We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days in Dubrovnik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartment & Room Lukre
Ranked #9 of 180 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Five days in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Marilyn, the owner was waiting at the airport and it was about a 20 minute drive to our two bedroom apartment, just outside the ancient walls of the old city. The apartment was comfortable and within easy walking distance of the walled city with its many museums, restaurants, shops and harbour with ferries, to the nearby towns and beautiful islands. We were near a parkland area and two swimming spots, which was also very handy.
Nice terrace which has views of the city and a nice spot to have morning coffee and per-dinner drinks .... also to view the nighttime fireworks as we were there during the opening of the July festival season.

Also must mention that Marilyn and Livio are extremely helpful and caring hosts. This was particularly brought out when one of our party was injured due to a diving accident. Marilyn made a special visit to the hospital emergency to see if she could lend assistance and to make sure that things were OK.

We spent a comfortable 5 days and highly recommend the apartment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Mudra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
97
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The guest house is very near the city wall as well as the beach.The facilities of the room are well prepared and well-appointed.Moreover,the owners of the guest house are very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have just returned to Blighty after the best European Holiday ever. Never thought of Croatia as a holiday destination before - but would well recommend it to all ages from children to age'd folk.
We stayed in the Room Lukre for 5 nights & the owners Livio and Marilyn can't do enough for you to make your stay really enjoyable.
Speak with them direct and you can arrange excellent value airport transfers which are hassle free - not needing to worry which bus to catch or taxi to use.
We (my friend and I) just found everything perfect. The room has a double bed (but large - so if you were 2 ladies like us - it was no problem sharing at all) it has a mini fridge for your water, beer & Pimms ! A nice large bathroom with shower and hairdryer (and great for a changing room for privacy), air con, travel plugs, bug plugs, beach towels, bathroom towels, bottle opener, glasses, mini safe & freeview telly - yes you can still get some of those old re runs of English soaps if you can't live without them ! as well as sky news etc. and an abundance of books on Croatia and Dubrovnik.
Dubrovnik is such a lovely traditional place with great family values. Very clean and we found it so safe day and night never concerned about anyone or anything.
If you look out of the double glazed window in the room and cast your eyes to the right - you have a wonderful view of the fortress and sea view - simply stunning !
Room Lukre, is just on the door step of the old town - close enough to walk into the old town - circa 4m mins walk max (downhill) then once within the city walls - you have wall to wall cafe and restaurants - most of great value, service and choice. Some of our favourites were Lady Pi-PI (yes she does do as it sounds!) Olivia Gourmet, Dalmatino Konobo, and for Breakfast try Cele just before the clocktower.
A visit around the fortress wall is a must - but please do it first thing at 8am - if its really hot. And the great thing is that you can refill your water bottle at the fountains as its all safe drinking water.
The only thing that taints it a little is the fact that by 9am all the cruise ship passengers arrive en-mass, bus load after bus load and then the town is wall to wall people until mid afternoon.
If you want to explore - go through the Pile gates at 8am or after 4pm !
And come evening time the cafes and restuarants are bustling - the beauty is the staff dont hassle you to come in and eat - they just let you make your own choices and if you come to look at the menus they don't pounce on you !
Considering that the room is just set back from the main road - it's so quiet and peacful - no noise.
There are 2 fabulous beach coves 4-5 mins each way from the Room, if you go out the apartment block and turn left - go up the hill (all hills are steep here - bring good flat shoes !) then cross over the top of the car park and down the steps to the beachy cove - its awesome for swimming in the clear blue waters and there is always a Bar, shower and loo available.
If you go out of the room and to the right down the alley way - it takes you the other nearby cove/beach - which is also great - but more busy - where the other one is quieter - with more locals.
Very close to the Room is the Art Cafe Bar - which is ace - you sit in bath tubs using industrial cheese graters as tables - whilst drinking cocktails and chilling in the warm summer air.
You also have to check out the Buza bar (hole in the wall - not ATM!) if you can find it - it's 1 of 2 small bars right on the rock cliff face in the old town - looking out to sea. Stunning views.
I could go on and on about this wonderful place - but the icing on the cake is that the owners can orgainse personalised car day trips to the likes of Montenegro and also have a great boat which if you organise with Livio and Marilyn - can take you out for a phenomenal boat trip around the islands - stopping to swim and eat and explore in style ! Amazing Livio makes a great skipper - with all the knowledge of the area and a great tour guide.
Mayilyn and Livio are such a great couple - really easy to talk to and spend the day with and they speak the most excellent english and their only interest is making your holiday the best one ever. They also have a direct dial phone from the room to their home in case you need anything whilst you are on holiday.
I would definately return here with my family - & would like to rent the 2 bedroom apartment which they also have next door, as this would be great for our needs.
The apartment block also has an outisde terrace which is great to sit out and chill especially at Pimms O'Clock - but you have to take your own Pimms as they don't know this in Dubrovnik.... yet.
If you get chance have some of the Dalamatia ham and the Pork Shoulder - they are out of this world.
I rate this 10 out of 10 and if you stay here - you will too !
No complaints - just compliments.
Thanks guys x Polly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pollyrob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakes
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

From booking our room at room Lukre, Marilyn was most helpful with our booking and very efficient. We were met by Livio at the airport when we arrived and were taken to our lovely room, where he explained to us where to eat, things to do, nearest beaches etc... Myself and my friend really enjoyed our stay in Dubrovnik and especially staying at room Lukre where Marilyn and Livio are the most perfect hosts! The room is very nice and very close to the Pier gate of the old town which was ideally situated and also 5 minute walk to a choice of two beaches which were lovely to swim in on very hot days. We decided to book a boat trip with Livio which was great fun as it was just myself and my friend which we liked, rather than getting onto the overcrowded tourist boats. He met us at the room and took us to his boat and we spent the full day going around various islands stopping off at each of the them for a swim in the lovely Aidriatic ocean. Lunch and drinks were also included which was a special touch as we we not expecting it to be included in the very reasonable price. Livio is very knowledgable and told us all the about the islands we visited and was happy to allow us to spend as much or as little time at each island. Marilyn was kind enough in organising our boarding passes which was a great help as it meant no queuing at the airport when we were leaving. On our last day, Livio took us back to the airport via an unexpected trip up the mountain to take in the beautiful views of Dubronik and capture our last pictures of this beautiful town. This really is a special place and will highly recommend it to family and friends and will return myself next year as there are still so many things to see but we ran out of time. Thanks again Marilyn and Livio for a great stay in a beautiful country:-) you made our holiday special:-)!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9quinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Totally agree with earlier reviews, in particular JanandDan's review. Our exceptional experience started with being picked up at the airport by Marilyn, with good advice on where to go and when (to avoid the crowds), to being dropped at the bus station by Livio. Nothing was a problem for them to arrange. We loved the apartment, although it lacked a washing machine. Great location, close to both the old city and bathing beaches. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsw_lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C., Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at Apartment Lukre for 3 days a week ago. Besides the great location and clean and comfortable apartment, we loved having the private patio to relax outside in the evenings after our busy days. Livio and Marilyn were great and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. I enjoyed having 2 beaches close by so I could swim in the clear and warm water of the Adriatic. The old town of Dubrovnik is very close by so this apartment is in the best location. We enjoyed our stay here very much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

From our first email contact with Marilyn to Livio answering our every question....the decision to pick Apt. Lukre was outstanding. Dubrovnik came alive from the view out our window just outside the city walls. What a comfortable clean apt. with a generously sized terrace. The three of us could not have been more pleased with the accommodations in all aspects.
Livio took us on a full day tour to Mostar, Bosnia with stops to see a gorgeous waterfall, views of the coastline, and delicious lunch at an interesting resort. We learned so much.....what a jam packed day.....Worth Every Penny!!
I have already recommended this property to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler97027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,028 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment & Room Lukre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment & Room Lukre

Property: Apartment & Room Lukre
Address: Don Frana Bulica 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apartment Room Lukre are situated in the close vicinity of the Old town, outside of the city walls, in Don Frana Bulica 7 street, just a two minute walk to the Pile - the western entrance of the Old Town. The exterior of this accommodation has the appeal of old stone, yet its complete refurbishment offers all modern amenities. Position of the accommodation ensures a breathtaking view of the open sea, as well as the famous landmarks of the city ramparts – Fort Lawrence and the Minceta tower...In the close vicinity of our accommodation there are 2 beaches. The closest beach Sulic is just 40 m away and the second one Dance is 150 m away. If you are attending an IUC or ACMT seminar and need accommodation, we are the ideal location for you, as we are located in the direct vicinity of the Dubrovnik Inter-University Center and the American College of Management and Technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Apartment & Room Lukre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing