In addition to this we were woken the night before by the owner and his wife arguing (they live in the apartment next door).
This place could have been fantastic but the owner's behaviour completely tarnished our stay in Dubrovnik and was such a sad way to end our holiday.
We Feel so bad to leave such a bad review as the apartment itself is lovely and finished to a high standard, it was just an unfortunate end and before this would have been more than happy to recommend under any other circumstance. We thought it important to let our voices be heard.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baxter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Some of the descriptions of the hotel on the web page are misleading. It is not 800m to the next bus stop but it is rather 2 km, so it takes a while to get into town. If you want to travel to one of the Elafiti Islands, this place might work as it is not that far away from the central bus stations but if you want to visit Dubrovnik, it is a bit far (also to the next bus stop). The apartment was clean and had a nice shower. It had a tiny swimming pool, which however was not working. We tried to check in before daily opening hours between 2-5 pm, which the owner did not like and he became unfriendly with us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Germansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinovic, Owner at Villa Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for the time taken to write your review.

I feel compelled to respond to the wrong data and information that has been provided in the review and point out a few corrections, as well as to help future guests understand the context of your comments:

Villa Katarina is located in Dubrovnik as can be verified on any map (street Petra Svačića 3, 20000 Dubrovnik), it is not in any outskirts but in the Lapad Bay of Dubrovnik City.

Local Bus no. 5 has a station 30 meters away from Villa Katarina and the bus no. 6 stop is 600 meters away. The ride into the Old Town (which I am assuming the reviewer refers to as "Dubrovnik") is 10-15 minutes long depending on traffic.

Our pool has been in function every day of the summer season and is open between 10h and 18h, and will remain in function until 20th of October.

Our regular check-in time is from 14h to 17h, but check-in is possible at any time. However, when a guest arrives unannounced at 06:30 in the morning and expects to be checked-in, it is a little difficult because the previous guest is still in the apartment and the check-out time is 11h. As always, we allow the guests to leave their luggage and come back at 13h or 14h when we had enough time to clean and prepare their apartment.

For your next visit we hope you will be able to stay longer than just 1 night in order to really experience the hospitality of Villa Katarina and explore different sites of Dubrovnik.

Many regards from sunny Dubrovnik,
family Martinović

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#31 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tirena Hotel
Tirena Hotel
#23 of 68 in Dubrovnik
698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#22 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Katarina

Address: Petra Svachica 3, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 516 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $52 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Katarina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing architectural structure shelters within it an oasis of peace and luxury where the style is acutely modern, but classic Dalmatian values are still maintained. Its concept combines a clear design with attention to details that cross the lines between the warmth of a home and the comfort of an elegant accommodation. Several delightful beaches, sea-side promenades, and bustling cafes are within walking distance of Villa Katarina, but its location just on the border of a green zone makes it also a place to capture moments of peace and rediscover the simple pleasures of sea, air, and time in an exclusive atmosphere of beauty. Each of the 7 self-catering apartments has floor-to-ceiling windows which lead to terraces with spectacular Adriatic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Katarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Katarina Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing