We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central apartment in Dicoletians Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BASE Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BASE Rooms
Ranked #35 of 167 Split B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Central apartment in Dicoletians Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights during May in this small apartment located above a souvenir store and in Diocletians Palace. The store/apartment is immediately next to Jupiter's Temple and the view from our window is directly at the top of the frieze of Jupiters Temple. It is a 7 minute walk from the bus station and in a small alleyway that exits/enters the cathedral area. The second floor apartment has a refrigerator, large double bed, free internet and wifi, modern ensuite facilities, and, if i recall correclty, ac.Breakfeast is not included tho there are nearby small market stores and the green market for fresh food. The left side of the bed facing the rear of the apartment was comfortable, the right size seemed like it could benefit from a mattress pad. An old report complained of noise from a nearby bar--that bar or restaurant has closed and the apartment is on a very quiet street. Owner, a retired ship captain, and his daughter speak English and were quite helpful with recommendations. Make sure you eat at inexpensive, Fi-Fi , traditional food well prepared and served family style at small tables. Could not be more central. Visit and view the basement rooms on both sides of Diocletian's Palace and Jupiters Temple. The second oldest Sepharidc synagogue is two blocks distant-the first oldest is in Dubrovnik on Zudioska Street. At night the shop is locked up, and there is acess/egress through the front door of the shop which you are requested to lock after you enter.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Tina and Ivo are wonderful hosts who grew up in Split, and seem to know everything. They have three very nice rooms in a refurbished building above their shops, next to the Temple of Jupiter. The little alley leading to their place exits to the main square in the old palace. We enjoyed being able to walk out the door in the evening and listen to music while sitting on the steps of the Luxor Cafe. This is a busy area and there can be some noise on weekends from a nearby bar, but we keep the windows closed and the AC on and didn't have a problem. The rooms have Wi-Fi, computers, TVs with CNN and modern bathrooms. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed in Room 1 for 2 nights in end April and enjoyed our stay.

We corresponded and confirmed our booking with Tina through email. Before we arrived, Tina sent us detailed instructions on how to get to the room from the bus station and also their contact numbers. It was a 10mins walk from the bus station while dragging our luggage (very easy if you keep using the cathedral tower as a reference point). Walk towards the old town and through the open-air local market by the city walls. Enter the city and you will see a tourist information centre and Cafe Luxor in front of you, the rooms are in a small side lane next to the cafe.

Ivo and Tina were not at the souveiner shop on the ground floor but after I called the numbers given, Ivo arrived within 5 minutes and let us in. He advised us to take Room 1 so that we would have less trouble bringing up the luggages. At first we were a little worried as we had read that it would be a little noisy in the morning due to tourists going to the Temple of Jupiter (which is literally outside the door), but it was perfectly quiet throughout our stay. Perhaps there were not too many tourists during tourist season, and the fact that there was double glazing for the windows.

What we appreciated about the room was the fast wifi connection and also the extremely enjoyable shower. The water pressure was strong and the hot water was very enjoyable. The shower can be closed off from the rest of the bathroom to prevent spillage.

We did not use the computer as we used our iphones to access wifi so we cannot comment on that. As for the bed, it was comfortable enough. The aircon was a little cold during the first night but this was easily rectified.

Note that breakfast is not included and it is not possible to have them on-site as these are essentially 3 rooms above a souveiner shop. Their selling point is the superb location and good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The rooms are located right in the center, clean and good value for money. Even though the rooms are located above a souvenir shop there was no problem coming in and out. It takes a little bit of effort to find as it is so central that it is hard to imagine accommodation right off the palace square on a side street. It was pretty quiet during the stay even though it was July and the internet connection was very convenient. The owner's daughter was very responsive throughout the process.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SabinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here for three nights. This sobe is located right in the heart of the ancient downtown. The father and daughter who run the place were extremely helpful. We stayed in Room 2. All the rooms are quiet and overlook Jupiter's Temple, Our room had a computer and a large modern bathroom. The entire place was very clean and updated.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

First time in Croatia, and didn't know what to expect, so I chose this room from a recommendation in Rick Steve's Croatia book. I called to see if they had rooms available for that night, and I was in luck. I got a modest, pleasant room for one night. Ivo was very friendly and helpful.. The first time there I couldn't find the place, so I told him where I was and he came out to get me and lead me to his rooms! A great location... you're not near the Peristyle, you're about in it.. I heard a little noise, but was so tired, it didn't bother me... The room had a computer, but I didn't use it... the free wifi was great.
It was a clean room, with a nice, clean bathroom.. Perfect for my stay. Ivo's english was great, and he was very accommodating with my request to store my luggage after I checked out for a couple hours. I'd stay there again if I wanted to be in the palace!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekenfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We spent one night in Split at Base Sobe and found it quite easily by directions provided by Tina. The room was clean and neat and the price was very reasonable. No breakfast is provided. Parking is a bit of an issue as we were directed to a free lot approx 1/4 mile away in a very congested area. Cars are parked rather haphazardly, and we found the lot full, so needed to wait for a free space. It's not a parking area I would expect most would feel comfortable leaving their car overnight.

We were somewhat disappointed with Split. The Diocletian's Palace was majestic, but the many souvenir hawkers both within and outside took away from the grandeur of the buildings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank echoisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Split hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Slavija
Hotel Slavija
#11 of 57 in Split
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banica Accommodation
Banica Accommodation
#4 of 441 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Varos
Villa Varos
#21 of 167 in Split
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Guesthouse Palace Inn
Guesthouse Palace Inn
#22 of 167 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prior Suites Split
Prior Suites Split
#5 of 167 in Split
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grisogono Palace Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Rooms

Property: BASE Rooms
Address: Kraj Sv.Ivana 3, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are situated in the hart of the Diocletian palace just next to 1700 old Jupiter temple, 10 minutes walking distance to the nearest beach.In addition each room has floor heating in the bathroom for winter stay as well as cattle pot in each room. Free parking can be arrange just 5 minutes walking distance from the property.Airport shuttle avaliable on request and price EUR 30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BASE Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Rooms Hotel Split

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing