We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

Villa Ruza Old City Bistro
Ranked #9 of 396 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $42
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Don't Imagine! Taste It... Feel It... Experience It...
Salzburg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

After reading so many nice reviews of this restaurant we had a great wish to visit it.
Since we booked a boat to go on private excursion, that was perfect opportunity to visit this restaurant..
I booked table in advance and Rodger told me that they are on the terrace above the sea and that weather is crucial thing for their working hours, and suggested to contact him again a day or two before arrival to reconfirm all. We did so and luckily, we had a very nice weather and managed to have a lunch here. Menu was reduced because they just opened but our waiter Josep was so helpful about choosing the right dish to try. At the end we had a little bit of everything for a starter, and for a main grilled fresh fish. All was delicious, accompanied with very nice, not too strong red wine.
After lunch we enjoyed the perfect sea view for a while and went back on a boat. It is really special place…

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Paoulina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    75
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, nice food, great service !”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Went to Villa Ruza on our Honeymoon trip in September 2012. Wow ! What a place. Easily accessible from Dubrovnik, this island is really beautiful. The restaurant is perfectly located, with a nice view of the Adriatic. Service is very good, as people are really trying to make you have an amazing experience. We were able to chose our lobster pretty much alive, and the meal was delicious. Probably one of the most romantic settig possible !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Guillaume L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning, friendly and yummy!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed on the island for a few days and had a wonderful time. The island is quiet and beautiful. This restaurant is an absolute must for anyone visiting the island. It is so lovely, the food is wonderful and the views and atmosphere is unforgettable. We came here again and again to eat or just to enjoy a cocktail on the lovely comfy outdoor sofas. Watching the sunset along the cost whilst enjoying the best sea food in Croatia was a dream. Thank you also to the staff who were friendly and even gave us a drink on the house because by the end of the week we had become regulars!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for lunch”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Villa Ruza is one of the best restaurants we visited. We were staying in Dubrovnik so visited Kolocep for the day mainly to visit this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews and it didn't let us down. The waiters were very friendly, advised what to have, we had a whole fresh fish and showed is the fish cooking on the grill.

A lot of reviews talk about visiting for dinner but unless you have a lot of money to rent a private boat, I don't think thats practical unless you are staying on the island, certainly not from Dubrovnik, but for lunch it was great. The view was amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank davewein75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We live in Florida and went to Croatia for our Honeymoon this year. Our time at Villa Ruza was our most memorable dates! It starts with the outside, we arrived by boat and the sunset there is the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen. The ambiance in this restaurant is very relaxed, and yet elegant with while draperies and table cloths giving you the sensation that you are in heaven. You can't help but to feel relaxed and happy. The service was outstanding and the food was very good. The presentation of the food was worthy of 5 stars restaurants here in FL, and the taste was great. But what impressed me the most was the service and the ambiance. I did not want to leave!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Ruza Old City Bistro also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Villa Ruza Old City Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing