We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May be a nice place for a long stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Gloria
Ranked #20 of 175 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“May be a nice place for a long stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A nice Villa with a patio and a small, rather kids' size pool. Unfortunately, we couldn't enjoy all this villa has to offer since we stayed only for 1 night. I guess, for the same reason they gave us a small room in the corner with a window facing the pool and the door of another room which resulted in the lack of privacy. The room was small but clean and had everything necessary in it.
Probably, the conditions for the customers who stay longer are much better but we didn't have a chance to try it. On the whole, the place is nice, attitude of the owners is very pleasant, location is also very convenient - close to the old city. Ah, yes, of course, you have to climb some steps to get there but can someone avoid this being in Dubrovnik?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salcacilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in Villa Gloria for 3 nights in September 2011. We stayed in the attic apartment which sleeps 4 people; 2 in a bedroom and 2 on a sofa bed in the lounge. The apartment was really good, well equipped and plenty of room. The staff were really friendly. Our apartment had a balcony with table and chairs and we had a fantastic view of Dubrovnik old town. We loved sitting out on the balcony looking at the view which was stunning. Villa Gloria itself is approx 5 - 10 minutes walk to the Ploce gate. There are a lot of steps up to the property but the fabulous view made up for it. You can also access the property if you walk along the road on which the bottom cable car station is on and there's less steps if you use this route.

The villa also has a nice garden with a small outdoor pool. The apartment had air-con which was very welcome.

It was a great apartment with a stunning view.

Room Tip: The attic apartment has a full view of the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahallen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is ideally located for all of the major sights of Dubrovnik, the room was good value and the staff were very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lh1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

we spent 3 nights in dubrovnik and had a great time.. thanks to both the sisters who helped us with everything.. starting from the chilled beer when we got in to umbrellas when it started pouring..

We stayed in "oktavia' - the room with a small balcony which has the greatest view possible!! One of our fav things-to-do in the evening was to sit there and just watch the city walls light up at night!

yes the 100 odd steps are not so easy.. especially when u are getting in for the first time with your luggage.. but nearly all the places outside the city walls have to be accessed by stairs..
you can look for acco within the city walls but it comes at a price so u have to weigh ur options and decide..

TIP - when you get to the dubrovnik airport.. we came in on croatian airlines.. there is a bus outside that takes you to the city and drops u at Pile gate for around 40-45kn (i think.. dont remember for sure). For Villa gloria which is at Ploce gate you have to walk to the other end.. either through the old city or outside the city walls. this takes another 20 mins after which you have to walk up the 100 odd steps from the bakery..

Room Tip: Ask for the room oktavia.. the view is outsatnding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shilpi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a nice property. My room--one of the studios--was a decent, basic studio apartment. Having a kitchenette would've been great for a longer stay, since Dubrovnik's got its gouge on. But I was there for a couple of days only. I my patio overlooked the lovely little outdoor pool--which I didn't use because I want to Lokrum instead. Nice though. And the staff were polite and efficient. Air conditioning was great--satellite TV was perplexing (hundreds of channels!). ;)

Two issues though: cleanliness and the stairs. The windowsill of my washroom was COVERED with furry mold--as in several handfuls of the stuff rather than a small amount. Clearly hadn't been wiped in weeks.

And the 106 steps from the upper fort (Ploce Gate side) was OK without luggage, but a horror upon arrival. I'm relatively fit and my duffel had backstraps: dragging a regular suitcase up would have been a nightmare. After a couple of days the regular trips up and down were OK. But any person who isn't strong couldn't get their bag(s) up--anyone with a mobility issue would not be able to stay here. Period.

Next time I'd pay more for fewer (or no) stairs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JawnBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hospitality of the sisters running the Gloria was among the best I have experienced in years of travelling. The view from the terrace of the Adriatic and the nearby island was very beautiful - it could star in a romantic movie - and the view of Dubrovnik´s old city from my room was also very atmospheric.

The room was a little small (there are larger ones) but it had everything I needed, including Ophelia providing me with a large jug of milk so that I could collapse over a cup of tea immediately, instead of walking back down the narrow cobbled (and rather steep) lane way to a shop (all of a minute away, walking slowly).

The fact that the beach is also about two minutes walk away made it just about perfect. But itś the sense of peace, while being just outside the gate of the walled city, with restaurants all around - and the sheer beauty of the view from the wide terrace.,,, I wish I was back there.

Room Tip: Tell the sisters what you want or need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicolita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

A splendid place in an ideal location a few minutes from the old town. We stayed in the ophelia room which is compact and simple but was exactly what we needed and only 50 euros per night. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fulbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#14 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,482 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
546 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gloria

Property: Villa Gloria
Address: Iva Rachica 3, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing