We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste sensation for jaded palates!”

Marco Polo Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 367 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden gem in the hearth of Old Town Dubrovnik!Restaurant Marco Polo is hidden in the hearth of the Dubrovnik Old Town, in a traditional courtyard of street called Lučarica. Small family restaurant is placed in a private and calm ambient and it offers oasis of busy streets to taste fish, meat and vegetarian specialties of the house.Here is the place where you can taste both traditional recipes from our grandmothers like mussels and seashells in traditional red or white sauce called ‘’Buzzara’’, traditional Black risotto or some of our modern dishes like Tuna Steak Precious Blue in sesame crust.Sharing our food and culture with people all around the world is inspiration for us. We use ingredients like Adriatic tuna, octopus, homemade anchovies, Croatian cheese, Oysters from Ston, extra virgin olive oil from Island of Korčula and lot of herbs to present you taste of our cuisine and culture.Accompanied with excellent Croatian wine, beer and homemade liquors be sure you will experience our past and future on a plate.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A taste sensation for jaded palates!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Delicious meals with creative use of herbs! Our palates were becoming a little jaded, but the food here was amazing! And the service was faultless. Location down a quiet alleyway was perfect..away from the crowds of tourist bus and cruise shops invaders! And NOT EXPENSIVE! Highly recommend! Perfect!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LozMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    168
    59
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The four of us had 4 different main courses and each one of us thought it was the best meal we had during our stay. Service was lovely and the atmosphere very nice - in an alley but cosy and pleasant with no people constantly passing by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great food with a large choice on the menu and first class service. Wine was amazing but a little pricey in comparison to other places. Would definitely visit again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have had several visits to Dubrovnik and Marco Polo is consistently excellent quality and value. staff are great. A "must visit" restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank valdersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on it's great location just off the Stradun and what we thought was a seemingly good menu. Unfortunately, the food on offer didn't live up to our expectations.

I ordered the sea bass with a tomato sauce and boiled potatoes. First of all, the potatoes didn't come with the meal, you had to order it as a side (my partner ordered mushrooms for his beef) which we found a bit strange as who would want just a piece of fish/meat as a meal?! Secondly, the fish was only half cooked - it wasn't just the centre of the fillet but one whole half.

To be fair to the waiter, he was very apologetic and did offer for the chef to cook it through, however, I declined this as I felt it was a bit bland anyway (the tomato sauce didn't really bring much flavour to the dish).

The beef that my partner had faired better and was cooked as he liked however, again we felt it was a bit lacking in seasoning.

All in all, we didn't feel that the food on offer reflected the price it commanded and during our visit to Dubrovnik, found far better alternatives within the Old Town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeyAndJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Marco Polo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing