We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bokun Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bokun Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 175 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

we stayed for ten days and enjoyed our stay although the room was quite small, the bathroom very small, the air con leaked and room cleaning was infrequent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngordon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    62
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
119
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nassau
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Judging from the other reviews we might have caught the owners on a bad day because we had a very different experience. We find the owner's approach to guests to be condescending , sarcastic and rude and we would not (ever) recommend this place to anyone.

In addition the apartment was very dated (but clean) but that might be a function of the price point for Dubrovnik.

Pros were the location near the port and the garden was lovely and parking and buses were convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ParisPassport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a family run business located about 25-30 minute walk from the Old Town. There is a communal fridge and a porch area surrounded by the family's rather pretty vegetable/rose garden - we were even treated to some home-grown strawberries! The room was basic, but clean. Air conditioning and wifi worked fine. We had an en-suite room, but found the bathroom rather small and cramped to the point that you would bump your elbows washing your face at the sink or turning around to flush the toilet. There were a few other small niggles in the bathroom: there was no soap dish, the shower door was partially dislodged (fixed with a bit of a jiggle) and not entirely water tight resulting in a puddle on the floor. Also, there was no toilet roll on arrival. Tony wasn't there when we arrived, so we had a rather basic introduction which unfortunately didn't include where to find him if we needed anything (such as toilet roll and borrowing a hair dryer). Our passports were taken for 'registration' and not returned until we paid in full, which we found rather worrying. There was no room service, but personally, this didn't bother us. Overall, a not unpleasant stay and we can see how other reviewers had a much more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Basic but comfortable double room with bathroom (bring shampoo!), very quiet with a nice homely vegetable garden. It's a 25-30 min trek to the historic centre but you're close to the bus station and ferry terminal (10 mins walk).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed in apartment C for 5 nights in Sept 2010. I think this was the only room with a view of the harbour from our balcony, which was an unexpected bonus! Its also amazingly quiet. Very convenient for ferries (5 minute walk, past fish and fruit market) to Elafiti Islands and others. Apartment was nice. Enough kitchen facilities to cook a basic meal. Tony was very helpful during our stay. Garden was impressive, with kiwifruit and grapes growing outside the rooms. Towels were changed once during our stay. Don't recommend Bistro Riva (across harbour) but there were a couple of nicer restaurants a bit further on. We always managed to get a free parking space for the hire car outside the guesthouse, but there are only about 10-15 spaces and there were times we walked past and there were no free spaces. Other parking spaces nearby cost 5 kunas an hour. Only complaint was a noisy bed (nearly enough to wake you when you rolled over) but Tony said he would fix it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markcanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed here as part of a budget holiday, and it was perfect for our stay. We stayed in a double room with a shared bathroom, and although the rooms were basic for the price we paid we could not complain. The location was perfect, right by the harbour, the bus station and a supermarket with a 5 minute bus ride into the old town. The garden was beautiful and Tony was very friendly and accomodating. For the price we paid it was most definatley a bargain and we would go back tomorrow if we could!! If youre not fussy and your on a budget break this place is perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raaaachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

The guesthouse is situated close to the harbour and within a walking distance from the bus station. Although the guesthouse is situated by a lively street, you cannot hear any traffic noise as the guesthouse is surrounded by a large garden. We stayed at the guesthouse in two different rooms: a room with shared bathroom and in an apartment. The room/apartment were basic and the decor/furnishings are quite worn and dated. The apartment was situated in the cellar and smelt damp, but it was quite spacious and bright. If you don't expect luxury, this guesthouse offers very good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalokivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bokun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokun Guesthouse

Property: Bokun Guesthouse
Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokun Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When in 1985 we opened our guesthouse in a 400 year old stone house, we just wanted to have a place where all of our guests would have what we think is most important in traveling: security, cleanliness, a warm welcome and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bokun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing