We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandatory stop whenever in Dubrovnik”
Review of Kamenice

Kamenice
Ranked #109 of 402 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sarajevo
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Mandatory stop whenever in Dubrovnik”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

In a nice square off the Stradun is this simple yet very good place. Whenever we visit Dubrovnik we eat here at least once. I absolutely love their fried calamari and the small fish, not so much the black risotto. If the weather is good it is nice to watch the pigeons, cats and people passing by. Gets quite busy in the summer. Service is quick and efficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    405
    187
    102
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“best calamari ever”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

One a chilly March night, with the wind strong enough to blow away the chairs and tables on the square, we had a very enjoyable dinner here. The calamari was so fresh and perfectly (and lightly) fried, it earned the title of this review. The octopus salad, their signature dish, was also excellent. The menu seemed limited and the interior is small with little ambiance. We only had one meal there, so it is difficult to generalize, but it seems to have its share loyal patrons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank totrotistolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,183 reviews
886 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
“Huge portions in market square”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

There is a market in the old town in this square and you can sit at the tables outside this restaurant and watch the crowds go by. The portions are huge (enough to satisfy our visitors from the USA) so be warned. A starter salad which includes the very salty local cheese is enough for two as is the enormous and very fresh platter of fried squid and octopus. With a cold beer, it's a wonderful lunch . My particular waitress was all smiles but some looks little glum. Cheer them up with a little polite conversation, Molim and Hvala seem to work!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious, inexpensive fish”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Kamenice offers delicious dishes, including risotto, shrimp, oysters and mussels. We enjoyed our dinner so much that we returned later during our stay, and the standard was just as high. The staff were the friendliest of all the restaurants we tried in Dubrovnik and the value is excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Essential Dubrovnik experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Kamenice is my family's favorite restaurant in Dubrovnik. We've visited Dubrovnik three times now and this restaurant keeps getting better each time. The fresh oysters are the restaurant's namesake, but they also serve outstanding calamari, mussels and sardines. Their menu is limited, but each dish is a product of their best efforts and is high-quality food, not a half-baked effort to suit all tastes. Our two-year old enjoyed the spaghetti and my mother-in-law the chicken. The square it sits on is the perfect atmosphere for a relaxed meal in the beautiful old town. On previous visits, I had been disappointed with the curt waitstaff, but on this visit our waitress was very friendly and attentive. Portions are quite large and served family-style, so be prepared to share.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamenice also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Kamenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing