We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely-Located and Clean. Friendly, Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Authentic Luxury Rooms
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nicely-Located and Clean. Friendly, Helpful Staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I thought this was a strange name for lodgings but as we walked around the Diocletian Palace, I saw that "Authentic" was used often for rooms. And while these rooms are not in the old city itself, if you ask for rooms in the same building as the reception and breakfast room (they have two bldgs), you will get ones with the "authentic" charm of old stone walls, but with a sparkling clean and modern bathroom. The breakfast is standard for small hotels and quite adequate. They are located only about 3 blocks from the Diocletian Palace but have the distinct advantages of being quieter and that your taxi can drive up to the hotel whereas you would have to drag all your luggage from outside the walls to/from any room in the old city.

They had pre-arranged for our party of 6 to be picked up in a big van at the Split airport and taken to Trogir the next day to meet our boat tour. We were glad we did not rent a van because only local drivers could have so effortlessly negotiated those narrow, narrow streets near the old city. The car service policy is to be 15 minutes early, so we had no stress about whether they were going to show up. We were pleased enough to pre-arrange for them to also pick us up after the cruise.

Jadro greeted us when we arrived... he was friendly, enthusiastic and spoke English very well. Besides the obvious Diocletian Palace as a place to visit, he showed us on a map what else would be fun to check out in the area (parks, beaches, clubs, other towns) and gave info on how to get there walking or by bus. After hearing his recommendations, I was sad that we did not have a few more days to explore Split.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get the "authentic" rooms in the building where the reception/breakfast room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p_tong0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivana T, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Luxury Rooms, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

thanks for your great review.

I can only give back the compliments to you - you were a great crew.

Hope to see you again in Split, best regards from the Authentic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
91
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic place - better rooms than you would find in most hotels and incredibly spacious. The location is excellent, just outside the old town (only a couple of minutes walk) and a similar distance from the ferry, bus and train stations. Before you go to Split you don't realise just how compact it is so there's no need at all to stay in the crowded old town. The managers could not have been more helpful when we arrived, telling us the good places to visit and recommending restaurants. Thanks to them for a fantastic stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivana T, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Luxury Rooms, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear James,

thanks a lot for your great review - we are all very happy about it and appreciate it very much!

We are more than happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Greetings from the entire Authentic Team from Split!

Visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On arrival the staff were so froendly amd helpful, insisting on carrying our bags to our roon for us and giving us some really useful information on split and where to visit. The room was so beautiful, there wasnt a great view but you didnt need it as the room was so great itself! Oh and the massage shower was incredible, worth coming just for that! Will definitely be coming back to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew-Isabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The girls working the desk were so kind and helpful! They were amazing! Is it very close to the square and walking distance to almost everything. The rooms are also very nice and comfortable with brand new fancy showers. Definitely worth every dollar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elise33369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Friendly staff. They were really helpful. They even prepared sandwiches for us when they knew we were going to miss their breakfast time because of the trip on Plitvice Lakes in the early morning.
I know some people may think the rooms are quite small, especially the bathroom. But taking into consideration for the money we paid, we were very happy for what we got. Good location. Close to the main bus station and ferry terminal. Clean and cozy room. It suits all our needs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hereist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Authentic is not the easiest place to find, especially after a frantic drive at 11pm from the airport. Parking a total nightmare. We had room 1 for 150 euros. To get to the room you had to enter one door close this before opening the room door which immediately took you up a flight of step stairs. Mario the owner did help us with the luggage. Room nice enough in a converted stone cottage. Bathroom dominated by jacuzzi bath where you stepped into to have shower. Breakfast was to say the least disappointing - a few rolls with ham & dry cheese. I do not like the television blaring when trying to wake up over breakfast. Lousy coffee.
Nice people though.

Room Tip: Make sure you have good instructions to locate hotel. Be very careful to put light on when moving ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burcottguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivana T, Guest Relations Manager at Authentic Luxury Rooms, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

thank you for taking your time to write this review.

Room no.1 with the jacuzzi tub is our best room at Authentic - which you have booked. On the pictures, the steps are visible. Anyway, the steps are pretty nice and easy, don't know where the shame is.

We serve Continental Buffet Breakfast as stated on our site: Low fat cheese (not dry cheese), ham, salami, white bread, whole grain bread, cooked eggs, butter, marmelade, honey, 100% orange juice, water, teas, coffee, milk, plain yogurt, fruit jogurt, fresh fruits and fresh cooked croissants.

We are always friendly and service-oriented to our guests - even the less friendly guests we treat like we do any other guest.

We very much appreciate great reviews and satisfied guests - happy guests make us happy as we work hard and with love to make them happy with our service & kindness - but we also know that not everybody is willing to see positivity and that someone has to write less great reviews as well.

Best regards from the Authentic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I spent one night in Split in Oct 2013. I chose this hotel for it's proximity to both Diocletian's palace and the Ferry terminal. It was off-season, so the price was very reasonable. I was greeted by the hotel proprietor who helped me find parking on the street and work my way into a tight spot. He gave us a tourist map and some tips for getting around the city. Our entire experience was smooth sailing. They provided a nice simple breakfast the following morning and we said our goodbyes. A really good value for the price and nice people that make life easy while your there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubcoco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#8 of 55 in Split
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Divota Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luxe
Hotel Luxe
#7 of 55 in Split
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#12 of 55 in Split
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmont Hotel Heritage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Authentic Luxury Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authentic Luxury Rooms

Property: Authentic Luxury Rooms
Address: Na Toc 6, Split 21000, Croatia (Formerly Authentic Suites)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Authentic Luxury Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Luxury Rooms (4 stars) is situated in the heart of Split old town (city center). Authentic Luxury Rooms impresses guests with their authentic charm, it's over 300 years old stone walls combined with all luxury needed (hydro massage shower or Jacuzzi tub for 2),air condition, flat screen TV, WI-Fi. The surrounding, the outside and the inside of Authentic will assure you a pleasant and domestic stay, it will make you be a part of this 1700 years old city. The Diocletian Palace, the famous RIVA with its old part, the city beaches (sand and stone) and the biggest offer of one-day-trips (to the islands Brac, Hvar, Solta, National Park Krka) are just steps away. Our guests take their chance to visit middle Dalmatia with having their base in Split for a couple of days and take advantage to do 1-day trips & see different places in short time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Authentic Luxury Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing