We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, will be back!”
Review of Karmen Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karmen Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 1 for 8 nights on the basis of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and I have to say, they were right. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome. It starts at the airport where Marc had arranged for a taxi (top guy by the way) to pick us up. Mark then greeted us at the main gate to help us with our luggage. As soon as we pull up at our apartment we are greeted with a view that takes your breath away and provided the backdrop for our whole stay.

Characterful apartment perfectly located within the old town, views to die for, but also the most amazing friendly people who make you feel like you're at home. What more could you ask for? Marc was on hand to give us some reccomendations of places to go, restaurants etc, and if you don't use his advice, you are missing out! I can't recommend this place enough, although I feel as though I should keep this place a secret. We will be back.

Tony & Kerry

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudge_mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I always try to stay somewhere that feels local, rather than staying in international style hotels, and The Karmen apartments were perfect in this respect. Marc arranged for a great driver, Nik, to pick us up from the airport (35Euro) and Marc was able to meet us at the city gate and escort us to the apartments, chatting about Dubrovnik along the way... he is charming.
The best things about the apartments are the local feel, its position just steps from all the best cafes, restaurants, shops and the harbour, very good air conditioning (essential in July) and all the books to borrow!
Even at this busy time of year, Dubrovnik was wonderful; we fully plan to return out of season sometime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've spent 4 marvellous nights in Apartment 4. It is really small, but with all you could need. Perfect location in a quite place, and lovely decoration.
We tried to find the apartment on our own and finally we phoned Mark to help us because we couldn't find it. We were wellcome with fresh fruit and a lot of recommendations to enjoy Dubrovnik.
To mention something to improve, it could be a good idea to cover the window with blinds or shutters, just in case you prefer not to be waken up by sunlight in the mornings, and also a better coffee-maker.
Apart from that everything was perfect, and I would repeat and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooncalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 2 for 4 nights, and we really enjoyed our stay. The apartment had is uniquely decorated with art and books with great one off pieces of furniture, a small kitchen, table, a dressing room/ extra sleeping space (?), and of course a balcony looking into the OldTown.
Its amazing being seconds from all the famous sights etc yet feels removed from the crowds and bustle - its a great launchpad to explore the quieter streets of the Old Town. The apartment was less per night than one of the large upmarket hotels that you can see around the bay yet no need to travel in out out each day (plus you can go back and relax on the balcony if you get too hot exploring!).
Marc was welcoming and helpful on arrival.
The apartment was very clean and well looked after.
The building is very quite with tripple glazing, shutters and aircon for a good nights sleep.
You can exit the old town quickly for taxis/ buses etc. Wifi if you need it.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Apt 2 if you want a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Marc Van Bloemen's Karmen Apartments. Marc arranged for us to be picked up at the airport by a very friendly taxi driver and Marc was there to meet us at the City gate. It was just a short walk to the apartment. We stayed in Apartment 1 and we thought that everything about the apartment was perfect. We looked out on to the Old Port. Being within the city walls meant that we were in the perfect location. Stradun was just a 2 minute walk away and lots of restaurants and bars were really close by. A real plus point these days is free WiFi and this was provided at Karmen Apartments. Marc was on hand whenever we needed anything including restaurant recommendations, trip ideas and he also let us store our luggage in the building after we had checked out. We would recommend Karmen Apartments 100% and look forward to returning there one day.

Room Tip: Apartment 1 has amazing views of the Old Port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren_Jackie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Mark Van Bloemen's apartment in Dubrovnik is a real gem: lovely location, spacious, nicely furnished and well equipped. Mark's friendly manner and knowledge of the area is quite helpful and adds to the pleasure of the place. A standard food/super market and a frequent farmer's market in the square around the corner made having breakfast on the small patio outside our apartment simple and delicious. The apartment can be a nice respite from the sometimes very crowded parts of the old walled city, yet close enough to everything ( restaurants, museums,boat excursions, music ) to be very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Dubrovnik, where we stayed at Karmen apartments for the entire week. Everything about our stay in Karmen was just perfect. Marc's communication since we originally booked back in January was wonderful. We also had Marc arrange for a taxi to pick us at the airport - which is great when it's your first visit. Marc then met us at the Ploce gate, and guided us to the apartment, which we really appreciated. We stayed in Apt 4, which is the smallest of them all I believe. We were actually pleasantly surprised, and found it more than sufficient for us as a couple. We had seen photos of the small apartment priot to booking, but we both found it to be bigger than we expected. What made it even better was that it had everything you could ever need, and then more! There was even a bowl of fresh fruit and tea/coffee sugar waiting on us. Bed was extremely comfortable, and the apartment was cleaned just a few days in our stay - everything cleaned, washed, fresh towels, bed linens etc. The apartment is just a few minutes walk from everything in the old city, and adjacent to the walls. The area is lovely and quiet, and you can escape from the crowds back to the apartment in minutes when you need a little siesta during the day! Free wifi available too. Supermarket 2 minutes walk away, next to the daily market. We can't wait to return to both Dubrovnik and Karmen apartments, and will definitely recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Be sure to book well in advance if you want to stay in Karmen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeldaWelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kazbek
Hotel Kazbek
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
393 reviews
3.0 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#4 of 516 in Dubrovnik
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karmen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmen Apartments

Address: Bandureva 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 516 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karmen Apartments "Personal character and charm within the ramparts." REVIEW The fabulous location right within the ramparts of Old Town would be reason enough to stay here. But with so many fascinating details and your enthralling Anglo-Canadian host, this is a place that you just won't want to leave. Marc van Bloemen has lived in Dubrovnik since 1972, speaks fluent Croat and probably knows more local history than most locals. Every inch of his fine stone mansion is decorated with art, souvenirs, old photos and fascinating keepsakes. From kitschy collages of sea-smoothed glass 'pebbles', to the 1923 'character wall' or the original Marcel Marceau self-portrait, every item tells a story. All rooms are comfortable, air-conditioned and offer a little kitchenette. There's even free wi-fi. Room No 2 features wonderful Deakin semi-naive still-life paintings. It has a small balcony overlooking partly overgrown walls albeit with no real views. The smallest (and cheapest) ground-floor room displays a framed series of Vasko Lipovac prints and was used as the make-up room when the BBC filmed Casanova here during November 2004. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing