We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing View and Very close to Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Gloria
Ranked #20 of 175 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Very close to Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Gloria was an amazing host and a beautifuly apartement that looked out of the bay and old town. It was only two blocks from old town and market. We sat out on the balcony and looked at water and beautiful scenery. The view is worth ten times more than her rate. The accomodations are satisfactory and very clean. This is an excellent deal and I would recommend to anyone. It is very close to EAST WEST Beach club and the water for sunbathing and swimming.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed here last year and it is so relaxing we are off back to Villa Gloria for our mini-moon! Very close to the old town, lovely pool if a tad cold when you first jump in, lovely garden, nice views. We stayed in the pool house and had a lovely terrace to site out on with views of Dubrovnik and all the millions of cruise ships in the sea roundabout. There is self catering facilities but we just ate out. The fridge was a bit noisey but not a problem. They had air conditioning which was lovely in the heat of Duborvnick.

I would recommend this to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

Headings
1. The Accommodation
2. Arrival & Departure
3. The City
4. Beaches
5. Diving
6. Overall
7. Recommended Guide Books

The Accommodation
Villa Gloria is in a fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from the east end of Dubrovnik old town (the Pile gate). Be aware that these apartments can only be reached by climbing a significant flight of quite steep steps. That means you will have to carry your luggage up and down and anywhere you want to go means a trip up and down!

http://www.villa-gloria.com/

There are a number of apartments and rooms available, ours were very clean and reasonably well maintained (some paintwork could have done with attention but otherwise fine). Hand and shower towels were provided. We booked by email (emails usually received a very quick response) and even though this was quite a time in advance we weren’t offered a choice. We stayed a week but I suspect most people are there for short visits; it is cheaper if you book 3 nights or more. No deposit was required but we did confirm by email a week or so before that we were still coming.

The room (used by one person) was in the main building where the family live and was pretty standard, en suite with a kettle, fridge, TV and air-conditioning.
The apartment (used by two people) was also in the main building. It was a bigger room with separate bathroom and a door opening on to a very pleasant terrace (table and chairs provided) overlooking both the old town and the sea, with fantastic views of both. There was a small kitchen area containing a fridge, sink & drainer and two-burner bottled gas stove. You wouldn’t be cooking many (any?) meals here though. Ironically, because we had a stove we weren’t provided with (and were refused when we asked) a kettle, which was slightly inconvenient – maybe their gas is cheaper than electricity!

The apartment was somewhat idiosyncratic so don’t expect luxury. For example, we were provided with two single sheets and two single blankets for our double bed!

Other apartments are lower down in the small complex so, while we didn’t check them all, they are unlikely to enjoy such fantastic views as the ones that use the terrace in the main building.

There are two bakers and a supermarket in the space between the apartments and the Pile gate.

Arrival & Departure
The airport was fine but the buses to and from Dubrovnik were pretty useless.
I would suggest that unless you fly Air-Croatia (buses apparently meet these flights) you should resign yourself to a taxi (about 250 Kunas - £30). There were fixed fare notices but the taxi drivers (we asked in advance) just said they would be using the meter and it would be around 250.

We showed our driver the address and after asking some of the others he dropped us right at the entrance to our apartment steps. The entrance is on the right just before the Eurocar and Hertz offices on the road running up to the Pile gate, but if you end up at the taxi rank it is only a short walk back.

We also took a taxi for our flight home (there is a rank just by Pile gate). We did see a couple of buses arrive at the airport once we were there, but we failed to work out where they went from or the times. We had the impression that the taxi trade is living on the airport run so there is little incentive to provide alternatives.

The City
It’s beautiful and there is a lot to see. It gets very busy between 9.00 a.m. and 4.00 p.m. with day trippers from cruise ships and coaches. We did the walls early (excellent) but they were still busy by the time we were halfway round. The large numbers of restaurants have largely standard menus and pricing; the food was generally good but we felt there was a lack of variety.

Beaches
There is a “public beach” (pebbles, not sandy) just below Villa Gloria which is fine for a swim or a seat by the sea. On the far side of the old town (outside the Ploce gate) you can work your way down to a couple of coves where rock bathing is good and we enjoyed snorkelling. There is good rock bathing on Lokrum island (easily reached by ferry from the old town harbour).

Diving
This wasn’t intended as a dive holiday so we only did one day / 2 dives. Some of the centres in this area are more about banana boats than diving so we went with Aquarius http://www.dubrovnik-diving.com who are a full PADI dive centre and were excellent. We didn’t learn much from emails from the UK but we phoned them while in Dubrovnik and they were very helpful.
They are based in Mlini, seven kilometres south of Dubrovnik which can be reached on the number 10 bus (twice an hour) but they picked us up at a cost of 10 euros each way (this was for the journey, regardless of the number of people).
We rented equipment from them which was fine, unfortunately the wind prevented us doing some of the more interesting dives on offer (such as the Taranto) but we had a couple of pleasant dives. The boat is great - so much room and we enjoyed the lunch on board. Refreshingly they didn’t lead the dives, they gave a briefing then left each buddy pair to plan and navigate their own dive.

Overall
As a first trip to Croatia, being right by Dubrovnik all week was a great way to see the city and the accommodation was in a fantastic location.. If we returned we would probably stay somewhere more relaxing from where we could visit Dubrovnik (maybe just up the coast on the Lapad peninsular). We enjoyed our week despite the weather being mixed (it was bad over most of Europe) and it really was worth seeing Dubrovnik.

Recommended Guide Books
Visible Cities (Annabel Barber) - really excellent, in depth information and walks around the different quarters of the city, away from the hub, but with lots of history, as well as information on the main attractions.
Bradt City Guide (Piers Letcher) A very useful little book, packed with useful info and tips. Informal writing style, pleasant to read.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnotherDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

If you do not want to spend mega bucks, this is the place.

Location - Villa Gloria is a 5 minute walk from the main Stradum/old town and is just outside of the eastern gate to the old town.

It is up 100 steps, has a private terrace and pool - hard to find in Dubrovnik. The views are just amazing - you can see the whole of the old town, the walls and the little island of Lopud/Lokrum(?) not sure of the name.

I would advise booking one of the studio apartments as they are in an annex to the main house. All very clean.

The price is great - between 40 and 80 Euros per night depending on the room/apartment type and the time of year.

At the bottom of the 100 steps, you have 2 bakeries, a coffee shop, supermarket and car rental. There are also 2 ATMs and a taxi rank. Very convenient.

Take an extra 100 steps down and you get to the main beach - great. Beach a little expensive, about £15 for 2 people with loungers and an umbrella.

For the facilities, price and location there cannot be any better found in the area - it's just not possible.

  • Liked — Location, price and facilities
  • Disliked — Steps
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RiaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.3 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#14 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gloria

Property: Villa Gloria
Address: Iva Rachica 3, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing