We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Gem just outside Diocletians Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Suites
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Gem just outside Diocletians Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed with another couple at the Royal Suites in September and were pleasantly surprised because it is deceiving from the exterior and could be difficult to find (watch for the little Royal Suites sign on the corner of the building.) This B&B is tucked into a building where it occupies one floor and entry is by way of an apartment intercom. There appeared to be only about six or seven rooms. Our rooms were clean, quiet, very comfortable, and spacious. The room our friends booked had a balcony. Breakfast offered fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, meat and cheese. The location to the Old Town and Riva was perfect - only a block away. The best feature may be the service. All the staff were genuinely concerned that we were pleased with the accommodations and took time to make restaurant recommendations and to help us look into booking ferry travel to Hvar. The price was reasonable too.Thanks to Lana and all for a good stay in Split!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gecko17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    69
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
135
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We wanted a comfortable and convenient base for our visit to Split, and Royal Suites was ideal. The room was bright and modern with a comfortable bed, ample storage units and a good, clean en-suite shower room. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful, although the pre-cooked hot items weren't really appetising. Although there was no provision to make hot drinks in the room, we appreciated the invitation to help ourselves to hot drinks from the breakfast room at any time. The external door is unobtrusive, effectively the entrance to an apartment building, but who needs a fancy lobby? To top it all, the Suites are just a five-minute walk from the main waterfront and the Riva.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWithSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is in great location near the old town. Only walking distans for bus station, railway and harbour. Place is Small in good way... home like with very friendly staff. Rooms are big and renovated maybe few years back. This hotel is Good value for money. Hotel is well kept and in good condition.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pasi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Royal Suites were nice, but may have been hard to find given the small Royal sign peaking out from the building had we taken the Croatia Air bus instead of a cab given the late hour of our arrival as it appeared to be in a somewhat seedy neighborhood. I confirmed our late arrival the day before, so there was someone there to meet us. You have to ring an outside bell it get into the building as they are actually rooms, with a reception, not a real hotel. However it's a short walk to the ferries, harbor walk and pick up for the car rental which are all located within a 10 minute walk. The local car rental, Onyx, which we didn't use because of the poor reviews from TripAdvisor was just around the corner as was an ATM which was almost outside the door of the hotel. Our room was spacious and the bathroom, while small, was functional The Wi-fi worked fine. Make sure you have the hot water switch turned on or you may get a cold shower. Breakfast was adequate which means they must have scrambled eggs at a minimum. You must pay for your room in euros or Kunas, no credit cards. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redroverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hard to find it; but when we were there, was a nice surprise. The staff is more than friendly and helpfully. The room confortable and very clean with all amenities. Good breakfast. Really if we go again to Split, This will be our place agaim

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adolfo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the room was great. The room was large with a lovely balcony overlooking the street below and you could see the sea! The room was very clean. The lady at reception was amazing, very helpful and she went down to the port early to buy us boat tickets, much needed as the ferry sold out to hvar! Agree with other comments that when we arrived I was slightly concerned as the entrance hall isn't like a usual hotel but as soon as we got to the floor we were happy. The place is literally a 5 to 10 minute walk to the old town and 5 minutes to the port so really good location when carrying bags. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a double with a balcony over the street it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in this suite for a night before hopping on a boat to the islands. From the outside it looked like a run down apartment block, but as we steped inside we realised it was a little piece of luxury.

The suites are modern, stylish and extremely comfortable. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was great. THe staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.

The suite was about 150m from the ferry and the main town.

Definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#5 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Judita Heritage Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cornaro Hotel
Cornaro Hotel
#4 of 56 in Split
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Suites

Property: Royal Suites
Address: Kralja Zvonimira 12, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Split
#11 Romantic Hotel in Split
#11 Family Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best choice in Split Royal is located in the center of the city, two hundred meters from the Diocletian's Palace and the waterfront in a quiet street, offers guests a unique experience. Royal categorized as a 4 *, its 6 double rooms equipped best to please our guests: spacious rooms have LCD TV, safe, mini bar, free high speed Internet and large, comfortable beds, a rich breakfast of local foods selected by carefully selected owners will provide power for an ideal start to the day.Once guests Royale, Royal guests always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Royal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Accomodation Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing