We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful small hotel, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kazbek
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful small hotel, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We spent a week here and the staff (particularly Deni on reception) could not have been more helpful. The rooms were elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean; the food and wine were both excellent. The hotel only has about 14 rooms so the pool area was never crowded, despite the hotel being fully occupied.

Although it is a short taxi journey (or long walk!) to the old city, the hotel is in a lovely suburb town overlooking the bay -perfect for drinks on the terrace watching the ships come into Gruz harbour. This is the first time we've wanted to review a place despite being globe-trotters but it really deserves a write-up.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Escoceses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Dear Escoceses,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Kazbek hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that we are the first place you have ever reviewed - THIS IS SUCH AN HONOR! We strive to provide quality service and accommodations to all of our guests and it is rewarding to know that we have achieved our goal with your stay.
I will certainly pass on your words to all of my colleagues and especially to Deni.

Warm regards from all of us at the Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    51
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
233
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Great hotel in a super location. Close enough to go visit the old town of Dubrovnik and then escape back again. Great pool located at the back of the hotel. Plenty of beds and towels. On the days were stayed there was no more that 6 people in the entire pool area.

The hotel building is beautiful with breakfast served on the patio area at the front. It is on the expensive side but we were there in peak season. Parking was also available - great if, like us, you were in a hire car.

We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening. We found a couple of good places nearby - one has an upstairs terrace that looks out over the harbour. Doesn't look much from the outside - but great food (just be careful not to over-order - the portions are huge). To find it turn right from the hotel and follow the harbour side for about 200 yards. Looks like a pizza place from the outside - but as well as great pizza the fish dishes are fantastic.

A special mention to the super helpful management / reception staff who gave some good advice on the rest of our stay in Croatia.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UK-James72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Dear UK-James72,

We were all delighted to read your review on your recent stay at our Kazbek hotel - thank you so much for posting it. We have passed on your lovely comments to our colleagues throughout the hotel.
We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Kazbek hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

Before making a reservation I sent several emails to the Sales and Marketing Manager. All of the emails were answered promptly and were very thorough. I thought if I was receiving this kind of service without having a reservation then I should definitely stay at the Kazbek Hotel. The Kazbek Hotel was fantastic in every way. Our room was spacious and very clean. The setting was perfect with a very relaxing atmosphere. Every staff member was extremely courteous, and helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate us in every way (making restaurant reservations, setting up a private walking tour, excursions to the outer islands, etc.) Every morning we started off with a great breakfast on the entrance patio. It was a perfect start to the day.

My wife and I have traveled extensively around the world and I would give the Kazbek Hotel and staff my highest recommendation. We had a fantastic stay in Dubrovnik and the Kazbek Hotel staff significantly contributed to making this a trip of a lifetime. I would also highly recommend taking their high speed boat to the outer islands. In addition to the hotel restaurant, we enjoyed the following restaurants in Old Town: Sesame, Proto, and Gils.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunder1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Dear Thunder1210,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us here at the Kazbek hotel.

We were so delighted to read that you and your wife had a great stay and that the hotel and services contributed to making this trip to be "a trip of a lifetime".

It was our great pleasure serving you before and during your stay with us.
Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our Kazbek hotel if your travel plans bring you back to Dubrovnik.

Kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Nice clean and tidy hotel in a good place. Price is high but the service is good. Generally, Dubrovnik is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Dear Clea123,

Thank you for your great feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Kazbek hotel. We highly appreciate it and we hope we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Dubrovnik.

Kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Excellent modern deco and setting, nice pool and rooms, excellent setting for breakfast, practical parking place, fair location outside the old city. The setting is 5 stars, but the service is not. Staff is helpful, but not proactive.
Plan taxi to the old town or 20mn of crowed city bus in the summer.
Overall a good value if you can get the third night free promotion, otherwise too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noctanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Dear Noctanet,

Thank you for your opinion, it is very much appreciated. We apologize if you felt our service wasn't at the level and we promise we will do our best to improve it.

With best regards,

Hotel Kazbek Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Recently returned from first trip to Croatia (hopefully not the last!) & a very relaxing 5 day stay at the Kazbek. Agreeing as we do with previous comments about the high standard of staff service & friendliness, however feel we ought to stress our disappointment with the standard of our one (& only!) evening meal. The food was not of a high enough standard to warrant 5 stars, although served in a truly beautiful (if slightly soulless) setting.
Also suffered from ferocious insect bites but difficult to tell where they came from as we were often out & about......could that be Croatia in August? Certainly not from inside the hotel though.
Loved the pool area......wonder if the hotel have ever thought about lounger cushions?
Best of all was amazing trip to the islands in hotel rib - can't recommend it highly enough. The two guides were extremely patient, taking us wherever we wanted - totally other end of the spectrum from the usual 'cattle herding' boat trips offered everywhere else! A must if you love being on or in the water......

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Housh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Housh,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Kazbek and thank you as well for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users.

We appreciate very much your nice words about our staff and we deeply apologize if the quality of the food didn't meet your expectations. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all feedback, good and bad, as it is all essential to our success.

We are sorry as well about the insect bites. Those were definitely the mosquitoes as they are quite common outside during the warm summer nights.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your day on our speed boat. It certainly is a great way to explore the islands in Dubrovnik surrounding.

Again, we thank you for your comments and hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Hotel Kazbek Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Very friendly people and overall a lovely stay. However it was odd that the orange juice was a mix of 'from concentrate' and pith - presumably to give the impression of being freshly squeezed. Odd when the rest of the breakfast was good. Only other thing - did anyone else find they were ferociously bitten after staying here? Not mosquitoes because they were in difficult places. The hotel seemed very clean but we suffered for days afterwards

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andii24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear Andii24,

We thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at our Kazbek hotel.
We are so glad it was overall a lovely stay for you.

Although we highly appreciate each comment of our guests and take them very seriously, we have to react in this situation as we think your comments are a little bit hard to believe.

Orange juice: In our breakfast menu we offer either bottled orange juice (100% pure orange juice by World known producer Pago) or Natural orange juice (manually squeezed natural oranges hand picket daily at Dubrovnik green market). We absolutely never serve "concentrate" orange juice and we are really sorry if you got a wrong impression.

We are still pretty much shocked after reading your comment about being "ferociously bitten" in our hotel. This is really hard to believe as the cleanliness of our hotel is one of our main priorities and it is simply impossible that something in the hotel could cause the bites to our guests.
Even the mosquitoes are very rare inside as the property is permanently air conditioned, but we can not guarantee you were bitten somewhere outside.

Thank you again for your stay with us.

Hotel Kazbek Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Property: Hotel Kazbek
Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. Each single piece of furniture has been handmade to add to the historical experience. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The Kazbek Hotel features 3 elegant dining and cocktail venues. The main restaurant has a courtyard terrace and a terrace overlooking the lively Gruz bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing