We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe the wrong night”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kod Joze

Kod Joze
Ranked #92 of 354 Restaurants in Split
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe the wrong night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having read various reviews we thought to try Kod Joze. I can confirm this little restaurant just outside the town walls down a side road would not be easy to find in the dark. We checked it out during the day as we wandered around the town. I always think if there a specials then they are likely to be good, so I ordered the venison in mushroom sauce as a main course and started with some salted anchovies (an acquired taste). My wife chose fish soup, followed by shrimp risotto. I have not seen her eat less in an evening, but being English she put it down to not being hungry. I do not know how long they had cooked (or recooked) the special but it certainly was very tough. lacked any gamey taste, and was a complete disappointment. It was October and end of season so maybe they had given up for the year and were using things up. The waiter was very attentive and looked after us very well, as he could obviously see the food didn't go down well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    93
    24
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
264 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great service, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Food seemed somewhat overpriced for the quality and quantity. The server was charming and helpful describing different dishes and preparation. He was also spot on with his wine recommendation. A solid, pleasant experience all in all

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We shared the famous green noodle dish for a starter which was a good sized portion. They brought the fish to the table and explained how it was priced by weight and estimated the weight of each fish for us which was helpful. We had a seabass and gilt fish which were delicious. All of the fresh fish was priced at 500kn per kg which when you look around is very expensive. A good meal but a hefty bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strudler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great seafood trifecta experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great trifecta of seafood dishes at Kod Joze. An Octopus salad, Frutti de Mare and Shrimp and courgette nocchi were ordered. The octopus was the most tenderest that we have had whilst in Croatia and brilliant. The other dishes were equally great. The sauce of the meals is amongst the best with the remaining bread mopping this up. Nocchi was of a high quality. the evening wad completed with a nice Rogac liquer. We sat downstairs which was very quiet and could have had slightly more atmosphere but didn't upset our evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthlandProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Licata, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just run of the mill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We selected this restaurant based on earlier reviews, expecting to find better than average food and pleasant atmosphere. The food was just okay: large portions but not particularly well-prepared. The service was distracted. It wasn't a bad restaurant, just not a good one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenr030447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kod Joze also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Kod Joze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing