We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for a 1 night stop ok...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalmina Hotel
Ranked #48 of 56 Hotels in Split
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only for a 1 night stop ok...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Honestly we do not know how this Hotel got 4 Stars at all compared to other Hotels we visited before here in Croatia. For business purposes to stay one night n an industrial zone is ok - but for tourists totally unattractive. Rooms are ok but not always perfect clean. Breakfast ranges from poor to very poor - I would not offer anybody sth like this - especially when you are on a vacation tour. Besides one young lady at the information desk the remaining staff needs to get a little bit more proactive and customer friendly.

We were more than happy to leave after a few days and were looking forward to the next accomodation.
No wellness, no pool no nothing besides a fast internet connection.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IngCa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    17
    22
    11
See reviews for
8
21
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at Dalmina as part of a Grand Croatian Tour. The bed was the worst we have ever had in many years of travel. We had twin bedding, but they were a child size bed, approximately 2 foot across and no room to get comfortable. They were also hard and the mattress was set in a wooden frame, so you knocked yourself when getting in and out of bed. There were mosquitos also. The breakfast was substandard, yoghurt not kept cold, cold eggs, etc. Totally not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerhardina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Split hotels

Henley on Thames, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The rooms are large,c lean and quite well equipped - generally well decorated. They claim to be air conditioned but at the moment both the heat and cool function in my room is disabled (standard cheap hotel trick mind you). So the air con is a con - it blows air only and the temperature dial just clicks to let you know that it is 28C as it was on my 1st night. If you report the air con they tell you all kindd of things to try (which won'[t work because it is in blow only - and I think they know it) then they tell you there's a "central" problem and they have called an engineer [so why did I need to try the other things?].... but I have been here all week and it is still not working.

Breakfast varied from poor to very poor. On the days when there were bus trippers there was more choice. They say it is open from 7am to 10am but if you come down after the buses have gone 8-10 you are presented with warm greasy scraps. One morning they didn't ask me if I wanted something else as the hot offering was a spoonful of dired out omelette and 3 half frankfurters floating in some greasy water.

The rooms are large with high ceilings and quite pleasant (except for the heat in May - perhaps they activate the air con later in the year - or as most guests seems to be "one night in a bus" perhaps they just figure they can get away with it - nobody stays 2 mights perhaps).

I am told by the locals that far from being a new construction (as per the website) they are the converted offices of a former supermarket chain which explains the odd position of the door and the charming views over derelict factory buildings - nobody would have built a hotel here.

On my 1st evening I tried to eat in the restaurant. There was some kind of drunken group eating. The barman offered me the a la carte menu but the waiter told me there was only a buffet (Sunday to be fair).

It was fairly disgusting - but I think it had been put of for the previous group and had probably sat for a while - boiled vegetables had turned into some sort of slurry.

The friendly waiter advised me to eat quickly as a "Japan Group" (bus) was coming and I wouldn't be able to get to the food once they were in.

To be fair, the waiter did say as the restaurant was nosiy, smokey and the food not nice he would only charge me for the water I drank. (I dnd't have to ask - he offered).

Although the web site claims they do evening meals I have been in tonight and nobody is there - just the TV blaring. There's no bus party so I think they just close.

Fortunately there is a supermarket opposite (Konzum - you might not realise what it is) so I can eat from there. A 10 minute walk over the bridge takes you to a shopping mall. There is a pizza place opposite but it closes at 6 - basically the area is a business area so there's not much going on.

Most of the staff seem to lounge around making themselves comfortable.

It reminds me of Moscow in the old days.

Internet was good - although I had one faulty socket in my room.
Mini bar was ludicrous 16.00 for 250mls of water - >£10 a litre - and the room was hot.

It claims to be 4 star - I'd hate to stay in a lower star.

The rooms are fine - if I was on a bus for 1 night I'd be OK.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanCHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

The Dalmina Hotel is very new and the room was nice and large. Very comfortable Bed and good Bathroom.
The Staff on Reception (two Women and one Man) have been very friendly and helpful with some Split Informations. also the young Boy from Restaurant was very friendly. the Breakfastbuffet could be little bit better, but it was ok, because their was at that Time not many Guests.
The Location is a little bit outside of the City centre, just located in an industrial area, but at night all was very calm. From Hotel is just 30 minutes walking into Old Town in Split.
Although the Hotel is very modern, there was no business centre (no Computer, but Wifi was available).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasWESTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podgorica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Newly built hotel in industrial zone. Rooms are OK. But bar tender is drinking beer together with you, luggage boy is smoking, staff are talking with themselves, they just don't pay attention on you. Breakfast must be better. Fortunately we stayed there only for one night and we were tired.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Split seems to have a shortage of good hotels. The Dalmina is in an industrial area of town, close to a railway line. One needs a car to stay here, as it is a 10 minute drive to downtown.
On arrival the porter helped us with our luggage, but he had clearly been drinking, as his breath smelled strongly of alcohol. It was clear that the air conditioning wasn't working in the first room, so we changed rooms. Eventually the hotel admitted that the air conditioning wasn't working. They promised it would be working next day but it wasn't fixed. The breakfast was also quite poor quality for such an expensive hotel. The hotel just did not seem to care, and wanted to charge full price for a room without a/c. So we decided to check out to stay at a close by hotel, which was cheaper and better quality with air conditioning that worked. The Dalmina hotel restaurant is not open at night, but the 3star hotel nearby restaurant is. Hence I would not recommend staying here due to the food quality, lack of restaurant at night and lack of care from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Drinkwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Split
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#33 of 56 in Split
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Split
Hotel Bellevue Split
#47 of 56 in Split
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Marjela
Villa Marjela
#44 of 56 in Split
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#23 of 56 in Split
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#18 of 56 in Split
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#40 of 56 in Split
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmina Hotel

Property: Dalmina Hotel
Address: 5 Kopilica, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 56 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and ETB so you can book your Dalmina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing