We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Marshal

Restaurant Marshal
Ranked #84 of 349 Restaurants in Split
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

this is a great restaurant in Split. I usually venture to the busier night time areas around town, however,on my last visit to split we decided to walk around the quieter parts of the old town next to the sea promenade. we there found Marsal! the food was excellent and i am glad we followed the advice to have the grouper which was excellently cooked. i was also impressed with the choice of wines!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tremelo, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Split”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The restaurant looks different from the other ones. The waitress was very friendly. The food was excellent (especially the tapas) and the bill was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MYP2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exelent service and very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

A different experience compere to the other restaurant's in Split. Good choises in the menu and a first class chef that know how to prepare food. Had the " fish and chips" with homemade tartar saus. Realy well prepared. The pricess are on the low side. For me the best choise in Split. Was there 2 times.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pepa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't judge the book by it's cover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We went to this resturant after dropping another one because it was full. The resturant looks very good and cosy from the outside, and that was the reason we chose it.
We ordered the burger on menu. When we recieved it was cold. The cheese they used in the burger is probably the cheapest one in the nearest supermarket. It hadn't even melted.
After the main course we waited to get the desertmenu, but no waitress came. We therefore asked for it ourselves.
We ordered cheesecake and panacotta. Both we're disappointing.
The waiter we got was unsure when we wanted a recomandation, and everything seemed very unprofessional..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brirger Baguett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh local food served with love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We happened to walk by the restaurant Maršal on the way to the waterside Riva and liked nice and elegant interior and the fact that we could see lively street from the front side of the restaurant so we decided to give it a shot on our way back. The restaurant is in a great location in a side street in the centre of the Old Town.
We were in 3 and we ordered 1 portion of each dish, to be shared between us. My husband took meat and me and my son fish.
The food arrived and it was authentic but had just a little modern touch. Everything we tried was delicious - appetisers, salad, fish and desserts.
My bluefish fillets grilled with broccoli mousse was cooked to perfection. I also liked my son's White fish fillets with vegetable noodles and lemon mousse.
All ingredients were very fresh and it was obvious that the food was prepared with "love"
Panna cotta with sour cherry served in a cup and chocolate fudge cake with almond base was a perfect ending, I was so carried away and completely forgot to take some pictures 
We will definitely be back during our stay in Split! Great service too, we felt welcomed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Freja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marshal also viewed

Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
Split, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Restaurant Marshal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing