We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, artistic, friendly -- and a perfect location!”
Review of Karmen Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karmen Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
So. California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfy, artistic, friendly -- and a perfect location!”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

These apartments offer a quiet retreat in a city that can be swamped with tourists. It's on a hidden passageway beside one of the 70-foot-high walls that has protected the city for five centuries. Our warm host, Marc van Bloemen, regaled us with stories. He had grown up in London, where his parents had a music club, and as a boy Marc might wake up and find Paul Simon asleep on his floor after a gig. Interesting family!

Our apartment was breezy, comfortable, and artistic. (Our table lamp was created by Marc’s family friend, the mime Marcel Marceau, using the downspout from a Paris rooftop.) The kitchen and dining nook were decorated with framed rows of vintage magazine ads. Everything was in great shape, and the many conveniences included Wi-Fi and satellite television. The kitchenette was fully and thoughtfully equipped; we shopped at local markets and enjoyed eating "at home."

Staying at the Karmen Apartments added a very pleasant dimension to our visit to Dubrovnik. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    49
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
216
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Just minutes from the centre of the walled city's sights and restaurants, our quiet, well-appointed apartment was our base for three splendid days in Dubrovnik. Attention to detail, comfort, cleanliness and security were the hallmarks of this old world stately home, with self-catering facilities a bonus after seven weeks on the road. Our host was attentive and helpful, ensuring our stay in this wonderful place would be a time to remember. A return trip to Dubrovnik will certainly have us putting Karmen Apartments at the top of our list.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayandjay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Just returned from a trip to Europe with family,(kids aged 11 and 14). On this trip we spent 3 nights in Dubrovnik where we stayed at the Karmen Apartments. We had the two apartments on ground floor, kids had one apartment and husband and I had the other. Which was fantastic, giving us both parents and kids an opportunity to have a break from one another. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Karmen Apartments, cannot fault anything or have asked for more. The beds were comfortable, with crisp, nice smelling bed linen, the bathroom had plenty of space with a good shower. The kitchen was of a generous and functional size where we were able to prepare some of our own meals. The kitchen pantry was equipped with basic essentials, coffee, cooking oil, salt, pepper etc and above all the apartments were scrupulously clean. The walls of the apartment were adorned with an interesting and eclectic mix of artwork, which greatly contributed to its ambiance. The location was fantastic, out of our window we looked straight at the medieval wall and a short walk from our front door brought us to the old port of Dubrovnik, lined with tavernas. Restaurants, fruit markets, shops, major sites all within walking distance. If you are visiting Dubrovnik then Karmen Apartments is the place to stay. We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2travel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We decided to stay in Dubrovnik when friends told us how wonderful it is. At first, we considered a package deal in Lapad where most hotels are located and is a 15 minute bus ride away, but our friends strongly recommended we should locate as centrally as possible. This was great advice because during our stay we visited Lapad which seemed quiet and lacking in atmosphere, unlike Dubrovnik.
We consider ourselves extremely fortunate that we chose the Karmen Apartments.Their position could not be bettered, overlooking the harbour and only minutes from all the essential places in the Old Town. A major reason why we had such a great time was the tremendous assistance we received from Marc, theowner of the apartments.He not only arranged for taxis to collect and return us to the airport but also greeted us when we arrived and walked with us to the accommodation. He gave us great advice regarding restaurants, recommending those where the locals tended to eat. Such was the case with the Ribar, located just below the apartments, where we experienced the finest tuna steaks we have ever eaten.
The accommodation was excellent, very comfortable and great value. Marc was readily available if required and a large array of guide-books and reading materials were also at our disposal.
To conclude,we would suggest that our choice of the Karmen Apartments could not be bettered and is the only logical place for anyone to stay in Dubrovnik. When we return, we will naturally stay there again and we have already advised family and friends to consider nowhere else. Thanks once again to Marc for making our our holiday such a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony190731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Marc van Bloemen was our host at Karmen Apartments and provided us with a great insight into the city and its recent past as well as ensuring we had information about local highlights and the best restaurants. The location of Karmen Apartments in the Old City is superb and allows you easy access to everything this little gem of a city has to offer. Marc's hospitality extended to ensuring that our small apartment was comfortable with lovely soft doonas and extras such as satellite TV and free wireless internet access. Next time we would opt for one of the larger apartments not available on this occasion due to the heavy bookings on these rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This is a great place to stay right inside the walls of Dubrovnik. Marc is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. It is also a very quiet location. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoCedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The aparment we had was small, more of a bedsit but the attention to detail was excellent and everything we needed for a 2 day self-catering stay was at hand. The bed was very comfortable, the only downside I can think of is that the double bed was against the wall meaning someone had to 'clamber' in and out of bed. The propietor both welcomed us and waved us off which is a nice touch. he also lives on the premises so is on hand if required. The apartment was located right inside the city walks and we would feel quite smug either early morning or late evening when the hoards of tourists had departed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,496 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmen Apartments

Property: Karmen Apartments
Address: Bandureva 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 499 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karmen Apartments "Personal character and charm within the ramparts." REVIEW The fabulous location right within the ramparts of Old Town would be reason enough to stay here. But with so many fascinating details and your enthralling Anglo-Canadian host, this is a place that you just won't want to leave. Marc van Bloemen has lived in Dubrovnik since 1972, speaks fluent Croat and probably knows more local history than most locals. Every inch of his fine stone mansion is decorated with art, souvenirs, old photos and fascinating keepsakes. From kitschy collages of sea-smoothed glass 'pebbles', to the 1923 'character wall' or the original Marcel Marceau self-portrait, every item tells a story. All rooms are comfortable, air-conditioned and offer a little kitchenette. There's even free wi-fi. Room No 2 features wonderful Deakin semi-naive still-life paintings. It has a small balcony overlooking partly overgrown walls albeit with no real views. The smallest (and cheapest) ground-floor room displays a framed series of Vasko Lipovac prints and was used as the make-up room when the BBC filmed Casanova here during November 2004. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing