We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Balkan Backpacker
Ranked #96 of 501 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The who worked there was really nice and helpful. Met some cool people who were all keen so go out and have a good time. Bathroom facilities weren't amazing but was good value and really enjoyed Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fender13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for The Balkan Backpacker
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 105 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hostel couldn't have been in a better spot! The only issue, which we knew about in advance, were the many steps it took to get to the stone building housing the hostel. We had a great stay there. Every morning we enjoyed a good breakfast and every night we had happy hour drinks. The owners and staff were all very knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are very clean. We didn't have a private bathroom but everything was clean regardless. We were treated like extended family. I recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked 1 Double Private Room and after we arrived (we had to wait 3 hours till anybody was at the reception, when we arrived two people were sleeping in the kitchen) they brought us straight away from the hostel to the filthy next-door house and showed us the room. It looked like the parents master room. The shared bathroom was dirty with two moldy shower curtains. Only the room for breakfast was in the hostel. We canceled our booking and left after two horrible nights to Mjet Islands and the lovely Srsen Family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josie_W326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay here in October. Yes, it can be a bit tricky to find but so is everything within the old walls. The staff are welcoming and helpful. Seems to attract a good type of traveller too - all friendly and ready for a good time. I would highly recommend this as your number 1 hostel in Dubrovnik. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coby04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in this hostel back in 2011, the prices was good, and one thing that I liked is that the place is inside the city, is a very tricky to find it at the beginning, specially if you are carrying your backpack climbing stairs and wandering in the city, but one you find the place, you will love it, very small, nice decoration, clean, and not noisy

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I recently began a solo tour in Croatia by staying 2 nights at Fresh Sheets Dubrovnik. The reviews on here were really good on the whole, and it sounded ideal. I was not disappointed when i arrived here after negotiating the "spanish steps" with backpack in searing heat! Maria and Kat on the main desk were really nice and helpful, with an easy check-in and readily giving advice if needed. As a first-time solo traveller, one of the big things for me was staying in places that were pretty social, so I booked a mixed dorm here, and it was great. I was on the top floor, with great views of Old Town Dubrovnik from the bathroom window especially! and the dorm was clean. I made friends with other people staying here mainly through happy hour (10 kuna a beer!) where a lot of us met outside on the steps, got chatting and next thing we were all heading off to hit the nightlife! Breakfast is a standard continental with breads, cereals, cheeses, tea and coffee, that kind of thing. It was perfectly adequate. I should also mention the amazing Buza "Cold Drinks" bar about a 2 min walk away from the hostel too... having a drink here is a must, if only for the epic views out to sea!

Dubrovnik is such a beautiful town, and Fresh Sheets is a great base to explore it from. The hostel is pretty high up in the Old Town next to the city walls, so would not necessarily be suitable for people with walking difficulties. This place is ideal for solo travellers and couple's, and overall good value. Really nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Spent a few nights at fresh sheets and had an absolute blast. The place is the perfect location in the old town (there are a lot of stairs but if that's an issue don't stay in the old town)

Management was extremely friendly and professional. I saw them go out of their way to help myself out as well as others. Nothing in the world seemed to be a problem.

They were full of recommendations on how to get the most out of your time in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Amnesia
Hostel Amnesia
#187 of 501 in Dubrovnik
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#49 of 501 in Dubrovnik
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse MM
Guesthouse MM
#227 of 501 in Dubrovnik
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
Fresh* Sheets Kathedral
#4 of 181 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 501 in Dubrovnik
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments Santa Maria
Apartments Santa Maria
#112 of 501 in Dubrovnik
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balkan Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balkan Backpacker

Address: Svetoga Shimuna 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia (Formerly Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 501 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing