We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Varos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
65
45
22
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
45
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerdiocletian's palacegreat locationhot waterhelped carry our luggageminute walktop floorheavy bagssitting areawalking distanceperfect stayour honeymoonroom was spaciousstayed here for nightsold cityjoanneriva
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 140 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights on our way back from Hvar. Stepping off the catamaran in Split the hotel was an easy 10 minute walk along the Riva (seafront) then up a side street. In reception we were greeted by a young local girl who processed our reservation efficiently whilst answering our questions about various attractions etc.
The room was on the first floor, which was situated through a side gate up a flight of steps. The room itself was well appointed and clean but quite small with a strangely large shower room, WC with WHB, which was also clean. The views out of the window were straight onto our neighbours which happened to be a separate residential property so it was necessary to keep the curtains closed at all times, which was no big deal. One slight inconvenience with being so close to the locals was that we could hear every word spoken without understanding a single word! Again, this was not the end of the World.
Overall, the hotel ticked all the required boxes, which was to act as a two night transit stop in Split before flying back to the UK.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Del_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This place is great. the airport bus drops you near the harbour and it took no more than 15mins to find Villa Varos in a lovely quiet back street. The women on receiption was very helpfull and recomended other places to stay on nearby islands. Villa Varos rooms are very clean, most have A/C and breakfast is around the corner in a cafe with views over the harbour and you get a discount if you are staying at the Villa Varis!! if you can spend a little more go for the apartment with its roof top terrace and huge bath its well worth it. The only thing I would say is if you get a room near reception (I think its only used as a last resort) i think its a little noisey. but apart from that its great and we would definatley go again!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonTbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We recently stayed at Villa Varos and are quite surprised by some of the bad reviews we've seen on here. Our only problem was it was quite hard to find if driving (but that was mainly down to poor maps).

The location (despite our difficulty in finding it) is ideal: Villa Varos is in a quaint back street in a picturesque residential area, away from the tourist hub, but still only a few minutes' walk from the delightful Diocletian's Palace area of the city.

Our room was basic but quiet, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful, even if not proactively so. The girl at reception, for example, did call our next destination for us to confirm our booking.

We would definitely stay here if ever we were to pass through Split again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I really feel that I have to defend the Villa Varos, particularly from the most recent review.

Yes, the hotel and surrounding area are a little bit noisy. We were on the second floor so we didn't have any noise from above but could hear other guests on the landing, doors closing etc. We couldn not hear guests in other rooms however and there was practically no noise from outside. Yes, you are very close to your neighbours (this is a working city after all, not a tourist resort), but we weren't overly bothered by their noise, and enjoyed listening to someone nearby practising piano! It was really atmospheric. The air-con is the only way you would be able to stay cool anyway, as the air outside is hot, and I think that locals are more than entitled to 'yap all night' if they choose to do so!

The television in our room worked perfectly well but to be honest we hardly watched it - we were on holiday after all! And the bathroom was spotless with soft towels.Showers in Europe tend to be hand held, unlike ours at head height so you just have to adapt. The only minor criticism I would have is that the hot water doesn't last very long, but it was enough for 2 of us to have a decent-length shower.

The member of staff we met (I think her name was Antonia) was one of the friendliest Croatians we met and couldn't have been more helpful, before and during our stay. Yes, Croatians can come across at first as quite blunt but I don't see the problem with that - Brits aren't always the most friendly either!
Overall, I WOULD recommend Villa Varos. It was clean, spacious, in a great location, had nice staff and has really good restaurants nearby, as well as being barely 10 mins from Diocletian's Palace and around 20 minutes from the ferry port. Yes, there are some minor gripes but that's all they are and it's pretty good value for money.

We loved it and can't wait to visit Split again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed at the Villa Varos for 5 days during a very hot July, from the start of my initial enquiry it seemed to take a while to receive booking confirmation and the reservation, the place is run by an american woman, who is married to a croat, the villa itself is ok, in a what seemed at first to be a quiet typical croation backstreet, but dont let that fool you! this place is very very noisy and if you want to sleep, then choose somewhere else - really

The neighbours are literally less than an arms length on each side of the villa, and they are very noisy, being so hot, it is better to keep the windows shut and use the air con to keep cool whilkst trying to sleep, this at least drowns out the constant noise of the locals yapping away all night and morning, although you then have the constant noise of the A/C - so a no win situation

it is also worth noting, that we asked for Champagne on arrival (they took this as a hint that we were on a honeymoon - althoug we were not), I would certainly not stay in a 3 star place if on my honeymoon- what planet are these people on) whilst they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (thanks), there were no glasses, nothing to open it with, no fridge to store it, and even when we eventually got glasses, we had to wash them out ourselves - plain lazy

The TV in the room, was of no good quality, only had 1 working channel, but even after that no volume and most channels are scrambled on the sat dish - so useless really

There is no breakfast inc at the Villa Varos, as you can see from some other reviews on here, you have to go to "Leut" - a cafe down the road and pay for it and its rubbish!, although you do get a discount, by the time you have had cofeee and OJ (extra) to make up for the rubbish you would be better of just choosing anywhere else in the town and perhaps having better quality food - Black Cat Bistro is the best place for brekky by the way!

I have taken the time and effort to learn croation/serbian phrases and find the croats are a very blunt nation, the woman who met us a reception on arrival was very blunt and did not really welcome us in the slightest, i found this strange as she was enquiring about our booking and it seemed that Joanne had not passed on info of our reservation to her staff, very slack indeed, in fact the whole place is just dam lazy! Faulty Towers springs to mind and I might send them a copy of how NOT to run an hotel or B&B

In our room, we also discovered a broken toilet seat, loose doorknob, hard bath and hand towels, a shower with the head at knee height (all the rooms had the shower like this) and I cant think of why, except disabled access, but then you would not get someone with disabilities up the stairs in the first place, conclusion, the place is run by midgets?

Villa Varos - more like "vile various" due to the problems here! you would be mad to stay here, I have stayed at better hostels and the service really sucks!

it is very unlikely that we will stay here again, if you are a student, then this might be ok for you, but other than that - forget it

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
5  Thank timfisher27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews