We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love with Villa Ruza”

Villa Ruza Old City Bistro
Ranked #17 of 380 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Don't Imagine! Taste It... Feel It... Experience It...
Cambridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We fell in love with Villa Ruza”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We visited the island of Kolocep to look at Villa Ruza as a possible wedding reception venue. It is a short 15 minute walk around the bay. It opens at 12pm each day. We were greeted by Joseph who made us feel welcome and even though the restaurant wasn't open, offered us a drink. Villa Ruza is informal and pretty with beautiful views of blue sea. We returned later for lunch and enjoy what was, by far, the best meal we had all week in Dubrovnik. I have never had prawns like it - they were like lobster tails! We were the only people in the restaurant, and whilst we were there a dark storm came over. They moved us to the only sheltered spot, but eventually after finishing our meal, we went and sat in the conservatory with the waiter as the rain came down.

We fell in love with Villa Ruza and look forward to returning one day. Whilst its food, hospitality and romantic setting can't be beaten, we were..........by the rain and as we are looking to marry late May/early June, we decided with sadness we couldn't risk it as a venue as there is no shelter or option should the weather turn grim.

Thank you for looking after us

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Annabadoobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    72
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow what an incredible experience! So perfect!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I booked lunch here as a surprise for my husband's birthday and it absolutely exceeded my expectations. The restaurant went out of their way to organise everything for us via email (speed boat direct from our hotel with a staff member waiting for us at their pier, and gorgeous table by the water) and it all ran perfectly.

The setting is so incredible and you truly feel as if you're in paradise. Great menu choices while still feeling relaxed. Everything is fresh and local too (e.g. they make their own olive oil from trees in the garden surrounding the tables). Our waiter was fantastic and made excellent recommendations... I'm still thinking about the tempura prawns (something I wouldn't have normally ordered however they were their specialty and SO delicious).

Really can't recommend Villa Ruza enough for an unforgettable and very special experience.

Helpful?
9 Thank Travelling_Ks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stunning food, Stunning View”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food was fantastic accompanied by one of the best views you could ask for. One of the best cuts of beef I had eaten in a long time. Also had a catch of the day selection which looked delicious. People staying at the hotel also receive 20% discount, bonus!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Toddenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We took the ferry out to Kolcep for our pre-booked reservation. We had time to swim and fun stroll to the restaurant. We were met at the pier by someone that said our table was ready and go there whenever we wanted. When we arrived it was like they knew us, the chef came out and said hello the waiter asked where would like to sit, the bar tender gave us a wine. Wow what next. I ordered the shrimp dinner and my wife liked the paste dishes. The shrimps were the best I have ever had and my wife loved the pasta. This meal will never be forgotten. Can't wait to go back again for a fresh fish dinner next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank indian_motorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely exquisite dining experience!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wonderful service, delicious locally sourced/caught food, top-notch wine (and local liquor courtesy of the manager's mother!) all set al fresco overlooking the ocean and the most beautiful sunset views.This was the icing on our honeymoon cake! Highly recommend Villa Ruza for quality and value for money. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MyeeeSharona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Ruza Old City Bistro also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Villa Ruza Old City Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing