We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, amazing service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ruza restaurant & Lounge Bar

Villa Ruza restaurant & Lounge Bar
Ranked #12 of 365 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Croatian, Seafood, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Seasonal restaurant - Open from April till October.Restaurant&Lounge bar Villa Ruza is situated at the island of Kolocep; the first one of Dubrovnik's Elaphite Islands, occupying a unique location of peace and serenity on a seaside rock in deep shadow of pine trees, at the very entrance to Donje Celo bay.Enjoy your dinner at crescent shape terrace on seashore looking at the most beautiful sunset far away or relaxing in the lounge bar with perfect cocktail!Easiest way to come is either by regular Elaphiti Islands ferry boat "Postira" or by "Adriana" taxi boat service from the Gruz Port. Also you can use "Dinamite" taxi boat service from the Old Town or private pick-up service from all seaside hotels.Don't Imagine! Taste It... Feel It... Experience It...Come and enjoy Villa Ruza!
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to villa ruza for my birthday when on holiday, the food was so good we ended up going again. The food is of a high quality, they deserve a michelin star! Waiter service was out of this world, our glasses were never empty, we didn't want for anything plus they spoke better english than us. Wide variety of seafood but plenty of other choices if not a fish lover. A great restaurant, the best weve ever been to in any country, will definitely be going back next year..... try the plum brandy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amynw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    72
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went to Villa Ruza after reading reviews on this site and were not dissapointed, first class service, fab views, gorgeous food, reasonably priced. We were given a glass of orange liqeur to start and a plate with a small triangle of cheese and thin slice of beetroot, which was delicious. My husband had 3 courses and I had 2, we had a bottle of wine and it came to about £60. I strongly recommend making a reservation and visiting this jewel of a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great Location for Sunset, Professional and friendly staff, excellence recommendations (Not just Selling) and very nice fresh seafood and Fish. On this Level, Great Price/Performance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ND2371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews before our trip to Kolocep and booked a table for later in the week as soon as we arrived. We were definitely not disappointed, the situation is perfect, we watched a most beautiful sunset as we ate a most stunning meal; our waiter gave us the best service we have ever had, his manners were exceptional, he was gentle in his approach and so attentive without being intrusive. The food was beautifully presented and tasted superb; we had a lovely evening. It was expensive but well worth it for the food, service and atmosphere, try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A really special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I picked this restaurant for my boyfriend's 40th birthday dinner based on the TripAdvisor reviews. I emailed them about booking a table and how to get there and they responded instantly and were very helpful. They arranged a motor boat to pick us up from the port in Dubrovnik and take us back. It cost €130 return but it was really cool. Perfect for a special occasion. The meal and service was the best we had in the Dubrovnik area and unless you order the fish of the day which is done by weight, its really very reasonable for what you get, the setting and the service. I would say that without the fish of the day the meals are the same price as you get in the old city - mains approx €15-20. The fish of the day though was about €50 in the end.
I timed dinner for sunset and it was absolutely stunning. The restaurant is right on the waters edge looking towards the sunset.
we got a couple of mosquito bites so if you get bitten easily I would suggest a bit of mosquito repelant but dont let it put you off!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Softy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Ruza restaurant & Lounge Bar also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Villa Ruza restaurant & Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing