We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will the real Royal stand up?”
Review of Royal Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Suites
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This establishment demonstrated a split personality (pun intended because similar issues arose elsewhere in Croatia), but fortunately, the balance was more positive than Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde, if at times unnecessarily inconvenient.

As if to illustrate this inconsistency, the business appears to operate under two similar, but distinct names: Royal Accommodation and Royal Hotel.

First the good news, the care of this establishment is visible in the design of the rooms. For two standard size rooms, every detail was finely fitted and there was none of the usual sloppy placement of electrical outlets. Rather, the single free outlet was positioned above the desk. So if you've got gadgets, you may want to pack a USB charger/multiple outlet combo.

Air conditioning functioned well, as did wireless internet and television. Shower stalls were decent size, not so narrow as bang your elbows when you lather -- a problem at some places. Breakfast was perfectly adequate - including hot eggs and sausage and a range of cold selections.

On the down side, our stay was marred by management weaseling out of prior agreements: it failed to provide the larger room that had been promised, then relocated us from one room to another for no apparent reason, and it initially refused to accept payment by credit card despite their prior agreements to these terms. Despite their entreaties to use the cash machine up the street, we held fast to our original terms and paid by credit card.

We were also redirected to a more expensive airport transfer - something we learned in advance only because that driver took us to dinner the night before. Only after raising this matter with hotel management were we advised that the taxi would accept a price closer to our earlier understanding.

As to location, it is convenient to touring ancient Split, the Riva, and walking distance to airport buses, trains, and ferries. Seasoned travelers know that proximity to transit hubs usually means a less visually appealing neighborhood, and so I think it important to point out that the transit area is sufficiently distant that we felt perfectly safe around the hotel. One does not need Las Vegas electrical waste for safety, reasonable foot traffic will do. In fact, we dined at a restaurant on the narrow, dimly lit street behind the hotel that also happens to have a super market.

For disabled travelers, this hotel lacks an elevator and the two approaches to the entrance involve a flight of steps. Similarly, because the hotel is uphill from the transit area, the distance is short, but the walk can be challenging when dragging bags over cobblestones.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Midwest-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Many thanks to the three lovely ladies who were so helpful and made our stay an absolute pleasure. The location of this hotel was perfect within easy walking distance to everything in the old city and to the beach. We are two people and an 8 month old baby. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happybubbles06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had an extremely pleasant stay at the Royal earlier this month. The room was immaculately clean, very attractive, good Internet, comfortable bed; the location was perfect for us (near ferry, railroad, and old city; also a nic sandy beach a very short walk away - see pic). It's a very small "hotel" or BnB, up one flight of stairs, no lift, there were three things that made our stay especially pleasant, and those three things are largely responsible for my excellent five-star rating: 1) The family (Toni Radman & family) were extremely warm and welcoming and very helpful to us in resolving a problem -- they really cared about us, and did everything they could to help; 2) The woman who ran the breakfast room was wonderful: she loved her job and did it extremely well, both the food part and the people part. It's impossible to imagine anyone doing this job better than she did. I was particularly grateful for the "no milk" eggs she made for me every morning as she knew I was lactose intolerant; and, 3) the air conditioning in our room not only worked extremely well, but our room was cool when we first walked in, and stayed cool -- this was the first week of July 2012, when it was VERY hot in Split.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bin-Bin-Tarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Really a fantastic hotel. The staff went out of their time and again to make our two days there the best possible. They even went out early to get our ferry tickets to hvar and packed us sandwiches for our trip. Large rooms with great bathrooms. 5 minute walk to the historic old center of the city. Already planning on staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

It is actually apartment style accomodation. it is on 3rd floor in a block and consists a few rooms, the room is average size,has an en-suit shower and toilet. there is no telephone in the room. there are two choices of warm breakfast - fried eggs with ham/ sausages. if you get up late, they will become cold too, but if you don't mind eating cold breakfast, there are cereals, fruits, yoghurts and salami available as well.

The location is good, 5 minutes walk to split town centre, service is good. the reception lady and breakfast lady are helpful. I had to leave early on my last day, and I went to kitchen for a cup of coffee. the breakfast lady was about to cook, she then quickly cooked 2 sausages for me.

It is overall a nice stay. but for those who want a hotel rather than apartment, just be careful on the hotel description.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yangchen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

One night stay at this mini-hotel was a pleasant experience. Nothing went wrong. Highly recommended.

This mini-hotel is located on the 2nd floor of residential building a block away from Diocletian's Palace that is the old centre itself. There was no street parking in front of the building, but reception lady was nice enough to go down and drive with us showing a way to the nearest parking (50 HRK a day).

The room was above our expectations. Clean, well designed and well equipped with large windows and glassy bathroom. There was a large flat TV set in the room allowing us to watch HD movies from iPad via HDMI cable. A lovely seating area complimented the room. The bed was very comfy. A homemade buffet breakfast the next day was set up at the small breakfast room a floor below. It wasn’t a plenty of choices like in large chain hotels, but good enough to boost your day. I liked the selection of fresh berries. The only downside is the lack of small fridge on the buffet. I believe it is better to display yogurts and butter in the refrigerated case. However it would be pity if there was no room for improvements!

Room Tip: They have rooms with balconies overlooking old red tiled roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Royal Suites is great value, and great sense. It's just outside Diocletian's palace--close enough to walk there in 5 minutes, but removed from the late night noise. It's right around the corner from the ferry, bus, and train terminals. And the staff is terrific--they arranged our ferry and bus bookings, recommended restaurants, and generally guided us around. Rooms are small but comfortable and extremely quiet. We've stayed here twice now, and plan to return next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for room #1--it's bigger, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#9 of 58 in Split
708 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#19 of 58 in Split
380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Antique Split
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Suites

Address: Ulica Kralja Zvonimira 12, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Split
#8 Luxury Hotel in Split
#11 Romantic Hotel in Split
#11 Family Hotel in Split
Price Range: $67 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your best choice in Split Royal is located in the center of the city, two hundred meters from the Diocletian's Palace and the waterfront in a quiet street, offers guests a unique experience. Royal categorized as a 4 *, its 6 double rooms equipped best to please our guests: spacious rooms have LCD TV, safe, mini bar, free high speed Internet and large, comfortable beds, a rich breakfast of local foods selected by carefully selected owners will provide power for an ideal start to the day.Once guests Royale, Royal guests always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Accomodation Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing